We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute haven in a wonderful surrounding.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Locanda Martelletti
Ranked #2 of 6 Cocconato B&B and Inns
Wantage, UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“An absolute haven in a wonderful surrounding.”
Reviewed July 25, 2008

I stayed here for one night en route back to a friends villa in the Var.
What an absolute stunner.
The welcome was very friendly.
The hotel is as interesting as the village itself, small under ground corridors (like being in a medieval castle) open up into huge vaulted cellars that have been converted into meeting rooms. Fascinating and it makes the place feel diffferent and special.
The twin room I had was lovely, looking out over a small courtyard, the bathroom was a godsend - no shower cubicle - just a wetroom with a curtain to keep some water at bay - this is so much better than being forced to shower in a tiny cubicle.
I had a wander around the village and drank some coffee with the locals in the late afternoon sun before dinner, it felt homely and just right - sipping on a perfect machiato watching the world go by.
The dinner .... well wow is one way of putting it.
The hostess asked if I wanted to see a menu or just be surprised by the local produce. I said "surprise me".
It was fantastic, 4 courses of some of the nicest food I've ever had - and I've sampled some fine cuisine in my time at Michelin Starred Chefs Tables.
A lovely place that I would have no hesitation in recommending to anyone at all.

  • Liked — The sense of being welcomed and looked after.
  • Disliked — It was a touch tricky to find - even with a sat nav - which is probably a bonus !
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Brownz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    23
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
56
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2008

A truly amazing find located in the hills of Cocconato.
With only 9 rooms you need to book in advance but it is truly fantastic.

Located in the area for gastro food and wine, you will not be disapointed at the Locanda. All food is home made and features specialities from the region and of course great wines from the Asti region.

The rooms are all individually styled and whenever you visit you will find a welcoming team who treat you like part of the family.

Definately the place to stay if in the Asti area of Italy.

  • Liked — Location, Great People, Great Food and Superb Wines!
  • Disliked — Lack on Internet Access but it is nice to stop working in the evening!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyevis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2007

Have to agree with everything in the previous review. Cocconato is a quaint hilltop village not spoiled with many tourists. The people seemed friendly, but it helps to know just a few Italian words or phrases to get by. A walk on the old curvy stone streets were always interesting and felt like you were in a special neighborhood - which you were.

The Locanda Martelletti was a great place to stay. The management and all the staff were very polite and helpful. The food was outstanding as was the service. The blend of old stone passageways & big stone rooms with the old water wells - mixed with new glass stairs, make for a very intersting experience.

The rooms were nice, clean and most had great views.

In this little gem of a place that seemed like the real Italy, don't leave without sampling the local wine - Dezzani.

  • Liked — Charming building, charming people
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TexasCaboose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2006

We spent a lovely evening at the hotel. The food was fabulous and the accomodation was first class. Cocconato is a very quaint little gem of a village and well worth taking a trip to it. The local wine from Dezani is first class. This is the real part of Italy. The price only 90 euros per night (mid season)

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Localyokel696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cocconato
12.4 mi away
Relais Sant'Uffizio Wellness & SPA
1.2 mi away
Sotto la Luna Bruna B&B
Sotto la Luna Bruna B&B
#3 of 6 in Cocconato
44 reviews
0.5 mi away
Agriturismo Cascina Rosengana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Canonica di Corteranzo
Canonica di Corteranzo
#1 of 4 in Murisengo
76 reviews
0.8 mi away
B&B Al Riccio
B&B Al Riccio
#5 of 6 in Cocconato
13 reviews
8.5 mi away
Cascina Vignole
Cascina Vignole
#1 of 2 in Montafia
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Martelletti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Martelletti

Property: Locanda Martelletti
Address: Piazza Statuto 10, 14023 Cocconato, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Asti > Cocconato
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Cocconato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda Martelletti 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locanda Martelletti is a restored 18th building in the heart of the little town of Cocconato. It has a cheerful simplicity, with balconies and some classical details on its yellow stucco facade. Cocconato has the nickname Monferrato's Riviera, thanks to his unusual micro-climate.The rooms are comfortably furnished, with stone floors, modern iron bedsteads, plain colours. A paved garden has fine views and in the historical square, in a large dehors, guests can take breakfast, dinner or an aperitif. The restaurant serves fine Piedmontese food.Locanda Martelletti with its ownwer Franca,is friendly, hands-on, unpretentious and welcoming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Locanda Martelletti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing