We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step back in time”
Review of Gardeners Arms

Gardeners Arms
Ranked #35 of 66 Restaurants in Loughton
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: An extremely popular pub in Loughton that serves food daily and which is probably the town's oldest pub.
London
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Step back in time”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Lovely old pub, with beautiful views.
We enjoyed a super roast dinner with all the trimmings..
They can cook here, and are very proud of their roasts and so they should they be....3 cheers for the cook !!!.
Very cosy, this pub makes you feel warm inside, like stepping back in time, very friendly lovely staff and good dogs are allowed inside ...
Drinks are a little on the high side, but that doesn't put anyone off, the venue and views are worth it..

Its all up hill, good for walkers, very hard to park, tiny car park.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    20
    5
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
essex UK
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“best pub food in loughton”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

The gardners arms is a pub in loughton that overlooks london - it is a truely beautiful spot. Their food is FANTASTIC. Ham and Salt beef cooked on the premises. Every tues pm they do a different "themed night" - grill night, curry night with all the food prepared on site. The pub is always busy and has a great atmosphere whatever time of year

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jellyhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Really nice pub except for food and expense !”
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Loved the outside and inside. Warm and cosy atmosphere , real fire , dogs were allowed in which i like as it gives the pub even more charactor. Tv you wouldn't really notice high up , thank god as it could ruin everything. Loved the house wine. Ordered a sandwich thinking at the time, very expensive but looking at this pub I'm sure it's worth it. How wrong and disappointed I was. I had a salt beef sandwich with pickled cucumber. The bread was brown as ordered but thin ready sliced from packet. Just bread could hardly hold the beef in. No frills of crips or lettuce. £6.90 for that a disgrace. I wouldn't eat in main restuarant because of that experience. Daylight robery, playing on the fact they have a nice looking pub in a elevated nice location with essex people with a few quid. But I would go back for a drink as I loved the look and atmosphere, such a shame they over charged for a simple rubbish sandwhich. Why do that with the gem they have !

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Swampy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Expensive & Disapointing”
Reviewed December 17, 2011

Popped into this pub for a quick pint & a sandwich, was met with poor service (ignored for ages) mediocore Doombar at £3.40 a pint & the cheapest sandwich was a fiver. Add to this the noise of crying children, six or seven of them but only two crying this was not a good experience. Shame this used to be a cracking pub.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike117432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location but expensive, fish poor (bones) managaress unhelpful & uncaring.”
Reviewed August 15, 2011

10 adults and one 5 year old visited this pub on Saturday the 13th of August; outside has great views of London, but we were very surprised to find that a decent meal cost around £10 or more per person for just the main course. (The Foresters Arms nearby charges around £7.50) Anyway we decided it was too late to go looking for somewhere else, and ordered our various choices.
On the whole the food was enjoyable and hot, however three adults had fish, chips and gherkin with cucumber sauce (or similar), all of them said the fish was very small, it was rectangular shaped, about 5" X 4" and had not been filleted properly! It was especially disapointing for our daughter who on a limited budget was going to share hers with her 5 year old.
They spent time trying to remove the bones, causing the meal to go cold, and she ended up leaving most of it.
At no time did staff ask if everything was alright with the meals, they appeared busy at the bar with locals. Two of the adults who had fish didn't want to make a fuss, but agreed they expected more for the price. My daughter and I complained politely to the lady supervisor/manageress? But she was very abrupt, saying there was nothing she could do about the quality of the fish. When we suggested she could point it out to her supplier and maybe get some money back, she was very negative and gave the impression that we just wanted our money back, even though this was never mentioned, though a part refund for the fish would have satisfied us.
This ladies attitude was like we wanted something for nothing, and she was most unhelpful with an uncaring manner. We shall NOT be returning!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gardeners Arms also viewed

 

Been to Gardeners Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing