We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and Beat Up”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Devonport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Got stuck there one night at the end of a tour that was supposed to go to Auckland. It's either a $50 taxi ride to Auckland or a ferry which stops at 11pm. I'm sure it was once a nice place to stay but it looks old and worn from the outside and inside. The room was ok, except for the lack of screens so I could either get eaten by bugs or suffocated by closing the windows as the place is too old to have any individual room temp controls. No hot water in the morning to shave or shower so basically it was a waste of money to stay there.

Room Tip: No fitness center or swimming pool. Too old for that. Best room would be one in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

196 - 202 of 242 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at the Esplanade twice. One time I got a great room with a lounge area and a sea view, the other a small room in the eaves of the building. So choose wisely!

The building is old with a lot of character and not modern by any stretch. Floors are freely and doors big and heavy like the old building once was. Quite pricey also.

The location is the best in Devonport with good access to the ferry to Auckland and Devonport village.

Bar and restaurant would not be high on the agenda but if its location and character you want, this is it!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The menu was well thought out. All ingredients matched well with each other with each course. The entrees were devine and the mains exquisite and large. we ordered duck roasted potatotes and grilled veges to accompany the mains, but the mains were large, so we struggled to get through the vegetables. Every part of the meal tasted devine.

Room Tip: Did not stay in accommodation, but have now looked at what they have to offer after our amazing meal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We recently stayed here to prepare for our daughters wedding. Location is perfect and we found the service brilliant. Very friendly staff and nothing was a problem. Picture perfect venue and would definitely recommend to anyone wanting a nice romantic weekend

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeezS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The location can't be faulted, and if you like old buidlings, this is for you. Everything is lovely, and the delicious cooked breakfast was an especially good surprise. It is a tad expensive, and the rooms don't conform to the usual modern hotel room standard, but the beds are comfortable. Don't try to take too much luggage as the lift is one person sized.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilibetMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

To say this was the low light of our 2 week trip around NZ is understating it. We took The Blake Suite for a couple of nights and couldn't have been more disappointed. It started with no car parking, no one to help with the luggage, a filthy lift, an unclean room with no secure external door locks, an empty mini bar, toothpaste on the walls from the last guests, no iron, not enough towels, no key to the internal locks (not ideal with a toddler in tow but apparently amusing to the Receptionist) No dvd, music or in room entertainment. Every aspect of this hotel was below par from the unhelpful staff through to the cleanliness of the room and the tired interiors. Even the restaurant wasn't open every day and night. This place need serious money spent on it or just don't stay there.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jacqui M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I contacted the Bar Manager at short notice to hold a 50th birthday celebration for 30 people. He was positive and helpful. On the morning of the party I went in early and met the chef. He couldn't have been more helpful. We agreed on finger food that suited my budget and we ordered a few bowls of chips to please the little people. The wine list is good and there is a nice selection of NZ beers as well.
The building is majestic and iconic and bar area has style. They had plenty of staff looking after us. Over all I couldn't have had a better night and it will be remembered by us all as a great family get-together. Thanks again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Raupo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Devonport
3.2 mi away
The Spencer on Byron Hotel
2.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,938 reviews
3.9 mi away
Poenamo Hotel
Poenamo Hotel
#4 of 7 in Takapuna
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,398 reviews
3.6 mi away
Emerald Inn
Emerald Inn
#3 of 7 in Takapuna
126 reviews
1.9 mi away
VR Takapuna
VR Takapuna
#1 of 1 in Bayswater
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esplanade Hotel

Address: 1 Victoria Road, Devonport, Auckland 0624, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > North Shore > Devonport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Devonport
Price Range: $137 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Esplanade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade Hotel offers Auckland boutique hotel accommodation, right on the waterfront in Devonport, Auckland, New Zealand. Nestled in the heart of Devonport village, just across the harbour from the heart of Auckland City, The Esplanade Hotel dominates the Devonport foreshore and enjoys unrivalled harbour and city views. This boutique hotel was built in 1903, has been elegantly restored and has a character and charm all of its own.It is only a ten-minute ferry ride to downtown Auckland, without the hassle of the inner city. After a busy day sight-seeing or on business, The Esplanade Hotel is a haven to escape to at the end of the day…sit back and relax in the bar or restaurants and watch the Auckland city lights and harbour activity. The Esplanade Hotel has seventeen rooms, all with ensuite bathrooms, including the luxurious Blake Suite and the two bedroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Auckland
The Esplanade Hotel Devonport, New Zealand - Auckland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing