We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Peace and Plenty Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Devonport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Glasgow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Just Fabulous”
Reviewed September 8, 2006

I recently stayed at the Peace and Plenty Inn. It was just fab. The breakfasts were gorgeous, both the cooked and continental. I can highly recommend the waffles. The room was one of the most comfortable I have stayed in during my months travels around the North Island. As a female travelling alone I found it an excellent location as a base while exploring Auckland and Devonport. In addition to the lovely helpful host Judith there is the cutest most cuddly lab, Stanley. If you are missing your dog back home he is more than happy to play and be adored. Should I ever be in this part of the world again I would definitely make the Peace and Plenty Inn my first choice for accommodation.

  • Liked — Location, Style, Breakfasts
  • Disliked — That I couldnt stay longer
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask questions the host is very helpful and will save you time trying to find out yourself
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottishChick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    47
    15
    9
    3
See reviews for
57
279
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2006

This is such a perfect place that I'm sure we will be going back! We loved everything about our recent stay, from the gorgeous breakfasts (and the good company), to the lovely comfortable beds and the little touches like the local chocolates and the kiwi fruit shortbread. The rooms are so thoughtfully decorated that it was an absolute pleasure to be there. Being so close to the ferry for Auckland was a real bonus, although Devonport itself was an unexpected treat. We were spoilt for choice when it came to lovely cafes and restaurants. The Peace and Plenty is a real find: can't reccommend it highly enough.

  • Liked — Location and comfort
  • Disliked — Everything was wonderful
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank krisflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeryville, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2006

In June, while exploring the Auckland, New Zealand, area, I stayed for 10 days at the Peace and Plenty Inn, a beautiful Victorian bed and breakfast in the village of Devonport, on Auckland's northern shore. It reminded me of Sausalito (in the San Francisco Bay Area) but without the traffic.

The host, Judith Machin, provided wonderful breakfasts each morning; my favorite was Judith's Eggs Devonport -- scrambled eggs with smoked salmon, toast and jam. Breakfasts also included a cold self-serve buffet with a large selection of fruit, home-made muffins and pastries, and delicious fresh muesli (Judith makes the muesli in the evenings and it smells fantastic cooking). Chocolates were left on the bed in the evening, the room contained a selection of teas and port for the evenings, and organic, New Zealand-made toiletries were provided in the bath.

As I explored Auckland, Judith was a font of information, providing excellent recommendations for restaurants and places to visit. The other guests were mostly New Zealanders on holiday -- they were all very friendly and helpful. If you get homesick for your pet, you can borrow the inn's dog, Stanley, for a walk on the beach.

Devonport's shops and restaurants were a half-block away, and the ferry connecting Devonport to downtown Auckland was an easy five-minute walk from the Peace and Plenty. The ferry runs every 30 minutes from early morning to late evening and takes about 10minutes. The inn is located so conveniently to public transportation that I spent 10 days in Auckland without having to rent a car and drive on the wrong side of the road.

Stayed June 2005
Helpful?
3 Thank SanFranciscan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland,new zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2006

We have just returned from staying at the peace and plenty inn owned and operated by judy.Our dreams of finally staying at this majestic beauty came true when we walked up the magnificient path to the over 100 year old villa.Right from the moment we walked into the entrance we felt at home.Judy has a smile a mile wide and pleasure in letting you know anything you need to know about the surrounding devonport or new zealand destinations.Our room was on the second floor and was called the Waitamata Room.This room had a magnificent cream laden bed with matching elaborate bed linen,matched with our very own decking off our room with and ensuite too.
After our lovely meal at Mecca which is walking distance from the peace and plenty inn we slowly made our way back to our room.
In the morning we were greeted with the most amazing brekfast fit for a king and queen.This included cereal,huge plums,yoghurt and fresh fruit.Then from the cooked menu we sampled some of the finest bacon and samon in scrambled eggs.All this consumed with the other guests at a 10 seater table.We so didnt want to leave the peacful surroundings of this amazing nite to remember forever.thank you judy,we reccomend this to everyone.There are several different size rooms and they all have ensuites.Great relaxing place for anyone.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank leese9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2006

I can't praise the Peace and Plenty, and the excellent hostess, highly enough. It's as welcoming and as comfortable as it looks on the website. For a visit to Auckland, it's ideally placed. The Inn is just a stroll from the ferry, so there are all the benefits of closeness to Auckland without actually having to stay there! During our recent visits, we stayed in the Garden Room and Windsor. It seems that standards are equally high, regardless of which room you choose. Breakfasts are lavish ( I recommend the Eggs Devonport!) - the diet will have to wait! The friendly atmosphere makes you feel at home immediately. Oh, if only home had such good breakfasts! Definitely, the place to stay!

  • Liked — All of it
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — No sorry, enjoy it for yourself.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Clowesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2006

It's a beautiful sunny Sunday morning in Auckland, and we're well-fed and well-rested after another comfortable night at the Peace and Plenty. After several weeks of touring the wintry South island, the hospitality here is just the treat we need before reluctantly heading home. We've been to Auckland several times over the past few years and there is never any question as to where we should stay: the Peace and Plenty, every time. The rooms are beautiful, with thought given to every detail. Breakfasts are a real treat, with plenty of opportunities to share travel plans and experiences, alongside a tasty and beautifully presented breakfast. As a hostess, Judy is a natural: full of ideas and tips, and real warmth for her visitors. We'll be back!

  • Liked — Atmosphere and comfort
  • Disliked — That we can't stay forever!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DobberBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2006

In spite of confirming my booking, depositing a credit card having
written confirmation from the hotel of all details and arranging to be collected from the airport by hotel car-none of it happened!!!!
Waited in airport for 1 hour for driver to collect me then gave up and got a taxi, arrived at hotel to find owner out and no record of my booking-aaagh! Her very helpful son looked after me until owner returned but there was no room at the Inn!! However alls well that ends well and very nice alternative accommodation was found for me - The Peace and Plenty looks nice but now back on the other side of the world I will never know!

Stayed February 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank shabbychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Devonport
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#1 of 2 in Devonport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,128 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,427 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
3.3 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peace and Plenty Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace and Plenty Inn

Property: Peace and Plenty Inn
Address: 6 Flagstaff Terrace, Devonport 0624, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Devonport
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Devonport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Peace and Plenty Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peace and Plenty Inn is a magnificently restored Victorian villa (circa 1880), situated in an unbeatable waterfront location in the heart of the historic maritime village of Devonport. We invite you to stay at our gracious home offering comfortable and friendly luxury accommodation. We host visitors who come to relax from all over the world, along with New Zealanders enjoying a weekend away. High Teas are available most weekends and we also host small boutique weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Peace and Plenty Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace And Plenty Hotel Devonport
Peace And Plenty Inn Devonport, New Zealand - Auckland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing