We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something for everyone”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Vivanco

Vivanco
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Briones
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: VIVANCO IS MUCH MORE THAN EXPERIENCES We seek to transport you to a new universe of sensations where the wine takes centre stage. 9,000 m2 of emotions and activities around culture, art, cuisine, flavour and fun. The meeting point between knowledge and the enjoyment of wine. Today at Vivanco we understand wine as a way of life from an innovative, energy-filled perspective, offering you a unique, exclusive experience around the Culture of Wine. Winery, Foundation and Experiences are a faithful reflection of the commitment of the Vivanco family to "giving back to wine what wine has given us", which we invite you to discover.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We did not go into the museum because we did not have time and we'd already done six free wine tours of bodegas (wineries) in Haro. But we liked the large shop where I bought grape motif jewellery and a table napkin holder I'd been searching for over years. We also had a snack which was very tasty and beautifully presented. If we'd arrived earlier we could have had lunch in the pretty restaurant which has a fine view of the vineyards. If you don't have the time or money for the museum, in addition to the shop and snack bar another free attraction is the garden at the front. See all the different wine varieties labelled and an information panel

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angella787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    169
    33
    12
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Blueprint for a great museum”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

If you love wine you will love this museum. If you are not that bothered about wine, you will probably still love this museum. The Vivanco family have spent a fortune creating a beautiful, modern fascinating building. The museum is very well laid out and takes you through every aspect of the wine production business, including fascinating videos on barrel and cork making. There is a large collection of antique wine producing equipment including vast wine presses and a beautiful gallery of art and sculpture with wine associations (worth the visit alone). The cafe, not surprisingly, has a great selection of wine and tapas and there is a nice gift shop. Outside the grounds are extensive and a huge collection of vines of every variety have been planted. I can't praise this museum enough, it is a model of how a museum should be laid out. We spent such an enjoyable few hours here.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank cornista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marietta, ga
Level Contributor
153 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“well done”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

this wine museum is extensive and shows their love of wine. the tour and tasting are also well done. many reasonably priced items in the gift shop. well situated with lovely views of the country side.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank verysatisfied09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great wine museum”
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Very interesting museum in the La Rioja wine country. If you like wine, you will find it very interesting. They have an English audio tour.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karenr661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very extensive museum of wine”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Plan to spend a lot of time here, as their collection is very big. Comprehensively laid out to tell the whole story of wine all its elements. We like the video documentaries they have telling about the whole barrel making process, the whole cork making process, et cetera.
Don't miss the tapas at their bar afterwards. Good bites at great value, to go with the wine tasting.
Extra credit goes to the helpful English-speaking receptionist, who helped direct us to maps, other bodegas with great friendliness.
Negative: English tour needs to be booked beforehand. Their wine is expensive and not to our taste.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank sjoobn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vivanco also viewed

 

Been to Vivanco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing