We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely great afternoon”
Review of Foresters Arms

Foresters Arms
Ranked #26 of 64 Restaurants in Loughton
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A very panoramic and popular Loughton pub overlooking the forest. It serves lunch daily and evening meals on a Wednesday and Thursday night. Events and live music take place through out the year. Caters to all functions.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Absolutely great afternoon”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We arrived early for our reservation and were surprising someone who was down for the weekend from Glasgow. Staff inside were happy for us to have drinks and sit at the table when suitable. Once all diners had arrived we chose our food and when the mains arrived the portions were amazing, very big and food quality was at a very high standard. It was a busy Saturday afternoon and the sun was out and place was busy inside and out. Our only disappointment was there were no desserts available on the menu what so ever! We were all looking forward to these but were told there weren't any "today".... In a nutshell we would return and eat and drink here again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank camis17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    34
    13
    17
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very disappointed!”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We were really looking forward to eating at the Foresters Arms, beautiful view, really nicely done up inside with a vintage theme and we'd had a look at the menu beforehand which convinced us to visit. But having sat down bought a drink and chosen what we wanted from the menu (which were all out on a side table) we were told (only when we went to order) that they stop serving at 6pm! We were very disappointed and couldn't understand the logic - the menu seems very geared towards evening meals yet they stop serving at 6?? If this is the case there should be a sign saying this and menus shouldn't be left out. Hoping to go back another time but we're not sure if we fancy a full main of duck breast/sea bass for lunch.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Jengi83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, fantastic food, beautiful location”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

By far the best please for a pub lunch and a cold pint in the area. Staff are incredibly friendly. It has a real vintage feel which is a nice change from the rest of the pubs in Loughton.

We will certainly be going back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue0503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly atmosphere, full of vintage charm!!!!”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Located at the top of baldwins hill, overlooking beautiful greenery and forests this charming public house couldn't be in a better location. In the winter there's nothing better than going to relax by the fire after a spot of sledging!!! In the summer it's equally indulgent to sit out on the patio with a glass of vino whilst enjoying those picture perfect views!!!
New landlord and landlady have made an excellent job renovating the interior, which now holds all those traditional and quirky charms that seem to be forgotten
In modern day pubs!!! The pub actually feels how a pub is supposed to feel and looks amazing! The service is excellent and you are always greeted with a welcoming smile from both the landlord /landlady as well as their friendly staff!
If you fancy a traditional Sunday roast the food here speaks for itself, you can't beat it in taste, or value for money (worth every penny)
I would strongly recommend the foresters to anyone, it truly is a delight!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Loocielou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“fabulous pub !!!!!!!!”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I have live in Loughton all my life and the only real decent pub to drink in before was the Gardners until the Foresters was taken over. This pub has been bought back to life with a lick of paint and some great interior design. The new owners are young, vibrant and full of energy and this reflects in the clientelle. I have eaten in there many times, sunday lunch is a MUST (booking advisable) and they hold an occasional themed evening - i went to the thai which was true authentic thai food. Their lunch and evening menus change regularly with seasonal produce being used and ingredients from local farms.
I cannot wait until the summer as i have seen that the garden is being renovated - lots of sunny (hopefully) evening will spent enjoying the amazing views over Epping Forest.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jellyhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foresters Arms also viewed

 

Been to Foresters Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing