We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Peace and Plenty Inn(Devonport)(Great Value!)
$148
$122
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Devonport Motel(Devonport)(Great Value!)
$104
$101
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auckland Rose Park Hotel(Auckland Central)
$79
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland Britomart(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$125
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$88
$70
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Fitness center
  • Free Internet
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $81/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Jucy Snooze(Auckland Central)
$46
$36
Expedia.com
View Deal
    Savings alert! 14% below average rates

    The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $42/night.

    We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Duck Inn(Devonport)
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Reviews (280)
    Filter reviews
    280 results
    Traveler rating
    105
    109
    35
    18
    13
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    105
    109
    35
    18
    13
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsferry terminalbreakfast was includedlovely old hotelold world charmmusselsauckland cityopen fireshort visitharbour view roomquick drinkelegant hotelsun roombreakfast menuvictoria suitesconesnew zealandlounge area
    Filter
    Updating list...
    210 - 215 of 280 reviews
    Reviewed March 15, 2014

    Booked Standard Harbour view room mid January for stay end of Feb for my husbands birthday.; No Harbourview, back of houses. Told no other room available.
    Left standing outside front door at 10.45pm no sign of anyone to let us in, no sign on door or bell, security man finally appeared after 15mins of banging on door. Big room, no fans, hot and stuffy with a rattling window all night. Breakfast included in tariff, very good and worth the money. Wouldn't stay there again at $174 per night.

    Room Tip: Make sure you get a Harbour view room if booked. Needs some updating, tiny lift no room for cases and people!
    • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank snow47
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

    The Esplanade is in a fabulous spot in the best suburb of Auckland. Devonport is great beachside town, only a short ferry ride from the CBD. The hotel is a bit tired, but the character and the location more than make up for it. Well worth a visit.

    Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    Thank JasonJBloom
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 25, 2014

    My husband and I stayed here for 1 night, the room we had over looked the park area and the sea. The room was clean and the furnishings were of good standard. The bed was really comfortable and had a good sleep. I have 1 complaint about the room, although we had a large walk in wardrobe which had a bout 7 good cloths hangers there were no draws of any kind to of put cloth's in,if you are stopping for more than 1 night I really think you do need some sort of draw other than the desk draw or bedside draw to put clothing in. The hotel is old and has some nice touches to it. Breakfast, although you don't have a big choice what we had was really good. I would stay here again and also recommend it. Devonport itself is a lovely place and the 15 mins ferry ride to Auckland is a must.

    Room Tip: We stayed in room 221 which had a good out look, but if you are a light sleeper you may be woke up by the café below at around 6.30am putting out their table. I was already awake at that time but my hubby slept through it.
    • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank Annie P
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed December 18, 2013

    We stayed here for a special birthday weekend and weren't disappointed. The room was charming, and the position and view superb. We had dinner and breakfast as part of a package and the food was excellent. Would definitely stay again for a city treat.

    • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank TLTrish
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed December 8, 2013

    Just spent the weekend here with friends to celebrate combined wedding anniversary. Although we booked ages ago we were rung the day before to say they were over booked and we could have the penthouse suite for the 4 of us as it supposedly had 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. Well when we arrived we found that one of the rooms was at the back of the hotel looking over the roof and had a double bed not queen or king, no wardrobe and not at all worth $250 a night. When I asked the receptionist if we could have a second room that was better than that she was very pleasant and obliging and gave us a lovely suite called the Blake Suite which was great and very spacious, well worth the money, had a balcony out front looking over to Auckland ( though alas the Devonport Council have put a huge car park along the water front which seems an awful waste of a gorgeous location - not at all the fault of the hotel). We had 2 breakfasts in the adjoining cafe Mecca which were excellent with great service. With a little more attention to detail this could be a five star hotel. There were little things they could have done better, like the penthouse had a nespresso machine but although we asked several times for some nespresso capsules they said they would send someone out to buy some but they never eventuated. Why have the machine at all one has to ask?? There was no tea towel in the kitchen in the penthouse and when asked for one we were given a hand towel. In the Blake Suite you had put the electric jug on the floor which could easily have been remedied by putting the tea & coffee making on the other side of the room. They towel were very thin and not at all luxurious. The place was very clean and tidy and very comfortable and I would happily stay there again and the staff very nice. The restaurant was good though the yellow fin tuna tasteless. The scallops I had as an entree were delicious. We took advantage of a weekend special which included 2 nights accommodation, 2 breakfasts and a 3 course dinner which was $500 all up per couple. It was excellent value for money just a shame about some of the little things. With a little bit of tweaking this could be fanstastic. I certainly recommend it. Very handy to Auckland and the ferry.

    Room Tip: The Bake Suite was awesome, the Penthouse would be great but only either for a couple or a couple with children. Main room and ensuite lovely, 2nd bedroom pretty ho hum. They advertise free parking as part of the package but it is council parking which is fine at night but on the Friday when we arrived it was chocker block.
    • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank 610Margaretd
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews