We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe only a cafe but still the best”
Review of Colleens Cafe

Colleens Cafe
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in St. Ouen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $13
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We visit this beachside cafe throughout the year on our regular trips to Jersey and cannot fault it for the quality of its food, location, choice and value for money. It is always our first stop after leaving the airport. Brilliant as it is open throughout the year and visiting out of season is always full of local people - so it must be OK. This time we had our evening meal there as it stays open on Friday nights and were mightily impressed with the food and choice -all home cooked. The fish pie was gorgeous.
OK it is a cafe but in a superb location and nicely decorated. We have always found staff very friendly with a quick service and extremely homely. Not everything on the menu is deep fry and chips - the specials and salads are really good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jomodu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

356 - 360 of 432 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2013

This cafe is on the north side of Jersey, sat on the quayside of a beautiful bay and beach. We enjoyed a nice walk along the coastal past and then sat by the window to have a lovely refreshing cup of tea and a nice lunch. The best bit of jersey. Accessible but unspoilt. Friendly and tranquil. Go!

Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We had heard very good things about Colleens and so were a little disappointed that it was just like a lot of average beach cafes we have visited over the years. The situation and view are excellent but often are for beach cafes. Sadly the food was very ordinary and whilst we will undoubtedly visit again when we next find ourselves in Greve de Lecq we won't be making a special trip to visit Colleens

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Beachhut45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Basic, OK sort of seaside caff. Lunchtime menu of the deep fry and chips kind, rather uninspired and certainly not in-tune with local availability, or modern tastes. Drinks basic. Large hunks of cake of various flavours. Good view.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DiBsrker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We arrived about 3.30 and were told the kitchen had shut. We did explain we only wanted a sandwich or a cake but we were turned away.
I know it was the third week in September but it was a glorious sunny day and I would have thought they would welcome the extra custom. I have eaten at Coleens before and had some excellent Lobster Salads, so I will go again but maybe they should review their policy and the staff they employ, who were to be honest rather rude!

Thank vacationgirl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAHED, Owner at Colleens Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

During the summer months we are open late up until the 6th September. 8am till 6pm for food.

We do however have to reduce our opening hours when the season is finshed as it really is not cost effective, We do however remain open for food up untill 3.30pm but we are still open for cakes, teas and coffees till 5pm. So i cannot understand why you would be turned away at this point, unless it was unclear you would only be wanting a peice of cake?

I apologise if one of our staff was abrupt with you, but matters like this are best dealt with at the time, please ask to speak to the manager or leave contact details. I would like to know who this member of staff was and deal with the matter.

This comment does not add any valued information as the information you have provided does not match up with our times of serving?
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colleens Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Colleens Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing