We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gems Inside The Rose Garden”
Review of Sampran Riverside

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sampran Riverside
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sam Phran
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Gems Inside The Rose Garden”
Reviewed May 29, 2009

I absolutely love the relaxing few days spent at the Rose Garden Riverside and would recommend this place to anyone looking for a retreat from the hustle and bustle of Bangkok. It took only 40 minutes by car from the BKK International Airport!
I love every experience about the place. Peace and tranquility around the garden of fragrant flowers, exotic plants, old and new trees (some of these exotic trees have been there for more than half a century). The original bullet wood tree the founder of the place first saw and fell in love with before building their family house and the resort around it, is still there!
Feel the genuine hospitality from the lovely staffs, most of who are from the local communities around the Nakom Pathom area and have worked in the resort for the longest time.
Made with the freshest ingredients from traditional family recipes, Thai food has never tasted so delicious. Even the good old Tom Yam Kung tasted special. And the coconut desserts just melts in your mouth. Hmmm.... I am definitely going back for more!
Oh, I must not forget to mention I carted back resort-made toiletries from the gift shop. Good quality stuff and prices are so reasonable... the must haves are virgin coconut oil, bullet wood body moisturizer, lemon grass shower gel and the sesame flavoured lip balm.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AsianQBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    73
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
28
40
10
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Leonia, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2008

The Rose Garden is a lovely, peaceful and serene place. The buildings and rooms are dated, but quite large, very clean and well maintained. The beds are really comfortable and the A/C works great (necessary in Thailand). The staff is very friendly and helpful. The grounds are beautiful, large, varied and well maintained. I have seen every inch of this hotel and it's grounds.

I have stayed here on business well over 100 nights as it is the closest hotel to the factory that I visit.

The breakfast is quite nice, but not like a 5 star hotel in Bangkok. Try the coconut pancakes which are absolutely fantastic, but full of calories.

I have stayed here so many times, but never seen the cultural show since I am working during the day. There is virtually nothing to do or see at night unless you venture out of the hotel. No bar. They occaisionally have fireworks for a wedding or holiday or corporate party.

The Phra Pathom Chedi is close by and worth seeing.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — No night life
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank toppsmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2008

I didn't know what to expect of this visit (a friend planned it) but was pleasantly surprised when I got here.

Here are some of my favourite things about Rose Garden:
- Its countless manicured lawns – orchids, herbs, sculpture...
- My breakfast table by the river – what a great way to start each day
- The traditional Thai house I stayed in – I was told it was an original home from North Thailand, carefully moved and reconstructed by the lake. Such a gorgeous setting for the three days I was there.
- The food – the resort has several restaurants that serves traditional home-cooked Thai food. I have been to Thailand many times and yet I was trying “new” traditional dishes here. It seems that some of these were based on recipes handed down from generations before.
- It’s a home not a resort – every painting, pot, flower arrangement, is specially handpicked by the owners. I was fortunate enough of hear some of these stories from the family-owners.
- The toiletries – they were made using the essence drawn from herbs and flowers from the very own gardens. Of course I brought these home!

And the best part of it all, its just an hour outside of Bangkok. This was a nice change for me since I only know of the buzz of the city.

  • Liked — How green the whole place is. It was just so peaceful
  • Disliked — There could be mossies at night. Good thing is, the rooms and resturants offer bug spray - made in house of course!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderlustcheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2008

We stayed at the Rose Garden for 2 nights to attend a wedding.

Accommodation is good with nice rooms and comfortable beds. Bathrooms have a 1970s feel but have everything needed. The room has a safe, cable tv and a balcony.

The pool area is in a nice setting, clean and partly shaded. The restaurants are ok but nothing to get excited about. Breakfast has an ok selection but is nothing compared to the 5 star hotels of Bangkok. Staff are friendly and helpful.

The gardens, lake and river in the grounds of the ‘resort’ are beautiful and worth spending some time to look around. The Thai cultural show held in the grounds is touristy but worth a look - get your tickets at the hotel reception for discounted prices. The spa is nice but prices are around the same as other hotels/resorts.

Filling in more than a day at the Rose Garden will be difficult and you are around 40 minutes by taxi from Bangkok. When travelling, be sure the taxi uses the meter, cost should be less than 350 THB one way.

A nice place for a conference or wedding but my advice is if you are visiting Bangkok, stay in the city.

  • Liked — Gardens and grounds
  • Disliked — breakfast was average
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAM585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
505 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 399 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2008

We spent a night at the Rose Garden Riverside Resort, the start of a three day tour from Bangkok. We'd just spent a memorable day at the floating market of Damnoen Saduak with its hundreds of boats selling all manner of food, vegetable and household goods.
The resort was only an hour from Bangkok, situated on a wide, slow-moving river.
Wonderful gardens filled with a huge variety of orchids. The resort also houses an elephant camp which allows you to view the magnificent animals and their handlers.
Rooms were spacious and comfortable and the dinner and breakfast at the resort were very good.
A lovely hotel but a little too far from Bangkok if you were planning to make this your base.

  • Liked — Lovely Riverside Location
  • Disliked — NNothing
  • Stayed November 2003
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2007

Stayed here for 5 days. Room fine but internet access a rip-off (660 baht/day; 120 baht/hour). Breakfast good. Lunch/ Dinner OK but nothing to write home about. Bar facilities almost non-existent. Staff, as one expects in Thailand, were pleasant and efficient.

Surroundings are beautiful. I was here on business so was glad of the relative peace and quiet in the evening. However, for pleasure, there is not much to occupy oneself with. Nakorn Pathom is unexciting and its impractical to go into BKK every day (to go 32km can take a long time in BKK). If not on business, I might stay here for a couple of days to get some peace and quiet after BKK.... however, with so many up-country places to choose from why stay so close to BKK so maybe not.

All in all, a pleasant stay at a reasonable hotel but I'm not sure that I would choose Nakorn Prathom as a location.

  • Liked — Peace and quiet
  • Disliked — Peace and quiet!! (probably at another time)
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank freescreenname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2007

We stayed in Bangkok visiting my mother who works near the Rose Garden. We stayed for three nights.
The rooms were clean and comfortable with two large beds in each room, fridge/mini bar/modern ensuite.
Breakfast was a good buffet with hot and cold selections for all nationalities. Food in the main international restaurant was good but the menu limited, in the Thai not as good quality as some of the street sellers, the al a carte Thai was wonderful but only open at lunch time.
Pool was lovely and clean with plenty of good quality towels and sun lounges. Plenty of shade.
Cultural show attracts many tours and coaches. Book at the reception desk. Good show - culture and history without effort. Excellent workshops especially for children.
Shooting range limited but fun for a 1/2 an hour.
Spa centre expensive for Thailand, but not for hotels. Not very good, compared to massages we had in Bangkok.
Overall, a good few days relax. Seems to take a few tours so good if part of your greater tour or for a few days.

  • Liked — Relaxed Atmosphere
  • Disliked — Massage and Thai Restaurant
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank shellysholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sam Phran
14.3 mi away
The Proud Exclusive Hotel
The Proud Exclusive Hotel
#2 of 10 in Nakhon Pathom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
8.6 mi away
@Home Phetkasem
@Home Phetkasem
#556 of 859 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
13.2 mi away
Mida Grande Hotel Dhavaravati Nakhon Pathom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Xen Hotel Nakhon Pathom
Xen Hotel Nakhon Pathom
#3 of 10 in Nakhon Pathom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Silverwoods Hotel
Silverwoods Hotel
#7 of 10 in Nakhon Pathom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
17.0 mi away
AVANI Riverside Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sampran Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sampran Riverside

Property: Sampran Riverside
Address: Km. 32 Pet Kasem Highway, Sam Phran 73110 , Thailand (Formerly Rose Garden Riverside)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Nakhon Pathom Province > Sam Phran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sam Phran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sampran Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautifully landscaped 70-acre botanical park by the Ta Chine River is located just outside Bangkok and has provided entertainment, relaxation, accommodation and a place to meet since 1962. Culture, tradition and a native way of life have been preserved through daily practices and performances. See our way of life for yourself on your next visit to Sampran Riverside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Sampran Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Garden Riverside Hotel Sam Phran
Sampran Riverside Thailand/Nakhon Pathom Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing