We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Peace and Plenty Inn(Devonport)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Devonport Motel(Devonport)(Great Value!)
$105
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auckland Rose Park Hotel(Auckland Central)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland Britomart(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Fitness center
  • Free Internet
Jucy Snooze(Auckland Central)
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Duck Inn(Devonport)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (280)
Filter reviews
280 results
Traveler rating
105
109
35
18
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
109
35
18
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsferry terminalbreakfast was includedlovely old hotelold world charmmusselsauckland cityopen fireshort visitharbour view roomquick drinkelegant hotelsun roombreakfast menuvictoria suitesconesnew zealandlounge area
Filter
Updating list...
206 - 211 of 280 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Thank you to Margaret for helping me arrange my families accommodation and for organising a graduation card. Living abroad its hard to do everything and i left evetything to the last minute but this hotel delivered all my requests I found this staff extremely helpful & considerate. My family most of all loved the service & rooms and the wonderful breakfast. Thanks again.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank Nicole238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

The Esplanade Hotel is opposite the ferry terminial from Auckland to Devonport. It has a great history which is displayed all around the walls. The hotel is quite unique and the service and menu were excellent.

Room Tip: This was for lunch only .....
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Joan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

It is extremely well located near the ferry terminal in Devonport which is a delightful place, with plenty of shops and restaurants and a pleasant refuge from the city, which is still only 10 minutes away. We had a large room at the front with harbour/city views. The hotel is a bit "tired" but does have character. Parking is not "on site" but across the road, in a public car park.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheDiggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

This is such an elegant historic building which I have always wanted to stay in. Finally I stayed here for 2 nights in a sunroom with a stunning view of the city and harbour.
I had two girlfriends stay the first night in preparation for my wedding day. Murat the concierge was uber-helpful and could not do enough for us.
The interior design was a bit dated, there was no dvd player or complimentary bubbles for our wedding night - but we were very happy with the service from Murat which made up for it.

Room Tip: take earplugs and an eye mask for a good nights sleep - it is in a central on the road location, so you have to expect a bit of noise.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kas2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Booked Standard Harbour view room mid January for stay end of Feb for my husbands birthday.; No Harbourview, back of houses. Told no other room available.
Left standing outside front door at 10.45pm no sign of anyone to let us in, no sign on door or bell, security man finally appeared after 15mins of banging on door. Big room, no fans, hot and stuffy with a rattling window all night. Breakfast included in tariff, very good and worth the money. Wouldn't stay there again at $174 per night.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a Harbour view room if booked. Needs some updating, tiny lift no room for cases and people!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snow47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews