We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Devonport Motel(Devonport)(Great Value!)
$98
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peace and Plenty Inn(Devonport)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Duck Inn(Devonport)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (280)
Filter reviews
280 results
Traveler rating
105
109
35
18
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
109
35
18
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsferry terminalbreakfast was includedlovely old hotelold world charmmusselsauckland cityopen fireshort visitharbour view roomquick drinkelegant hotelsun roombreakfast menuvictoria suitesconesnew zealandlounge area
Filter
Updating list...
213 - 218 of 280 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We stayed here for a special birthday weekend and weren't disappointed. The room was charming, and the position and view superb. We had dinner and breakfast as part of a package and the food was excellent. Would definitely stay again for a city treat.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLTrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Just spent the weekend here with friends to celebrate combined wedding anniversary. Although we booked ages ago we were rung the day before to say they were over booked and we could have the penthouse suite for the 4 of us as it supposedly had 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. Well when we arrived we found that one of the rooms was at the back of the hotel looking over the roof and had a double bed not queen or king, no wardrobe and not at all worth $250 a night. When I asked the receptionist if we could have a second room that was better than that she was very pleasant and obliging and gave us a lovely suite called the Blake Suite which was great and very spacious, well worth the money, had a balcony out front looking over to Auckland ( though alas the Devonport Council have put a huge car park along the water front which seems an awful waste of a gorgeous location - not at all the fault of the hotel). We had 2 breakfasts in the adjoining cafe Mecca which were excellent with great service. With a little more attention to detail this could be a five star hotel. There were little things they could have done better, like the penthouse had a nespresso machine but although we asked several times for some nespresso capsules they said they would send someone out to buy some but they never eventuated. Why have the machine at all one has to ask?? There was no tea towel in the kitchen in the penthouse and when asked for one we were given a hand towel. In the Blake Suite you had put the electric jug on the floor which could easily have been remedied by putting the tea & coffee making on the other side of the room. They towel were very thin and not at all luxurious. The place was very clean and tidy and very comfortable and I would happily stay there again and the staff very nice. The restaurant was good though the yellow fin tuna tasteless. The scallops I had as an entree were delicious. We took advantage of a weekend special which included 2 nights accommodation, 2 breakfasts and a 3 course dinner which was $500 all up per couple. It was excellent value for money just a shame about some of the little things. With a little bit of tweaking this could be fanstastic. I certainly recommend it. Very handy to Auckland and the ferry.

Room Tip: The Bake Suite was awesome, the Penthouse would be great but only either for a couple or a couple with children. Main room and ensuite lovely, 2nd bedroom pretty ho hum. They advertise free parking as part of the package but it is council parking which is fine at night but on the Friday when we arrived it was chocker block.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 610Margaretd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I stayed at the Esplanade while on a business trip to a nearby location. The location is far enough away from the CBD of Auckland to be quiet and the ferry that links Devonport and Auckland makes the hotel only 15 minutes away from Auckland City. The Room was very good, tidy and the Decor was amazing.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Second Floor are quieter than rooms on the first Floor, However Rooms on the First floor seem bigger than on the second floor.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We had a night here as we had a function up the road. The room and hotel are lovely and the food in the restaurant was divine for all of us (5). The service was fantastic, friendly and helpful. However a couple of negative points. The minor one of these was we had a room for 3 people but there was only tea service and bathroom bits for two which meant having to ask each time. But the biggy was the noise both in middle of night (party) and early morning traffic ( at 6am on a sunday!)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyRoseD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed one night at the Esplanade with a breakfast deal at a good price. The hotel is of an elegant, old style and looks at Auckland CBD from across the harbour in Devonport. Well, if you can get a room on the harbour side. The hotel is very tastefully decorated and the service staff were excellent - particularly in the very stylish bar.
The breakfast was delicious, though the service was quite slow - but on a long weekend with not much else to do, what's the rush?
The only real gripe was that in a large room we only had a double bed (#109) and with no central heating it got very hot which meant not a great night's sleep.

Room Tip: Try for a harbour side room and make sure the bed is a decent size.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews