We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Woodlands Rainforest Retreat
Nearby Hotels
Tower Motel(Marysville)(Great Value!)
$102
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Vibe Hotel Marysville(Marysville)(Great Value!)
$130
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Healesville Motor Inn(Healesville)(Great Value!)
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
Oscar's on the Yarra(Warburton)(Great Value!)
$123
$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Warburton Motel(Warburton)(Great Value!)
$89
$85
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa(Yarra Glen)(Great Value!)
$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$405
$345
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveler rating
57
10
4
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
57
10
4
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbbq packlovely touchopen firewelcome packthe king size bedrainforest retreatentire stayblack spurhusbands birthdaymountain bikessunken spabird seednative wildlifebeautiful experiencestayed for one nightlarge deckmusic playing
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 77 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I booked a package back in July, circumstances changed dramatically in September and I can no longer use the package. I have been in contact with Woodlands to request a part refund and they are not offering anything other than a possible extension when the 12 month period comes around. Given it's a place for couples and I am not in a relationship due to the dramatic events in September I am not sure how they expect I can use it. Good customer service we take each person's circumstance into consideration and in this instance offer at least a 50% money back. This would leave me with a helpful experience. Now I have an experience of no care etched in my mind.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsRR, Owner at Woodlands Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to clarify our policy with regard to Gift Vouchers.

In your review, you did not make it clear that you had purchased a Gift Voucher and had not, in fact, booked a date to stay at Woodlands. Our policy regarding gift vouchers is very clearly explained on our website. In keeping with industry standards our gift vouchers are not redeemable for cash.

As per our recent email to you, if you are unable to use your voucher within one year from the date of purchase, we will be happy to discuss an extension with you.

Regards

Gary King

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We agree with previous review, we just paid over $1k, for a special anniversary and it was a disaster. We arrive at the cabin, to find the place smelt of smoke. The caretaker, had said that the chimneys needed to be cleaned regularly and had not been and that the owner was selling and di not wantno spend the money. We tried everything, removed the coal, deodorised the chimney, first night slept with all the windows opened and though in Nov 12, we froze. We even tried lighting the fire again, but the smoke with all the vents opened, just blew straight back into the cabin. All the other cabins had the same issue, we were suppose to stay for 2 nights, ended up leaving the 2nd day! For the money that you spend it is not worth it, there maybe a nice spa bath, but most hotels offer that to. It is such a rip off, we have travelled to many places and for that price, you would expect luxury! Big disappointment!. Oh and it is not a rainforest, the drive up there you past rainforests, but you stay in bushland!!.

When we advised the caretaker we were leaving, he said that the owner would not care, it is all about the money....and he was right!!, we complained and all he could say is, we should not stay in accommodation with fireplaces, what an insult!! Does he think we are that stupid. When he said he would call the caretaker and call us back, he did not and then avoided our calls. I then called from a different number and he answered, he said he was going to email me as he did not want an argument!! Can you believe that.. Great customer service NOT.. And no discount!!!!! Even a $100 off would showed some gestture, instead he offers us a discount in next stay, which is what he offers anyone if they return, so where is the goodwill! Never again ! Save your money people!..breakfast is a joke to!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Maria I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsRR, Owner at Woodlands Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Maria I,

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to your report about your recent stay. We take all feedback seriously and use it to continually improve services to our guests.

One of the very special features at Woodlands is that we have genuine open fireplaces, a real rarity in luxury accommodation today. We go to considerable effort to ensure that any lingering smell from the log fire is eliminated. Complaints are rare. On this occasion, you have demonstrated that we need to review our maintenance schedule to ensure that there is no hint of smoke lingering in our bungalows. This has now been done.

Thank you for alluding to another one of our key features. Our spas are certainly unique to any accommodation in Victoria – and probably Australia. They are a genuinely therapeutic double spas designed for the occupants to sit side by side. They are set in a heated floor before a huge glass wall that folds away to virtually convert to an outside spa should you so desire. All of this looking out into our ancient rainforest remnant.

Our rainforest bungalows are situated in temperate rainforest remnant on the banks of the Hermitage Creek. Included in and adjacent to the fern gully that our bungalows overlook are a number of different soft and rough tree ferns, water ferns, mountain tea-tree, shade nettle, hazel pomaderris and blackwood. These are all temperate rainforest species and only grow naturally in temperate rainforests.

Our local produce breakfast hamper is designed to showcase produce of the region as a starter for a multi night stay. It features pure fruit juice, a full loaf of crusty sourdough bread from the artisan bakery Fruition and half a dozen free range eggs from Healesville, home-made spreads from Harkaway and Fair Trade organic coffee roasted in Marysville.

We thank you for your feedback and can assure you that value for money, customer service and a passion for our unique property remain as primary drivers behind Woodlands Rainforest Retreat.

Regards

Gary King

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Luxury, hardly! You do have 22 light switches to choose from-which one will turn on the inadequate lighting? Breakfast- make your own bacon and eggs, but don't look for cereal, fruit, yoghurt or green tea (at the rich price of $45 for two!)...pity we didn't know the bacon was meant to last two nights! Magazines were at least 6 years old! A spa bath that took so long to fill up with brown water we gave up! Even in a motel room you get a biscuit to have with a cup of tea! The maroon and khaki decor has not been up-dated in at least 10 years! The BBQ wouldn't light- upon ringing the caretakers we were told the auto ignition didn't work! Couldn't lock the front door so when decided to query it on leaving the caretakers only spoke to us over the intercom!I believe the owners have lost interest in maintaining a quality establishment and are cashing in on these pretty cottages in the bush!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bubbles135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandsRR, Owner at Woodlands Rainforest Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your feedback and the time it took you to give us an insight into your experience with us.

Our intention at Woodlands is to offer our guests a genuinely indulgent experience with a truly nature based feel. Our bungalows are designed to capture the beauty of their natural environment; hidden away in the forest. Your comments suggest that we may need to re-examine how we are getting this message across.

We attempt to create the Woodlands Rainforest Retreat experience both through the design of services to our guests and through the architectural design of the bungalows themselves. We have used magnificent local timbers and huge glass windows to help our guests to feelpart of this nature wonderland.
We use mood lighting to attempt to accentuate the experience and external spotlighting to capture the ancient trees and ferns at night; hence a good number of light switches are necessary. Please accept our apologies if you felt over loaded by the number of switches. We must be more explicit in our compendium so you can better use the lighting facilities to your advantage.

Our intention with the décor is not to stay up with the fashions of the day, but to aim for timeless elegance with an emphasis on quality fittings and fixtures to create a built environment that fits perfectly into the natural beauty of the forest.

We are particularly disappointed that you were not able to lock your front door as guest security is a priority to us. Our normal practice is to hand over your bungalow key and explain how to lock your front door as part of our check-in procedures. If one of us fails to do this our two safe guards are: we have included the door instructions in the welcome letter all guests receive and we also have these instructions in the compendium as a highlighted item. We have checked this morning and all compendiums have the details clearly displayed, so I am perplexed as to what happened in your particular case.

Our breakfast hampers are designed to showcase local produce from the region and to provide a “starter” for a multi–night stay. We have always listed the ingredients of our hampers to avoid any confusion, but we will look again at the particular wording we use to see if it can be made any clearer.

We provide complimentary daily newspapers for our guests. We also do keep a selection of previous interesting articles and magazine supplements, such as travel articles and coffee table books. Perhaps these are what you were referring to as “old” magazines.

Our spa water does have a slight yellow tinge, due to the tannin content of our spring water. Part of our philosophy here at Woodlands is to offer as natural an experience as possible for our guests and so we do not treat our water, other than with mechanical filtration. One of the advantages of this is that you do not get a chlorine smell coming from the spa when the hot water jets are in use. The down side is that you do get a slight yellow discoloration of the water, which can be challenging if one is used to an urban water supply. This is highlighted in the compendium provided in all of our bungalows.

At checkin, we always invite guests to contact us if they have any difficulty with operation of any of the facilities provided, or if there is anything we can do to ensure their stay is more enjoyable. The Gas BBQ auto ignition function is an acknowledged issue in two of our bungalows at the moment. If they or anything at all should fail during our guests stay we always offer to assist at whatever level the guest requests – 24 hours a day. We currently are looking for renewing some of our BBQ’s to minimize issues such as those you have mentioned.

Our normal practice is to check guests out personally on departure; this is one of the joys for all of us as we get to hear how our guests have experienced our property and this magnificent region. This also allows us to remain attentive to guest’s needs and expectations and stay in touch with any individual concerns that may have arisen during our guests’ stay. We generally find that when our guests are given the opportunity to comment on their experience with us, they will choose to do so. We offer this opportunity in a number of different ways both in person and indirectly via an number of in-house feedback systems and external systems such as TripAdvisor. We greatly value all feedback from our guests and use it to plan our ongoing improvements and customer service. We see it as a genuine way to increase our guest amenity and your experience.

In this particular case we failed to provide an adequate check-out service for you and lost the advantage of the personal touch. It sounds as if you rang from the phone in Reception and did not receive the care you rightly deserved and expected. Normally we or caretaker Geoffery are extremely attentive to guest’s needs or requests.

Our normal practice is that on the rare occasion that none of us is available for personal checkout, we will speak to departing guests via the Reception phone.

At our next staff meeting, I will use your feedback as a case study to explore the ways that we can ensure that future guests do not depart with the negative impression that you obviously felt. Please be assured that we continue to have a deep and genuine commitment to all of our guests, our staff and ourselves as owner operators.

Your feedback remains the best way we can achieve our goal of exceeding your expectations. Thank you for recognising a quality establishment with “pretty cottages in the forest” as you put it.

We can assure you we are committed to our guests, to Woodlands and this wonderful region that we feel privileged to be part of.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Amazing! Everything was great! They have though of everything, beautiful cabin, great bathroom! We will be back

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wwwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Beautiful setting. Forest on your doorstep. Don't be put off by the 'reception' area, which was a little reminiscent of an abandoned school camp.
The cabins are great - good kitchenette, great living area with lovely open fire.
Very comfy bed and the spa is fantastic.
Breakfast hamper very good.
We had a wonderful stay, but it did seem a little pricey.

Stayed: March 2012
4  Thank Gianttree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews