We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fawlty towers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Devonport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Esplanade has a great location to offer and this is it. The staff is friendly but helpless, the Victorian atmosphere is synonymous with austerity, uncomfort and need of refurbishment. The breakfast is nice provided you have patience towait and tolerance for having your order mixed up... Overall, could do much better or much cheaper.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Q31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

210 - 216 of 240 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2011

We were visiting Auckland and some friends took us to this restaurant/hotel on the seafront in Devonport for dinner.

The meal was good, but the venue was excellent. The new owners have created, or re-created, a lovely environment redolent of the best of Victorian New Zealand.

We only saw the downstairs, which consists of a bar and several interesting niches where you can eat from the small, but good, menu.

The wine and beer selection pleased all four diners - good beer for the men, wine for the women.

Service excellent in the friendly New Zealand style.

Overall a place to recommend highly, and a great escape from the rush of Auckland city.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We stayed for just one romantic night wihout the kids, at the end of a business trip.
Whilst the room was clean and very comfortable, the hotel is showing everybit of its age. We dined in the restaurant which was a great disappointment. It didn't take long to work out why the place was almost empty.

The Esplanade probably suits those keen to remember a bye-gone era. It has loads of character, and a certain arrogance about it which probably is appropriate for its time.

It just didn't really suit us. I've stayed in much nicer places with much nicer restaurants, which only cost half as much. If nothing else, at least now I appreciate my usual stops a little bit more.

Room Tip: Nice view from the
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We were pampered and felt like royalty. The customer service was superb. It's obvious that the hotel is under great management!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rgoodall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Totally enjoyable stay (Under new kiwi ownership and you can tell with great selection of Kiwi craft beers on tap and kiwi wines friendly staff , rooms well detailed to a great standerd and well worth the price , really enjoyed the little unexpected touches during our stay Best hotel views of Auckland
Chistine & Mark - Sydney

Room Tip: ask for harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Stayed here last night, what a hidden gem! Wonderful room with a great view of the Harbour, great bed and very chic bar downstairs. Breakfast was included with the room.

A very enjoyable 10 min ferry ride to town.

Better value than Auckland city with old world charm.

Room Tip: The have a penthouse which is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slamminsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

The rooms are dated and in desparate need of a refurb. On our most recent visit the hostess was curt and disrespectful whilst on another occasion the owner invited us to the bar for (what we thought was complimentary drinks) then gave us a bill.
never again

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank No mess C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Devonport
3.2 mi away
The Spencer on Byron Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,368 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 66 in Auckland Central
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,915 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,242 reviews
3.6 mi away
Emerald Inn
Emerald Inn
#3 of 7 in Takapuna
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esplanade Hotel

Address: 1 Victoria Road, Devonport, Auckland 0624, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > North Shore > Devonport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Devonport
Price Range: $122 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Esplanade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade Hotel offers Auckland boutique hotel accommodation, right on the waterfront in Devonport, Auckland, New Zealand. Nestled in the heart of Devonport village, just across the harbour from the heart of Auckland City, The Esplanade Hotel dominates the Devonport foreshore and enjoys unrivalled harbour and city views. This boutique hotel was built in 1903, has been elegantly restored and has a character and charm all of its own.It is only a ten-minute ferry ride to downtown Auckland, without the hassle of the inner city. After a busy day sight-seeing or on business, The Esplanade Hotel is a haven to escape to at the end of the day…sit back and relax in the bar or restaurants and watch the Auckland city lights and harbour activity. The Esplanade Hotel has seventeen rooms, all with ensuite bathrooms, including the luxurious Blake Suite and the two bedroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Auckland
The Esplanade Hotel Devonport, New Zealand - Auckland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing