We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst service”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Olive Press Bistro & Bar - CLOSED

The Olive Press Bistro & Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: only been open for 2 weeks
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Worst service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Food was very average. The service was the worst that I can remember.
It is a real shame as Devonport could really do with some good restaurants, we won't be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    15
    6
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great lunch venue in good weather”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Very good seafood and friendly service. Outside area is fantastic for evenings of eating and wine drinking. Moa beer on tap is brilliant too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smackinlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful inside and out, and quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Beautifully decorated inside and a nice, large quiet patio outside. Very nice wine list, not too expensive. Very attentive service. I wanted a cold, summertime dinner so I got the antipasto plate. It was excellent, probably the best I've ever had, and it was more than enough to eat and I'm a big eater. I highly recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 234stevenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
183 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Promises much, delivers on most”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

It is an interesting menu in an attractive restaurant down a side street. In our party of five we had the chorizo, lamb kofta, and antipasti platter to start, and the gourmet lamb burger, scotch fillet, pork belly, and two scallop dishes as mains, with a rocket side salad. The food is good, but didn't quite meet my expectations. The chocolate mousse macaroon ordered by one of us is apparently worth a visit on its own.
Service was attentive, friendly and helpful.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LilibetMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Great Food & Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Me n My wife had been to this lovely restaurant in sub urbs of Auckland to celebrate my wifes birthday,
I was too confused on what to eat but Chef himself walked to me and explained me couple of choices as per my taste.

Exceptionally good standard of food presentation and awesome service.

would definitely recommend this restaurant to others

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vaibhav B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Olive Press Bistro & Bar also viewed

Devonport, Auckland Region
Devonport, Auckland Region
 
Devonport, Auckland Region
Devonport, Auckland Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing