We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tranquil stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tamarind Great House
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Oracabessa
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

We found Tamarind on the internet when desperately trying to find a stop off in the area. Ochi was pretty much full as it was a busy weekend with bank holidays either side. But good for us that we found Tamarind!

The house is beautiful , built to a very high standard by Gillian and Barry. The rooms are all of a good size, the communal areas very spacious and the pool excellent.

Here you are living in the middle of nature, but very close to the beach resorts. While you sit having one of Gillian's lovely breakfasts you can watch birds fluttering past and take in the beautiful flowers and plants.

While we were there we went on a tour of Sun Valley plantation just down the road. Here we learnt all about the fruit and vegetables that grow in Jamaica.

If you get a chance you should also sample Gillian's cooking. We had two lovely meals as well as the breakfasts.

The only downside was that it was very hot and difficult to sleep at night: our own fault for going to Jamaica in August!

Stayed: August 2014
3  Thank SWHN16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 46 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

While somewhat more expensive than most other guesthouses we stayed at in Jamaica Tamarind was well worth the extra money. The villa is set atop in the hills over Oracabessa with a wonderful view. The drawback of this view may be the slightly more remote setting with no stores close by but we simply enjoyed the peacefulness and our host's cooking. This was our favorite stay in Jamaica and I would recommend the Tamarind to anyone in the area.

Also make sure to check out the local plantation!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We absolutely loved our time at Tamarind Great House. Set in a stunning location with views for miles across beautiful hills. The house had a gorgeous rooms up an amazing staircase. The downstairs hall was beautifully polished and lead out to the veranda where breakfast and drinks were served.

We will definitely go back to stay next time we're in Jamaica.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Lovely friendly relaxing stay at Tamarind. Love the great houses in the hills with the lovely views. An easy road up, in great condition. Some lovely falls locally with no one there. We had a super, clean, oversized corner room with huge balcony and a great view at a great rate.

But the main thing is Gillian's cooking! Be sure to order all the meals you can, and have all the courses! Phenomenal!

We are going to return at Christmas one day for the traditional English Christmas!

We spent lots of time sitting and chatting with other guests and Gillian and Barry as well. What a fabulous visit! Thanks!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank VicletSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

This was our first time in jamaica and I do not remember that I ever felt so relaxed after a vacation. Tamarind Great House is exceptional, a personal, individual jewel and I still cannot believe I found it on the internet! We arrived completely exhausted from work at night and were welcomed by a concert of sounds (frogs and cicadas, some chicken early in the morning and sometimes some reggae from far away in the villages, I recorded it so I can bring back one piece of the exceptional atmosphere). In the morning (after I was surprised that despite being the jungle, there are no mosquitos) we were surprised by a magnificent view over the tops of the trees, covering the whole valley from our balcony. A bird had its nest right next to the balcony and was patiently watching us for 10 days… Barry and Gillian are not only great hosts, I could not think of a travel guide providing such personal broad overview about the country and its people, just by sharing a story here and there. We enjoyed our daily conversations about politics, how to protect the country and its nature and cultural habits and treasures. It is a pleasure to listen to both of them and get a share of their wisdom and experience. It is also gave us a feeling, what knowledge, effort and hard work is needed, to live in paradise. No hard work for us, just some exercise. We enjoyed the most, exploring the neighborhood by foot, just walking through the villages or down to Oracabessa. That way we saw the most, what we felt was close to what seemed to be true Jamaica. Also, a Jamaican friend of Barry and Gillian drove us around which was a unique and we got to see a typical reggae party in one of the villages, huge, huge boxes and loud music and all generations celebrating on the street. We got to swim in the nearby waterfall (2 min walk, just by ourselves, until some jamaican youngsters came by and showed us how to really jump off the cliff and in a cool way and do all kinds of tricks..) Or we learned more about Jamaica's flora and fauna with Launa, the neighbor (at sun valley plantation), or just relaxed at the pool, played the Ukulele or read 600 pages of John Steinbeck or the "old jamaican tales" which we found in Barry and Gillian's library. The evenings were crowned by Gillian's art of cooking, fish, goat curry, aki and jamaican breakfast and a lot more, no to forget the fabulous rum ice cream. The house is amazing, every day I found another detail, placed with so much taste and thought, starting with the room decoration, the wooden floor, the old diving machine, (with a technique Gillian explained to me but I rather look at it then imagining being lowered to the sea), the pictures of old jamaica on the wall, the fresh linen handkerchiefs matching the color of the table flowers each day etc etc just to give examples.
Then we took one organized day trip which was worthwhile, but after picking up tourists in the all inclusive resorts and experiencing mass tourism at the common sightseeing sights, we once again were so thankful that we got truly a share of paradise.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with balcony and view over the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We wanted to break up the drive between Port Antonio and Negril and after a bit of online research found Tamarind Great House. It did indeed sound great, and the reality is even better!

Located near, but not in Oracabessa, the area is gorgeous Jamaican countryside, verdant and relaxing.

The big atmospheric house is surrounded by beautiful gardens and lush foliage, with an inviting pool. Gillian and Barry greeted us warmly and showed us to a lovely spacious room on the second floor, with excellent privacy. The four poster bed was romantic, but it was the view from the balcony that immediately captivated us. Since the house is built on a hill, you look out over the treetops. And in those trees are so many beautiful birds!

There's a waterfall a short walk away that piqued our interest, but since we'd just been to Reach Falls in Portland, we ended up relaxing on the lovely grounds instead.

Gillian is an excellent cook, and we enjoyed her dinners and breakfasts on the large open terrace on the ground floor.

Make sure you have directions, as without them, finding the property might be a challenge.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Rick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Beautiful house, nice pool, breathtaking views, lovely homecooked homegrown food (Im notoriously fussy about my food), great service and really nice hosts....what more could you want...

I'd highly recommend staying at Tamarind.

We stayed mid-april with a 16 month old baby.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kingbenny999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oracabessa
9.3 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,355 reviews
93 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#30 of 80 in Negril
1,385 reviews
4.7 mi away
Moxons Beach Club
Moxons Beach Club
#2 of 3 in Boscobel
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
26.2 mi away
The Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel
#1 of 25 in Kingston
912 reviews
4.2 mi away
GoldenEye
GoldenEye
#1 of 2 in Oracabessa
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Great House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Great House

Address: Crescent Estate | St Mary, Oracabessa, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Mary Parish > Oracabessa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Oracabessa
Price Range: $102 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tamarind Great House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer our guests at Tamarind a unique environmentally-friendly setting providing luxury accommodation at very affordable prices. Secluded waterfalls, plantation tours, James Bond Beach and Noel Coward's Firefly are only a few of the nearby attractions. Ocho Rios is a 30 minute drive, with its varied activities, such as botanical gardens, the famous Dunn's River Falls, Dolphin Cove as well as Mystic Mountain tree top tours. Of course there are lots of restaurants and duty free shopping, as well as a large local craft market. Tamarind Great House is built on the site of an original planters estate, first built in the 18th century. The house has solid wooden floors from locally sourced trees throughout the downstairs, with antiques and locally made furniture to enhance the feel of colonial Jamaica. Our guests enjoy the relaxed atmosphere of Tamarind, with its spacious bedrooms and large balconies. Our 13 acre farm produces fresh organic fruits and vegetables used in our kitchen. The road to Tamarind is a Jamaican country road, and the scenery to the house shows you every side of the real Jamaica. We are an owner run guest house, therefore catering personally to your requests. Away from the main road, a relaxed and safe setting, surrounded by verdant hills, tropical flora and fauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tamarind Great House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Great House Hotel Oracabessa
Tamarind Great House Jamaica/Oracabessa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing