We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hook Norton Christmas Break”
Review of The Sun Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Sun Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hook Norton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My girlfriend and me stayed in a delightful little cottage called Squirrel Cottage that was only a minutes walk from The Sun Inn. On our arrival on the Saturday we popped into The Sun Inn that night, also spent Christmas Eve but out best visit to The Sun Inn was on Christmas Day as we had Christmas Dinner down there. The food served was fantastic and plentiful....so much that I couldn't eat it all!! We loved our Christmas Day dinner at The Sun Inn, the service and food was first class, I couldn't fault the pub during any of our visits. We loved the pub and the village so much that we plan to go one summer to be able to enjoy the walks plus a few more pints of Old Hooky at The Sun Inn and most definitely more food!! The people in the village and the pub (staff and customers) were so polite and friendly that it was a lovely change to what I am used to in Cambridgeshire!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuinnessM0nster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 101 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

We booked this pub last minute. We had room one and on 1st appearance was lovely, very spacious, plenty of tea & coffee but little milk and no hot chocolate. The towels were clean and plentiful. Bedding clean and fresh too. After an afternoon nap we soon realise the room was VERY cold, even having put the curtains behind the radiator which appeared to be luke warm. The bathroom was freezing as that radiator hardly worked at all. The hot water seemed to have air locks and was only luke warm. Having said that we were soon given an electric oil filled radiator which did warm both rooms as the landlord told us that since all the new bathroom refurbishment's they have had problems with the water system. The boiler van outside is a local resident and drinker and doesn't appear to be able to sort the problem. At breakfast we had to ask for sugar, glasses and milk for the table, (we were given the large jug off the breakfast table). On a very positive not the food at breakfast was very satisfactory but e evening meal was to die for and the bar staff were very friendly. Would probably visit again in the summer although we feel the price is a little on the high side for a small village compared to the Chipping Norton which offers more facilities and amenities.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walsalljon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

My wife and I used to use this Pub for a really good meal not so long ago... Just returned home after a Sat evening meal there.
The steak and ale pie is very nice there(when its on the menu) unfortunately it has been removed this time.

We both chose a suet game pie... Well, the suet was the thickest i have ever encountered (just stodge) and the curly Kale was as tough as old boots.
Good pint of Hooky though...... but will not be going back there, a real shame.

Come on you guys get your act together if you want to stay in business.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Just enjoyed a family celebration in their Function Room!

We had excellent food and wine served by friendly staff................a lovely evening!!!

Our rooms were very comfortable, clean and fresh with good size showers and en-suites!
(having forgot my hairdryer, one came to the rescue within minutes...Thank You)

The Sun Inn has a very nice atmosphere and will definitely be going back!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Downstairs the pub is fine, good food, good service and plenty of beer and spirit to choose from. The accommodation however is awful, room 1 was open and looked finr, large shower and reasonable matress, we were given room 2. Broken window covered with paper, bathroom window did not close, so very draughty and the room was freezing. The matress was springs and more springs. I asked if we could cahnge rooms and were shown room 3 at the back of the pub. Very small but at least the bed seemed ok. When we did go to bed there wre springs on the left hand side, so not a good nights sleep. The shower is very small. At breakfast the next morning we were the only people staying, why we could'nt have been given room 1, I don't know. If the weather had not been so terrible we would have looked for an alternative. Ask for room 1 and your stay should be ok.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank piflonkyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Just a one night stay to help a lovely couple celebrate their silver wedding. We had Room 1 over the front door. Perfect for us. Fresh and clean look to the room. Good size comfortable bed and pillows. Plenty of towels and a generous size shower in the en suite. I forgot my hair dryer, one was supplied within seconds. As was fresh milk for the generously stocked tea/coffee tray. Even though the pub was still open when we got back there was no disruption to our good nights sleep.
Choice of cereals, toast and full English, laid on a communal table. I opted for poached eggs - two done to perfection were served. My partner opted for a bacon sandwich, which he relished.
Wish we could have had time to try the evening, or lunch menu as it looked and smelled great.
Thanks to the Manager and staff for a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Room 1 was fine for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norah Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights - 2 rooms for a family of 5 (3 children, youngest 4 years at time of stay). Suggest catching the train London to Oxford and hire a car from there.

Good points - quiet area, great views, clean bedrooms and bathrooms, very comfy beds. Even though the rooms are above the pub it is very quiet. Great beer downstairs, excellent food, and a tasty breakfast. The pub is a short walk from the Hook Norton brewery, which runs tours (no children allowed). Within an easy drive of Stratford-Upon-Avon and Blenheim Palace. Chess and dominos in the pub for the kids (and grown ups) to play while enjoying the fare.

Not so good - there aren't many choices for dinner if the Sun Inn kitchen is closed, not much to do in town, but a sweet village to wander around. Could do with slightly better water pressure in the shower.

Room Tip: You do need a car to get here, so be careful if you're not used to the narrow roads of rural UK...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hook Norton
4.6 mi away
The Fox
The Fox
#1 of 5 in Chipping Norton
214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pear Tree Inn
Pear Tree Inn
#3 of 3 in Hook Norton
16 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Gate Hangs High
The Gate Hangs High
#2 of 3 in Hook Norton
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sun Inn

Address: High Street, Hook Norton OX15 5NH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Hook Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hook Norton
Price Range: $75 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sun Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sun Inn is situated in the idyllic village of Hook Norton in the Cotswolds. Hook Norton is the perfect escape from the hustle and bustle of the city without being disconnected, located within easy reach of Banbury, Stratford upon Avon, Oxford and Cheltenham. The charismatic village boasts a close community centred around the Hook Norton Brewery who have been family ran and brewing for over a century. Regular tours and fine ales have brought tourism to the small village and to our establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Sun Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sun Hotel Hook Norton
The Sun Inn Hook Norton, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing