We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Sunday Lunch for family or friends with a lovely ambience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kings Oak Hotel

The Kings Oak Hotel
Ranked #13 of 63 Restaurants in Loughton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Set in the heart of Epping Forest the Kings Oak provides a fabulous resting place for all visitors to the forest.The property has been lovingly restored to its former glory with a stylish twist of comtemporary chic and glamour.The Gastro Pub is boho Victoriana boho chic,with antique chandeliers, timber beans and racy red walls. Real log fires.Oak Lounge is victorian style, crystal chandeliers and grand floor to ceiling windows overlooking the forest. A richly elegant and intimate space to host a wedding or private dinner party. Also serves Sunday luncheon throughout the year.The Kings Room provides a stunning space for weddings, celebration parties and corporate events. State of the art lighting system.Beach Club Marquee echoes the concept of the well renowned Nikki Beach clubs and offers a trendy & glamorous party space.. Starlit ceiling, overlooking the pool and pool gardens. Set against manificent backdrop of the forest, you feel as though you have been transported to an oasis of calm.The Forest Gardens offer a landscaped extention of Epping Forest, with only a low picket fence separating you from the deer, rabbits and other woodland folk. The Forest Garden provides both an adventure playground for the children and a tranquil setting for adults and makes for a delightful watering hole. We offer barbeque and hog roast on fine weather weekends as well as alfresco events.
lincolnshire, england
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Lunch for family or friends with a lovely ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Came here for a Sunday Lunch with my teenage daughter and her friend and my in-laws. We ordered completely different meals; I had the lamb roast, and others had the lamb shank, burger, bolognese and fish and chips. Firstly the Chardonnay was really nice and went down very easily. The roast was great; I loved the peppery parsnips, roasties, and the lamb was really tasty but not too fatty. Everyone else at the table enjoyed their meals. Desserts were just as good. I thoroughly recommend the profiteroles and my daughter says the sticky toffee pudding is incredible. Great place for a chilled Sunday or indeed any day. We're coming back to try the Beach Club!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank billieteacup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    24
    22
    20
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our perfect weddingat the Kings oak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

I would like to start of by saying a MASSIV thank you to everyone at the Kings oak Linzi, Paula, Jill, Mark and all the fantastic staff for all their hard work. From the initial stages of planning the wedding right through to the day its self i couldn’t have asked for anything more. THANK YOU!

As soon as i walked into the kings oak we knew it was the place we wanted to spend our special day it had everything we needed and more. The Kings room and the beach club looked beautiful and the atmosphere was perfect. We where so lucky to have the most gorgeous weather which just topped our day of. The Kings oak is by far the best place for any occasion they cater to you as an individual and go way beyond to make sure your day is perfect.
The food was outstanding. My father and brother are chefs to the stars so food was really important to get right. Well to say that they where impressed was an understatement every person cleared their plate. The staff kept the drinks flowing and attended to our every need.
I am so happy we chose the kings oak for our wedding it would not have been the wedding of our dreams had it been anywhere else.
Everyone we know has said what a fantastic day they had and how beautiful the venue looked, how amazing the food was and how perfect the day flowed and that is all down to the king’s oak. I can not recommend this venue enough for any occasion and even have friends that are due to get married arranging to look at the king’s oak for their big day.

Thank you again everyone we can’t wait for the next big event so we can start planning!!

Mr and Mrs Ward xxxxxxx

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clemmie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

I had the good fortune to attend 2 functions at this venue ( a retirement and a wedding ). I was the best man at the wedding. I and all of the guests had nothing but praise for the staff, food, atmosphere and general professionalism from everyone. Our wedding party was very late due to an accident on a local motorway and still our food was fantastic.

I can’t recommend this venue for your special event enough.

A special mention for Mark the general manager. He ensured everything ran like clockwork at both events. He is very approachable and he doesn’t seem to get phased by anything, which is very important when having your family and friends celebrating your special occasion.
A Massive Thank You To All

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave-Mills-999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Proud To Be Me Charity Fashion Show On 14th April”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We would like to say a HUGE thank you to Paula,Linzi, Jill & all of their fantastic staff for their support during our very important event.
They were all more than accommodating & very helpful at all times... We were so happy to arrive to the Venue on the day to find everything that had been requested was as we wished, we even did our Greek Blessing around all of the hotel with sweet smiles from all of the staff.
We would love to have another event at the Kings Oak & we will always recommend with Confidence, this venue is traditional & has a fantastic vibe.
We have already visited 3 times since & we are hoping that you get great business from our guests that came to our event too...
we love you all for supporting us thank you xXx

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Inerdiva-ang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best party ever - our wedding day at the Kings oak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We can't thank Linzi, Paula, Jill and all the staff at the Kings Oak enough for everything on our Wedding day back on 2 February 2013. Cheesy as it sounds, but words can't actually say how brilliant it was - we had an absolutely perfect wedding day from start to finish and would not have changed anything - we woke up on Sunday and wished that we could have the day all over again.

The Kings Oak Hotel looked absolutely amazing and perfect, and all of the staff team looked after us and our guests so well. Everyone was so taken with how gorgeous the venue looked, how delicious the food was and how slick the service was throughout the day. The sparkly dance floor was a definite hit and when DJ Ben who was also great, played the last song, we all just wanted it to go on.

As lovers of going down the pub and walking in Epping forest, the Kings Oak was the perfect venue for our perfect wedding day - thank you so much x

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kings Oak Hotel also viewed

 

Been to The Kings Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing