We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Worker”
Review of The Sun Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Sun Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hook Norton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Banbury
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Local Worker”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Have organised business lunches, and work lunches here over the years and occasionally collect a lunch when we are working long hours. But all looking very tired now and need a good clean. Today's lunch order was scampi chips and salad - scampi undercooked, chips over cooked and no sign of any salad. What a pity - the Sun used to be so good!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    27
    19
    5
    1
See reviews for
22
34
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We have stayed at this pub several times over the past ten years and it has always lived up to our expectations in the past - but this time NO! Although our room (6) at the back was the one we asked for as we know it is quiet it really hadn't seen a deep clean for quite some time. It is a double + single bed room so a decent size and on the whole the double bed was comfortable enough but who needs a big tog duvet in the summer - even in England: little thought put into that. We had one shower gel and one shampoo in the bathroom but after these were used no others were put in place BUT the towels were changed (unnecessarily) each day: the bath panel was damaged and the shower pressure was pathetic. Opening the very high velux window took some planning as there was no pole. Tea and coffee etc was provided: the kettle boiled in the end but cut itself off automatically en route: one packet of sugar at the start and when that was gone no more was provided: we found more in the cupboard outside but we shouldn't have to do that. One day our room was not made up by 5pm and we had to ask for it to be done. Dirty laundry was left in bags outside our room for all the time of our stay (3 nights). A bit of TLC, some staff training and a good clean is what this pub needs. During our stay only one other room was occupied (out of 7) and that by one person for one night. Breakfast was OK but not as we remember it: the bacon on the first day was dodgy but the scrambled egg was alright - the orange juice was weak and more like orange drink. One banana and when that went no more: two oranges and when they went no more: plenty of apples! The owner/chef was non communicative - the young girl pleasant and helpful. The one evening meal we had was not bad - very pub like and not very eye catching but certainly edible. A shame to see a good pub in a good location owned by the brewery just down the road go downhill like this: it wouldn't take much to get it back on stream but there has to be the will to do it - and somehow that does not seem to be top of the agenda. For the price we paid it was more than disappointing.

Room Tip: Room 6 at the back is quiet but even the front rooms would be OK once the pub is shut except maybe w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doversole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

We visited the Sun Inn for lunch after a tour at the Hook Norton Brewery. Service was a little slow, considering it wasn't busy, but staff were very friendly. Good selection of beers including a selection from the brewery. There was a comprehensive menu catering for all tastes, almost too much choice. We all went for classic fayre, inc beef pie, fish and chips, faggits and mash... All were well presented and tasty. Desserts were a big let down, the creme brûlée was more like a cheesecake and the treacle tart was stodgy and dry, obviously microwaved, shame as it spoiled an otherwise good lunch.

Note: we didn't stay in the 'rooms' but for some reason the Sun is listed as hotel, so I had to rate the rooms to submit a review.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotswolds, UK
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

This used to be our favourite pub in the area but sadly no more. Very ordinary lunch, little atmosphere. Maybe evenings are better?

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Longhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stopped here after the Hook Norton Brewery tour and had a nice lunch.
The food is well prepared and tasty, and they of course serve Hook Norton beer!
Recommended :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottm
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We had originally planned to stay at the Pear Tree in the village, but this was currently closed (due to change of Landlord and refurbishment).

The rooms at the Sun Inn were adequate, clean, with ensuite, tea/coffee making as expected. It was not luxurious, but then we wern't expecting that for the price we paid. Work is currently being done to the exterior of the building (scaffolding etc). The floorboards were creaky in the corridor, but this is because it''s an old building, and it didn't bother us. I guess you would go for a big modern 'identikit' Hotel if you want to avoid such things!

Our evening meal was excellent - very nicely cooked food at a resaonable price and the local Hook Norton beers were excellent. The pub was popular, with a lot of local groups meeting here and friendly chatter. (not noisy).

Breakfast was help yourself to juice, choice of cereals, as much toast as you wanted, homemade jam. Cooked part was Full English (or the same withour meat for veggies).

The only niggle was that on our arrival at 6pm, the young (friendly) staff did not seem sure of which rooms we were in and had to go to another pub to get the keys! (this might be something to do with the temp closure of the associated Pear Tree, possibly?).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

We booked a Brewery tour at Hook Norton and decided to stay at The Sun Inn. Three weeks previous to booking, we had a nice sandwich lunch which was nicely presented and fresh, we were fairly impressed. There is parking to the rear and in the front, so plenty of room.

On arrival we were asked when we would like breakfast (9am) and then shown to the room and first impression was that the room was basic and in need of a refurbishment, but clean. There was a nice view of a large church opposite.

There was a double electrical socket at waist level behind a small portable TV; the case was broken beyond repair and very flimsy. Less than a foot away was a small kettle full up with water, I thought this whole scenario was an accident waiting to happen. This was reported to the staff.

After the Brewery visit we came back to the room and got to bed, there was a boiling noise that lasted for ages which kept me awake. Floor boards are noisy, but this is to be expected in an old building.

In the morning we arrived downstairs for breakfast at 9am after 15 minutes my partner had to ask if we could have coffee. All we could hear was a young girl constantly talking to the chef. There was no fresh or tinned fruit either, just coco pops, sugar puffs, weetabix and cornflakes. After a staggering 30 minutes, I was amazed to see a very basic poor quality full English breakfast. My partner’s vegetarian option was the same as mine but instead of having bacon she had a spoonful of beans. We had two slices of toast between us (no jam available) which half was burnt. After returning the burnt toast we received what I would call lightly toasted bread, just gone from one extreme to the other. I just couldn’t believe that you could receive such a poor basic breakfast after such a long wait.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrahamUK33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hook Norton
3.5 mi away
The Falkland Arms
The Falkland Arms
#1 of 1 in Great Tew
388 reviews
4.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
4.6 mi away
The Fox
The Fox
#1 of 5 in Chipping Norton
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Gate Hangs High
The Gate Hangs High
#2 of 3 in Hook Norton
93 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pear Tree Inn
Pear Tree Inn
#3 of 3 in Hook Norton
14 reviews
6.9 mi away
The White Horse Inn
The White Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Duns Tew
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sun Inn

Property: The Sun Inn
Address: High Street, Hook Norton OX15 5NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Hook Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hook Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sun Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sun Inn is situated in the idyllic village of Hook Norton in the Cotswolds. Hook Norton is the perfect escape from the hustle and bustle of the city without being disconnected, located within easy reach of Banbury, Stratford upon Avon, Oxford and Cheltenham. The charismatic village boasts a close community centred around the Hook Norton Brewery who have been family ran and brewing for over a century. Regular tours and fine ales have brought tourism to the small village and to our establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Sun Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sun Hotel Hook Norton
The Sun Inn Hook Norton, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing