We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“interesting place”
Review of Agora Pansiyon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agora Pansiyon
Ranked #3 of 4 Kapikiri B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“interesting place”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

One of the strangest places we visited but kind of interesting- We felt that we had a glimpse of village life. The room was comfortable enough, breakfast above average, hosts helpful. The lake was stagnant this time of year but we had awesome ruins on the hillside completely to ourselves (and a stray horse). Be aware- aggressive scarf selling ladies.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    13
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
20
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denizli, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Lake Bafa is pretty much in the middle of nowhere so you know in advance that this little pansiyon in a small working village is not going to be glitzy 5 star with all the trappings. But if you want spectacular scenery, good walking and total peace and quiet, this is the place to be.

We stayed for 3nights at the end of April. Not many people were staying there as we were slightly out of season, but the weather was fantastic and we were offered the opportunity to have a day out with another couple on the lake with a BBQ lunch. A truly lovely day and, we discovered later, all totally free.

Our room was rustic rather than basic, clean and perfectly adequate for the few nights we stayed. The food was superb and the chill factor around the pansiyon with its hammocks and seating areas just the ticket. The fridge is stocked with wine, water and beers and you simply help yourself and let them know what you've taken.

Cows wandered by twice a day, the donkeys added to the charm, we even had a little owl in the nearby tree.

The local women were a bit annoying, following us around, but we managed to shake them off to do our own thing.

We stayed at quite a few pansiyons during out trip through Turkey this year, all of which were very good, and we both agree this was definitely one of the best.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We enjoyed this place immensely, though I can understand that some people would not. The Pansiyon itself is very nice. the rooms are scattered around amongst lovely gardens - ours was comfortable and clean, though pretty basic. The (essential) air conditioning was adequate, and the bathroom spacious and functional. The food was excellent, and quite varied. Lots of fresh local products, well prepared. You don't get any choices, they just bring out the spread that's available for that day to your table. The evening meals (which are an additional charge) varied from good to extraordinary - it's a bit of a crap shoot. The surrounding area is spectacular - the mountains, the lakes, and the ancient ruins that the village is built around were all wonderful. The village is well off the beaten path, and is a small, poor, working village. There are donkeys, chickens, sheep, goats, and cows in the streets (plus, of course, the little reminders they leave behind). You also get mobbed each time you go out by the elderly women of the village that are trying to sell you various and sundry trinkets - and they can be quite aggressive at times. But given the obvious poverty of the village, you pretty much just have to take it in stride and accept it as the experience of another facet of the world. I would also say that the price seems a little high, especially for the area - but not a bad value in absolute terms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ofamof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Charming 4 days spent here, perfect start to our 2 weeks in Turkey. This family run Pansiyon is charmingly staffed in an unpretentious way. Rooms are basic but clean with hot showers. There is also a Hammam but we didn't get around to trying this.
Food is excellent, especially the breakfasts with locally made delicious honey and different homemade jams (all yummy ) each day all produced by the formidable matriarch who clearly takes this role seriously.
The Pansiyon is right in the middle of this rustic village where each household has a couple of dairy cows, some vocal donkeys and a few goats. The milk van comes twice daily to collect their milk , so it is a working village , not a fluffy towel spa, all the more delightful for it. Furthermore their cultural rhythm is punctuated by regular and rather melodious calls to prayer. ( not all night though)
We walked around the hills above village on our own taking in the gorgeous views and enjoying the lovely herbs.
A further highlight were the birds, flocks of pelicans and a unique local nuthatch to mention a couple.
Staff are very helpful and go the extra mile, such as calling us after we had just left as they thought we might have left something behind by mistake and returning our missed call from the UK before our stay.....
An additional and unexpected benefit was the excellent WIFI....so was able to set up temporary office in a very comfy hammock refreshed by frequent varied local herbal teas.

Room Tip: It is very quiet in the restaurant so no ned to worry where you are really
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clairef441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New jersey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Reserved for two nights and cancelled second night after the first few hours there. We were there in late May and the thing I could not get over in all the reviews I read of this place was that not one person mentioned the fact that the village smelled like animal dung and urine no matter where you went. Our room had a barn on either side of it and one of the farmers had been pushing the dung into a pile that was over 15 feet high which means it had been there for quite a while and boy oh boy did it reek. We also had dueling donkeys throughout the night that sounded like they were being murdered. Every time they started up, I would start laughing because between the eau de barn smell and the screeching donkeys, sleep was not going to happen.

The inn keeper was sleeping in a hammock when we arrived and appeared to have been drinking. He was hostile and not at all friendly. When we asked about hiking which the area is known for, he said that the only way to hike is to pay him 35 euros for a day per person. He said we could not hike on our own and there were no maps.

The inn was rustic and had nice gardens. I actually liked the facilities and our room. The food was pretty good as well. It all did not make up for the hostility and creepy people. The price for lodging and dinner was way more than it was worth. We paid similar amount for a very pretty inn with lovely hospitatly and food.

The people in the town stared when you walked down the street and we got followed by 8 women when walking to look at ruins behind the village who yelled at us and each other when they insisted we pay them money or buy their made in china junk. We were far enough out of town that we feared for our safety because it was 8 against 2. The next morning another woman approached us as we walked down to the lake and I yelled at her to keep her away. Apparently following and harrassing tourists is a source of revenue.

We kept joking that this town and inn keeper reminded us of the movie "Deliverance".

We stayed in several small towns on our trip to Turkey and had delightful experiences. I found the hospitality in Turkey amazing, except for Lake Bafa. There was no warmth or charm here. I would not recommend anyone go here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wanderlusttoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This pension at Lake Bafa is well run and has a lovely garden and eating areas. The food was home cooked and very good although plain. The breakfast was truly excellent. Our rooms had some charm, although they were small and the bathrooms were clean and modern. Oddly though Lake Bafa was pretty much deserted when we were there( August) and the local village is a shambles. Personally I wouldn't go out of my way to visit Lake Bafa unless I had some specific reason to do so.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast, NSW
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Angora Pensyon for 2 nights and loved it. The family run pensyon was relaxing and well set out. Opti (pronounced Optie) was very helpful and a great guide and full of information. We spent the first day wandering about ourselves. The second day we left early with Opti for a walk to the monestory etc which is definitely worth it then a boat and picnic on the lake all in all a great day and one that will be in my memories of Turkey. We were in a back room delightfully decorated however we did have a donkey (village full of them) outside our window who was on guard duty during the night minding the chickens from the cats I think, so we heard the eeaawws 2-3 times however we went straight back off to sleep. Breakfast included tea and coffee making facilities self serve available 24 hrs. We as most of the guests ate our evening meals at the hotel also and were fed well.

Room Tip: Beware of scorpions when walking in the hills, wear closed in shoes and do not rest against the rock...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kamasabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapikiri
3.2 mi away
Hotel Silva Oliva
Hotel Silva Oliva
#1 of 1 in Pinarcik
35 reviews
10.0 mi away
Aurum Exclusive Club
3.2 mi away
Selene's Pension
Selene's Pension
#1 of 4 in Kapikiri
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Akbuk
22.2 mi away
Emel Pension
Emel Pension
#1 of 20 in Guzelcamli
70 reviews
19.3 mi away
Aquasis De Luxe Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agora Pansiyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agora Pansiyon

Property: Agora Pansiyon
Address: Kapikiri Koyu, Kapikiri 48234, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Kapikiri
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kapikiri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agora Pansiyon is situated in the Kapikiri Village at the north side of Bafa Lake. Here away from the daily hectic of crowded tourist flow, you can enjoy the wonderful landscapes and views of Bafa Lake. As the sound of a rooster crowing wakes up the village, you can start the eventful day wholly rested after a comfortable night. Youwill receive a feeling of stillness and a feeling of being at home flows in you immediately. What can an authentic holiday be described perfectly better than a small but fine hotel run with dedication by the owner Orhan Serçin and his sons Mithat and Oktay. Orhan like to share his tips with his guests on the secret hiking resorts around the Bafa Lake gathered after many years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Agora Pansiyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing