We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, nice staff, great breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Devonport
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, nice staff, great breakfast.”
Reviewed January 13, 2011

I lived in Devonport for two years then had to return to the US, and spent my last two nights at the Esplanade after vacating my house. It's a very nice hotel, and the people who work there are lovely and very helpful. The room - speaking of my room which was the only one I saw - was large, the bed was comfortable and it nicely furnished. I gave the location only a 4 because there is some traffic noise though almost none late at night. Overall a 4 because it isn't plush like some resort sor 5 star hotels, but it's very nice. Breakfast is at the restaurant next door (Mecca) and you have the run of the regular menu. A great deal for an included breakfast. The best thing is that it is Devonport which is a tourist destination in itself and everything is at a premium there. (Ask me about house prices!) So you're paying for that, but Devonport is wonderful: galleries, shops, restaurants, pubs, cafes, etc. You can get to downtown Auckland by ferry which is a one minute walk from the hotel, and there are parks and waterfront walks right out your door. I highly recommend a visit to Devonport and staying here is a great way to immerse yourself. (Re: Eats. I recommend Sigdi, which is an Indian restaurant, and the Manuka Cafe, as well as Mecca.) PS: I'm planning to stay here again next month.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 234stevenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    87
    26
    14
    10
See reviews for
36
121
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2010

My husband and I recently stayed at the Esplanade Hotel while we were in Auckland for a wedding.
The good points:
-I can't fault the front desk staff, and the restaurant staff are very welcoming and efficient.
-The hotel is an old building, very pretty and well decorated.
-It is located right outside the ferry terminal. We went to a show at the Civic theatre, and it only cost us $10 each to catch the ferry across to the Auckland CBD and then 10 minutes walk to the theatre - very convenient!
-Within easy walking distance is quite a few art galleries, chocolate shop, (hmmm maybe this should be a bad point) cafes and restaurants.
The bad points:
-Because the building is so old, the soundproofing is not very good. We were treated to drunken singing at all hours of the morning and a lot of road noise. Although this is not the hotel's fault, it does make it rather difficult to sleep.
-It is EXTREMELY difficult to get a taxi in Devonport. This made getting to the wedding reception in Takapuna very difficult. It was harder to get to Takapuna only 6km drive away than to the Civic theatre in Auckland by ferry!
-Parking is free, but has a 24 hour limit. This is in a lot a couple of minutes walk away from the hotel and is not secure.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1sexyrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2009

We recently had the pleasure of holding our reception lunch after our civil ceremony at the Esplanade Hotel. The staff went out of their way to ensure that our day was memorable. The food and service was exceptional. In fact, we enjoyed our day so much that we returned to the Esplanade at the end of our stay in New Zealand and booked in to stay the night before flying home to Australia. The hotel is well located, the rooms are extremely well appointed and there are some incredible views from the hotel across the harbour to Auckland City. What a great place to stay!
b & k

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waifer76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2009

Devonport is a beautiful village, and The Esplanade Hotel is located in the centre with a view on the city and the harbour (It's just a 10 minutes ferry ride to Auckland CBD). The service is very friendly and we really enjoyed staying there. Would love to come back again!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxi_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2009

We decided to have one last night of luxury before slumming it in the hostels of Auckland and then our flight home and decided to head for Devonport which Lonely Planet really recommended. The Esplanade has an enviable position, and we paid extra for a room with the view over towards the Sky Tower (expensive for NZ at $230 but cheap for UK). We didn't exactly get that view - instead we looked out over a park by the beach and a lamp-post (which was on all night and made the room very bright, even in the dark). Room was on the top floor and was oak-panelled. Hotel is old by NZ standards - 1903 or something. Very nice restaurant next-door, 'Mecca' - HIGHLY recommended.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2009

VERY overpriced. Stuffy room. Our toddler could actually lock himself in the bathroom & on top of that, escape into the corridor (low door knobs). Linen average quality. Very noisy, it seems to be the local hoons racetrack to the naval centre. Poor renovations. No airconditioning or fans, we had to ask for a pedastal fan for our room. I could go on forever...

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank divinefeeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2008

Overpriced - great location, nice fittings, but it was like being in a ship: nice sea view, tiny room, hot and stuffy and a constant engine noise. The outside and the fittings were authentic, but everything else was done on the cheap - only 2 towels, no extra pillows, no little extras like bath gel. Even the toilet paper was industrial!

And for this they charged $260. I have paid $150 a night for much better accommodation.

  • Liked — the outside of hte building
  • Disliked — Way overpriced - very miserly on the little things that make up the experience
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mashby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Devonport
2.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
1.9 mi away
VR Takapuna
VR Takapuna
#1 of 1 in Bayswater
604 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
3.2 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 67 in Auckland
312 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland
2,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esplanade Hotel

Property: The Esplanade Hotel
Address: 1 Victoria Road, Devonport 0624, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Devonport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Devonport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Esplanade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade Hotel offers Auckland boutique hotel accommodation, right on the waterfront in Devonport, Auckland, New Zealand. Nestled in the heart of Devonport village, just across the harbour from the heart of Auckland City, The Esplanade Hotel dominates the Devonport foreshore and enjoys unrivalled harbour and city views. This boutique hotel was built in 1903, has been elegantly restored and has a character and charm all of its own.It is only a ten-minute ferry ride to downtown Auckland, without the hassle of the inner city. After a busy day sight-seeing or on business, The Esplanade Hotel is a haven to escape to at the end of the day…sit back and relax in the bar or restaurants and watch the Auckland city lights and harbour activity. The Esplanade Hotel has seventeen rooms, all with ensuite bathrooms, including the luxurious Blake Suite and the two bedroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Auckland
The Esplanade Hotel Devonport, New Zealand - Auckland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing