We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch with friend”
Review of The Olive Tree

The Olive Tree
Ranked #3 of 64 Restaurants in Loughton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $76
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Our menu draws it's influence from the Mediterranean (Greece, Portugal, Italy, Spain...) using Fresh quality ingredients sourced locally wherever possible.Whether you are wanting a quick simple lunch, meeting with business colleagues or planning a special night out with friends and family, The Olive Tree is the perfect choice.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lunch with friend”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Love the Olive Tree,atmosphere great,staff friendly and very obliging.Food and portions good but sometimes expensive for what you get.Friday and Saturday nights are noisy but the venue still has a great atmosphere.For a special treat this restaurant is good,although it may set you back with a pricey bill.The manager is a real gentleman and provides a welcome to everyone.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    100
    45
    29
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Loughton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fab lunch”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Birthday lunch with friends. Small lunch time set menu but great choices. It was quiet on a Monday lunch time but the atmosphere was good and the service was excellent. I even got suprise complimentary drink for my birthday. I'd definitely go again,

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tullulah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Overpriced/no atmosphere/grumpy service”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Lacking atmosphere due to the lack of diners . The food was overpriced and nothing special. The service was grumpy. Oh dear !! Never again :((

Helpful?
6 Thank nanachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughton, Essex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Another amazing meal”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

my hubby's 50th celebration meal. Amazing food and yummy wine. Even though restaurant was packed, we were made to feel special.

Thanks to Manos and his wonderful team.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ails67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
114 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Overpriced and overhyped”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The Olive Tree is associated with the TV series TOWIE, and that has long put us and all of our friends off from going there, however we thought we would pay a visit yesterday and the food was good, but a little over priced. The staff were excellent, but you feel you are paying for the restaurant 'experience' as well as the food. Still it would be a good place for an anniversary or special dinner, and I was told they sometimes have entertainers in the evening which might make a good night out. A good place to lunch, or spot a TOWIE star or two!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happyessextraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Olive Tree also viewed

 

Been to The Olive Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing