We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad service, bad place” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Widiane Suites & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Widiane Suites & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bine el Ouidane
Certificate of Excellence
Casablanca, Casablanca, Morocco
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Bad service, bad place”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

stayed here in April 2013 with a group of friends .
very expensive for the quality it offers !! you would assume that you will get a 5 stars service since you are paying for it, but actually it's not even a 3 stars !!
Food is terrible, and very small portion and we tried almost everything on the menu from salads to main dishes to burger and pizza !!
we were forced to take the ridiculous over priced buffet for dinner, but since we had already experienced their bad food at lunch, we just wanted to have salads for dinner and after a looooong fight they finally agreed on letting us choose from the room service menu.
Their wine list was huge but only 3 brands were available (the most expensive of course)
and to top it all, we were seated on freshly painted tables and chairs for dinners which ruined our clothes , how is that a 5 stars service ?
wouldnt come here again !

Room Tip: ask for double bed, and make sure its not 2 separate beds joined together !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dania H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    110
    46
    18
    12
See reviews for
55
212
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My soon to be husband and I stayed at Widiane Suites and Spa in August 2011 for a week after purchasing a Groupon offer. We had a thoroughly enjoyable and delightful stay and would absolutely love to go back . We didn't leave a review after our stay but having read some of the other reviews I was really disappointed to see that some people had left some quite negative comments and therefore wanted to give our opinion. I don't think people should be put off from visiting Widiane after reading some of the comments.

To get to Widiane, as it is beautifully set in the mountains, you can either travel from Marrakech by car transfer or helicopter (I believe). The car journey is a 3 hour journey and is not the most comfortable of journeys however once you arrive at Widiane in our opinion it is well worth the journey!

When we visited Widiane they were in the process of some construction on the new building, I don't know whether the building works are still unfinished, however this did not disturb our stay at all. We could see the construction site from our balcony area but that did not bother us at all. I would just advise, if the building works are still being carried out, if something like that will bother you then don't go or ask to stay in a room the other side of the hotel.

The spa was OK, I think it can be improved and unfortunately the outside jacuzzi they have wasn't working during our visit but it is idyllically situated at the top of the building facing the lake which can be very romantic.

The room for massages was relaxing and peaceful and the massages we had were fantastic. The two therapists who were there when we visited were brilliant, great characters, very friendly and gave us lovely treatments.

The hammam treatment room is right at the top of the building and it is extremely hot in there. I didn't get on with the hammam treatment (not good for people with sensitive skin like me!) but it is an experience in itself! They also have mud treatment room.

The pool was lovely, the surroundings give a nice relaxing/calm feel and it is nice and quiet being in the mountains. Some soft background music would be nice for the pool area.

The hotel cannot be faulted on cleanliness, it was lovely and clean and we often saw a cleaner around the hotel. There was a problem with those small flies in our room one night but that was because we had left our doors open! The flies are attracted to the light. We asked if we could change rooms and we were able to so we did for one night and then went back to our room because we liked ours better! The fly problem wasn't necessarily the hotel's fault though as I think that just comes with being by the lake.

There is another jacuzzi down by the lake which is lovely to relax in. A bit cold but once you're in its fine! Again quite romantic. There are several different types of chairs/loungers to sit and relax in down by the lake too.

There is a gym which has air con and has basic equipment in should you fancy a work out!

The food was brilliant, breakfast lunch and dinner were all more than satisfactory! I noticed a comment about alcohol, for myself and my partner that wasn't an issue as we don't drink however they do serve alcohol, or they did when we were there, but you will find it is more expensive as Morocco is a Muslim country and the alcohol is imported. Anyone visiting Morocco should have an awareness of this before they go anyway.

We slept very well, the room we stayed in was two single beds put together which although a little annoying sometimes I think that appears to be the norm in a lot of foreign countries so it didn't bother us as there were so many other wonderful things about the hotel and our stay.

The Groupon offer we thought was absolutely fantastic value with the excursions and treatments we had which were included. On arrival at the hotel we were greeted with wet flannels to freshen up our faces and a refreshing widiane cocktail. We thoroughly enjoyed the trip by boat to the other hidden part of the hotel where we had lunch, swam in the lake and had some fun on the jet ski! We were also all given 10 minute thai massages each on the loungers. It was fantastic!

We hired a pedalo boat one day and there was also a trekking tour through the mountains which my partner went on and said was brilliant for views.

The hotel also kindly told us when they were arranging trips outside of the hotel so we could go if we wanted to. One of the trips was to cascades d'ouzoud a beautiful natural waterfall where there are lots of little souks and we sat and had a traditional Moroccan meal. It was a gorgeous day out and also where my partner proposed! During the time of our visit it was Ramadan and therefore the residents and workers in Marrakech were all fasting however this did not stop the kind gentleman (I can't remember his name unfortunately) who kindly drove us to the waterfall and walked up and down steps in the blazing heat with not even a drop of water to drink! Whatever your name is, and if you are still working at Widiane, we thank you very much! I hope you can remember us! (The couple that got engaged by the waterfall!)

The staff at Widiane were very accommodating, friendly and always had smiles on their faces. The Buddah Bar was lovely too. It wasn't very busy while we were there but we did have a few drinks in there a couple of nights with other families/couples staying at the hotel.

Overall we had a fabulous time, we loved every second of our holiday we didn't want it to end! It is luxurious, but it is Moroccan luxury! If you are looking for more 5 star luxury then go to somewhere like the Maldives but if you are looking for a holiday of relaxation with a bit of authenticity and tradition then go to Widiane. You will not be disappointed!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would absolutely love to re-visit! Thank you for making our stay such an enjoyable one.

Charlotte and Niz (stayed August 2011)

Room Tip: Superior lake facing room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlotteMears87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
264 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is a fabulous location if you want to get away from it all to relax and soak up the fabulous vista.
The room we were allocated was just OK, it was on the top level, quite basic, large but TV was too far from the bed to view it comfortably, no storage space just a few shelves in the hanging space area - would not call it a wardrobe, the rain shower did not work, only the hand shower did which made having a shower unpleasant. There was a garden area with 2 chairs but too much greenery to sit in the sun, there was a hot tub but it would have taken a week to get it clean. When we mentioned a few things at the reception desk we were quickly offered a new room, my, it was like staying in a different hotel, it was excellent with a lovely view, upgraded furnishings and a great bathroom with a fully functioning shower! We loved it and would ask for room 206 next time.
The restaurant served adequate food, but after 5 days we felt we needed a change as the menu was really quite basic. Breakfast, whilst it looked like a feast as there were so many plates of food, but most of it went back. Omelettes were good,
As we were here on a Groupon deal we experienced the Thai massage which was excellent and would certainly book it again, the hamman was really nothing special and would not book it again. The cooking class was really chop a few bits and assemble a few things, however the chicken tagine we watched being prepared was excellent when we had it for dinner. The boat trip took us across the lake to their thai restaurant, this was a lovely trip as the scenery was spectacular, We did not do the trek opting to,just walk up to the small row of shops for some supplies instead, we had heard it was quite arduous.
All in all it was excellent value for money and I would definitely go again. The staff are helpful and have a good professional manner and it is well worth the 3 hour drive to get there.

Room Tip: Go for a room in the main (mid level) building
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Awaywegoagain22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

In the spirit of my many, many reviews for hotels over the globe and over the years, I have set out a list of pros and cons, starting with pros. As always, I aim to be objective and concise.

In summary, avoid! Grouponites, beware...

PROS
1. Views over lake - it cannot be denied, there are nice views. It stops there.
2. Shower pressure - A+++. No grumbles.
3. Beds - hard. But that's my thing.

CONS
1. Rooms - they go out of their way to give you the worst, smallest, least functioning, and most remote room in an empty hotel. Don't even try to move. You will be labelled a "freeloader" by management. Stay put in the sticks.
2. Service - Youssef must be fired. Quite simply, he is the world's worst receptionist. Typically, I say any manager/service cannot ruin a hotel or the experience. How wrong I have been! He goes out of his way - dare I say, maliciously - to make your stay uncomfortable and unpleasant. For example, whenever we tried to book one of the Groupon "excursions", you would agree a time, only to show up to bewildered massage therapist, guide, boat captain, etc. He smiles, takes your requests and then twidles his thumbs. A real "can do nothing" kind of guy...all the while sneering at your helplessness.
3. Organisation (or lack thereof!) - As above, be wary when scheduling any appointment. You say a time, you say it again, you see it on the computer screen, and alas! No booking has been made.
4. Food - I repeat the other comments. Inedible. Needless to say, far from 5*. Closer to 2*.
5. Food/Drink Prices - They know you're stranded in the middle of nowhere and take you hostage.
6. Pool - freezing! In April, in the desert, this is somewhat surprising. Simply, unsusable. Don't bank on a beach holiday.
7. Construction site - about 5 meters from where they will inevitably put you. It's super loud and very prominent given its proximity to the hotel in an otherwise empty desert.
8. Sleep quality - sleep? surely you didn't come here for that old chesnut! The shower dripped all night long. And, given the size of the rooms, the dripping is very close to your ears.
9. No alcohol - As above, you're in a Muslim country and the crazy prices become even crazier when it comes to booze. Bring your own or enjoy rehab.
10. Location - after 3.5 hours of windy roads (in an expensive private transfer - that's the only realistic option to get here) - you're happy to see any civilisation. However that's where your hapiness ends, as remoteness certainly has its drawbacks, as we have sadly learned .... (see above)...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank agoodley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have recently stayed at Widiane following a Groupon 3 day voucher we purchased, this included a trek, boat trip, massage (thai & hammam) and cooking class... We found the hotel very nice and its obviously had a lot of money invested in it. The surroundings are beautiful and the hotel decor is very good.

Some downsides included the major building work being completed next to the hotel which was obviously an extension of the current hotel site. We were first placed in a room next to the building work and had to move after the first night due to the excessive noise, however we were upgraded to a room in the main building so was good on this perspective.

The menu is a bit small considering that you can't go any where else to eat in the surrounding area and the journey from the airport is over 3 hours so quite a distance.

Overall the hotel and setting is very nice and the staff are are good. I would recommend if you want a retreat away from it all however the remoteness and lack of entertainment would make it difficult to keep occupied for more than a long weekend. I also found the Groupon deal very good value but it would be a bit on the pricey side if you paid full price for everything.

Room Tip: Long weekend is plenty and a few night in Marrakesh is good to vary the trip
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDavies_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

I recently got back from a short break to Morocco and the destination this time was the Atlas Mountains. My sister and I stayed in the secluded Widiane Suites & Spa hotel and it was one of the most magnificent locations I have stayed in so far on my travels. We arrived at Marrakech airport and although the drive was three and a half hours long, when we arrived we were bathed in, not sunshine (unfortunately) but a warm welcome, some Moroccan treats and the realisation that we were staying in a truly remote and beautiful place that overlooked vast mountains and plains. The Widiane Suites & Spa experience is a unique one in the sense that it is a hybrid of Moroccan and Thai cultures and offers both traditional Moroccan spa treatments and Thai massages as well as tasty Moroccan food (and of course classic mint tea). The Thai massage was by far the best massage I have ever had! The activities included a boat trip, trekking in the mountains, which we never got to partake in because of the rain – probably a good idea seeing as we didn’t pack the most appropriate footwear and clothes for an expedition in the mountains! We even had a Moroccan cooking class, which has given me some ideas about how to cook, mix and compliment spices. The level of service by staff was absolutely outstanding and can see exactly why this hotel is considered a five star haven of luxury for nature lovers.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carissa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibiza, Islas Baleares, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

What a fabulous retreat! A Groupon offer but if it was to be affordable would def; return. Certainly 5 star both in Hotel and staff, location is breathtaking on a wonderful lake in the mountains. Food exceptional, service second to none and the extras that we're booked as part of the Groupon deal really broke up the day and were enjoyable. The guy that did the trek was personable, friendly and took us slowly due to having a 5 yr old with us, but it really is quite an up hill walk! Prob about 2 hrs. The boat trip was excellent, leather seats, speed boat, not a dinghy! A little cold tho; ( jan) so wrap up. The cookery class was fun, and the girl was lovely! We then ate our wares, so don't have the tagine the night before, because that's what you eat when you've cooked it, tasty tho; we ordered a morning get up call 5.30am, as the Airport is 4 hrs away ( un fortunate and off putting) we ordered some breakfast too, for our travels, but we got neither! We had to call twice to remind them, but when it did come it was fresh and lovely, just like all the breakfasts whilst there, fresh pastries, fresh bread, fresh fruit, eggs anyway you like, the table was adorned and full! The staff were fantastic and made you feel so welcome, they loved my granddaughter Isabella and made a big fuss of her. The Hotel transport to and from Marrakech Airport is quite expensive, but it is a long journey. We stayed in Marrakech for 4 nights first and commandeered a taxi driver to take us and pick us up again for 150e total! Bargain, but can be done

Room Tip: All rooms are splendid, however, our room on the left side of the Hotel was plagued with the sound o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bine el Ouidane
1.6 mi away
Hotel Chems du Lac Bin el Ouidane
Hotel Chems du Lac Bin el Ouidan...
#2 of 3 in Bine el Ouidane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
9.1 mi away
Chems Le Tazarkount
Chems Le Tazarkount
#1 of 1 in Afourer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
17.4 mi away
Hotel La Luna
Hotel La Luna
#1 of 5 in Beni Mellal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Riad Cascades d'Ouzoud
17.5 mi away
La kasbah d'Ouzoud
La kasbah d'Ouzoud
#2 of 10 in Ouzoud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
16.8 mi away
Riad Dar Ouzoud
Riad Dar Ouzoud
#5 of 7 in Ouzoud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Widiane Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Widiane Suites & Spa

Property: Widiane Suites & Spa
Address: Chemin du Lac de Bin El Ouidane BP: 44, Bine el Ouidane, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Tadla-Azilal Region > Bine el Ouidane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bine el Ouidane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Widiane Suites & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Middle Atlas is nesting a most subtle pearl, Widiane Suites & Spa. A concentrate of essence and wellbeing to enrich your senses as you take in open views, fresh air and contrasting landscapes.Associating luxury and refinement, this masterpiece is the ideal retreat for nature lovers, where the time ceases to let you enjoy the celestial and charming site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Prestigia so you can book your Widiane Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Widiane Hotel Bine El Ouidane
Widiane Suites And Spa
Widiane Suites & Spa Morocco/Bine El Ouidane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing