We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an excellent night”
Review of The Pear Tree Inn

The Pear Tree Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Pear Tree Inn sits at the entrance to Brewery Lane. Just a few hundred yards up this lane you'll find the world famous, family run Hook Norton Brewery along with its shop, visitor centre and museum. The Pear Tree is of course the Hook Norton Brewery tap and offers the full range of Hooky Beers. We serve food Tuesday to Saturday Midday to 7pm, Sunday and Monday till 2.30Pm. We have three delightful on-suite letting rooms and a large car park and garden. We have a quiz on Sunday starting at 8.30Pm, all welcome. Lastly the pub is open for drinks all day, everyday, so no excuse, we'll see you soon.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“an excellent night”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

New landlord, great beer; comfortable room for the night and excellent breakfast. What more could you want !

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teeaay, Owner at The Pear Tree Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found the beer great, accommodation comfortable and breakfast excellent.

We hope you will come and stay with us again if you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    28
    11
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“Simple and excellent”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The new landlords at the Pear Tree Inn have simplified the food and concentrated on cooking it to perfection. I had a superb lasagne which was full of meat and with lots of flavour and a chilli and rice that was almost as good as mine. The beer is excellent and the atmosphere cheery on a cold December night. The room I stayed in was also exceptional with acres of space, one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in outside of the USA and all the usual amenities including an en suite shower room and tea and coffee making facilities. It was spotlessly clean. I will certainly be back

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elsinor28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teeaay, Owner at The Pear Tree Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review.

We are so pleased that you found everything to your satisfaction. We strive to provide a clean and comfortable environment for our guests, together with excellent homemade food and great well kept beer.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Pear Tree in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good things come in small packages!!!!!”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

When we moved to Hooky nearly 20 years ago The Pear Tree was our pub of choice in the village. For many years we spent some lovely evenings/afternoons with our friends, visiting family and young children there.
Sadly when the pub changed hands the atmosphire change considerable and was no longer the type of pub we wanted to take our family and friends to.
Recently we heard that the Pear tree was under new management so my husband and I decided to give it a visit tonight for dinner and drinks, we were very plesantly surprised.
Welcome was excellent, service was excellent and the food, typically pub grub was also excellent........chilli, rice and garlic bread........homemade burger, onion rings and chips. We shared a very good sticky toffee pudding......yum!!!!!
We will definatly be visiting again with friends, family and our now very grown up children.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Wierdo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Pear Tree on the pub front”
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Good range of food sandwiches and beer on a Sunday lunchtime. Not much space inside but a couple of tables outside.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank iMack69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“On The Up!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We ate here on Friday night and were not disappointed. I believe the pub has had a poor reputation for some time and has suffered with a lack of interest from the previous Landlords. On arrival we were greeted by the new Landlord who seems very enthusiastic and also seems to have a passion for good beer and good pub food. We ate Thai Chicken Curry and Fish and chips, both were delicious and very large portions. The chips were chunky and crispy, just how we like them, and the fish was lovely and soft with an excellent batter. The curry was rich and tasty and served with a bowl of rice and a mango chutney. The pub is also undergoing some refurbishment we hear, including a total refurbishment of the letting rooms. The Pear Tree is positioned in an idyllic spot for any beer enthusiasts, walkers or those that like to visit the local shopping towns for a couple of days and return for a chilled out dinner and a comfy bed. This is a lovely little pub and we will return next time we are in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SallyR_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pear Tree Inn also viewed

Hook Norton, Oxfordshire
Shipston on Stour, Cotswolds
 
 

Been to The Pear Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing