We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Surprise”
Review of Goolgowi Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Goolgowi Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Goolgowi B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 6, 2013

On a recent trip to Musswellbrook, NSW from Adelaide, we stayed in this motel on the way there and on the return journey. The motel is ideally placed at about the half way mark resulting in two 8 hour days. Rooms were exceptionally clean, very large and everything worked. I concur with other reviewers that the added touches were unexpected but the beer, wine and muffin were greatly appreciated. An additional bonus was the proximity to the hotel (next door) which provided substantial and tasty meals. Finally, you could not complain about the $88 tariff.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreyNomadAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 91 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

Great hospitality and fantastic value for money! Free drink and muffin on arrival is unheard of anywhere else we have stayed. Room was great and Marion had the portacot set up for us ready to use on arrival. Couldn't ask for more

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joarcadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is our second stay and we weren't disappointed. After a long day traveling, how welcoming to be greeted with the question, 'Beer or wine?'! And the chocolate muffin was delicious as well. Our room was super clean and a pleasure to stay in. Pizza at the pub was good again and very reasonably priced. A big thanks to Marion who helped get our car started the next morning when the battery was flat. And the advice to use the Toyota dealer in Hillston was brilliant. We will definitely stay again or maybe try Marion's new place at Hillston when it's built. Sure to be just as good.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

What an absolutely brilliant motel! Located in a perfect position between West Wyalong and Hay on the Mid Western Highway (E-W) and Griffith and Cobar on the Kidman Way (N-S).

Welcomed with the choice of a beer or red wine, the lady at the counter was exceptionally friendly. Not too sure what to expect for $75/night, even in a new motel I was surprised by a lovely clean spacious room while not opulent, it certainly wasn't austere either.

As others have said, this motel is certainly a hidden gem and I can't recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FiFoGeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Welcomed with a choice of a cold beer or small bottle of wine...wow!!!. Mini bar prices same as shop prices, what a change! Breakfast price was also more than reasonable. The owners extremely friendly and helpful, directed us to meals at the pub on the corner which were fantastic. Would definetly stay here again next time I am passing through

Room Tip: all rooms were good, all at ground level and away from highway traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrissycb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

If you think little towns have nothing to offer, then think again. The little township of Goolgowi has a great little secret - it's called the Goolgowi Motor Inn. Very friendly wellcome when we arrived. VERY reasonably priced rooms, complete with complimentary wine or beer and a muffin as well, and the rooms would have to be the quietest I have ever stayed in (no hearing the next door person snooring). Breakfast was also very good and well priced too. Nothing seemed too much trouble for Marion and the rooms had everything you would need.
Right next door is the Royal Mail Hotel, where you can buy a very satisfying meal that will not cost you a fortune either. Both are very good reasons to consider stopping here if you are travelling the Hay Plains area.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

My wife and I recently arrived in Goolgowi after 7pm and found that both petrol stations had closed for the night. We were not expecting to stay in the tiny town, and were both quite put-out at first, until we found the Goolgowi Motor Inn. The welcome couldn't have been warmer, and for a very inexpensive price ($88) we were given a very spacious room with a queen and single bed, with an large bathroom. The room looked modern and fresh, with beautiful white bed-covers and red highlights, and was impeccably clean.

We were welcomed by the landlady Marion with a complimentary beer and wine, and a cupcake each, and then phoned the next-door pub to let them know we were coming around and to not shut the kitchens early. (It's a very quiet & friendly pub, mostly frequented by the truck-drivers who ply the roads East and West).

The mini-bar was bizarely cheap, with soft-drinks/water at $1.10 and chips and chocolate bars 55 cents. This is March 2012, and I haven't seen prices like that since the early 90s I'm sure. The night was very quiet, and the beds very comfortable. What started out as a night in a small-town we weren't expecting to stay in turned out to be a huge blessing ;both my wife and I were PLEASED we stayed there, and enjoyed our night.

Room Tip: I think there's only about 9 rooms, but if they're all as good as the one we stayed in, ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Goolgowi Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goolgowi Motor Inn

Address: 2 Zara Street, Goolgowi, New South Wales NSW 2652, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Goolgowi
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Goolgowi
Price Range: $87 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goolgowi's Newest Motel at 2 Zara Street, (next door to the Royal Mail Hotel) with 9 Spacious Ground floor units. Disabled and Family rooms available. Toaster, kettle and microwave in all rooms. Homemade muffins on arrival. Centrally Located. Cooked or light Breakfasts available. Evening meals are available from the Hotel next door. Family Owned and operated. Situated on the Mid Western Highway. 1 Hour from Hay, 1/2 Hours from Griffith, 40 Minutes from Hillston, 1 and 1/2 hours from West Wyalong, 8 Hours From Adelaide and 6 Hours From Sydney. Sorry, NO Pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Goolgowi Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing