We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best wine museum you can find”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Vivanco

Vivanco
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Briones
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: VIVANCO IS MUCH MORE THAN EXPERIENCES We seek to transport you to a new universe of sensations where the wine takes centre stage. 9,000 m2 of emotions and activities around culture, art, cuisine, flavour and fun. The meeting point between knowledge and the enjoyment of wine. Today at Vivanco we understand wine as a way of life from an innovative, energy-filled perspective, offering you a unique, exclusive experience around the Culture of Wine. Winery, Foundation and Experiences are a faithful reflection of the commitment of the Vivanco family to "giving back to wine what wine has given us", which we invite you to discover.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
266 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“The best wine museum you can find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

The most complete and educating wine museum you can find in Rioja, and I would say in the whole Spain. It s easy access next to Briones , near Haro, and it has many rooms dedicated to the making, tasting and learning about wine. You can also visit the winery dinastia Vivanco next to it. If you are in the area you can't miss it! You can buy the tickets online if you prefer although it did not seem to be necessary when we were there. The visit to the museum requires time to enjoy it!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ceci1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    171
    33
    12
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
111 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A must for your visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

This place is really good. Unlike the bodegas which will go through various stages of the process and will only fit in what they can on 1 hour tours typically, this place is at your own pace and assuming you are interested in wine, it's really interesting.
8 eur to visit the museum and 3 euro extra for the audio guide which is a must. 6 different rooms, do them at your own pace. Very informative and there is videos at different stages which show the lifecycle of the wine over the year, the barrel making (really good), the cork making, etc. Only one room for me was boring but it didn't affect the tour.
Big area at end to have food and wine or buy souvenirs and you can go outside to take pictures and look around. Didn't do the bodega tour as was travelling onto Haro to visit another but really worthwhile.
The town of briones is nice too and next turn off.
Definitely visit this place.

Helpful?
1 Thank peterodonohoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Passionate? Interested in wine? This is one for the bucket list!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

We were taken here with no prior knowledge or expectation, we were just tilde that we were going for a 'wine tasting' And the whole experience was just fantastic, if you have an interest in wines this is a must do, take the whole day there and also do the taster menu in the very good restaurant.
I'm going again as soon as possible.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank andyove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Our 2nd time to visit the museum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

This was our second time to visit and we loved it again. This wine museum is comprehensive and unfortunately probably too big for one to see everything in one visit. It would be better if one could take a short break. They charge extra for the English audio guide but it was worth it for us. We didn't have enough time to see the garden again. (Strange that most visitors do not even bother to walk around. It just meant a more peaceful walk for us.) We were too early this time to enjoy the lavender scent. As the first time, we didn't do the bodega tour as we've been to too many wine tours. You can view (and smell!) the Vivanco barrels from the museum. The pintxos were great.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Global_Dora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A very interesting diversion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

It is a most interesting museum, which is also a winery. Not exactly cheap to go on the guided tours, but we felt that it was worth it, despite not speaking enough Spanish to understand most of the tour of the winery. We hired the English headphones, but obviously missed a lot, since the Spanish guide spoke at great length, and the headphones only provided short summaries. Neither could we ask questions successfully. But we knew/suspected that this would be the case, so I'm not complaining. The museum is slightly more "English" friendly, but again the headphones seem to miss a lot. Fortunately even a basic knowledge of Spanish will enable you to read most of the labels.
The winery is most impressive. Storage underground, where thousands of barrels are racked. Cost someone a lot of money, many millions of Euros I would think.
It takes 3 hours to do the place properly, so if you are heading to Bilbao or Santander for a ferry then leave plenty of time.
The gift shop is costly, so buy your wine elsewhere.
Its a very nice area.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kigoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vivanco also viewed

 

Been to Vivanco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing