We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“fantastic guesthouse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarind Great House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tamarind Great House
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Oracabessa
LONDON
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“fantastic guesthouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Beautiful house, nice pool, breathtaking views, lovely homecooked homegrown food (Im notoriously fussy about my food), great service and really nice hosts....what more could you want...

I'd highly recommend staying at Tamarind.

We stayed mid-april with a 16 month old baby.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingbenny999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
luton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

people who owen this place need a star good hosts - tea and coffee in morning before exploring the island of its wonderful culture, lots of places to see. close to Oreca Besa and the water falls ,shops and a market , lots to see even on a three week holiday

Room Tip: swimming pool much used - lovely idilic place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My husband and I were desperately in need of a relaxing vacation. We have been to many all-inclusive hotels and didn't want that kind of environment as we find that we usually need to recover from our vacation. We combed the internet and came accross this jewel called Tamarind Great House. We booked online and called Tamarind and spoke with Owner Gillian who gave us great directions how to get there.

Upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised by the warm welcome and beautiful surrounding. Gillian made a fantastic Jamaican fish dinner that evening which was amazing! You rock Gillian!
We have a beautiful room with high valulted ceiling and a balcony with panoramic view of the mountains, the swimming pool and garden below.

Our entire time was simply the best. We had great meals prepared with fresh ingredients from Barry and Gillian's garden, peaceful ambience, and great company. Barry, Eugene still talks about your great sense of humor. This is the first trip we have ever taken and was not exhausted afterwards. As a matter of fact, we were well rested and rejuvenated and was in a much better space to cope with our hectic lifestyle.

If anyone is looking for an atypical vacation, I definitley recommend Tamarind Great House! We recomment that you call ahead for directions on how to get there and if you will be driving, rent a reliable vehicle that is able to manuover the Jamaican roads. The main roads are usually ok but those inland require some skill to navigate.

Gillian, Barry and Gary, thank you guys so much for making our vacation simply the best! Gillian your cooking cured my swelling feet. It's the first time I visit Jamaica in the summer and my feet didn't swell. Fresh ingredients & cool mountain air make a difference. Barry, we really enjoyed those evenings on the patio with a Red Stripe and great conversation. If we ever own a home in Jamaica, we want Gary to do the floors. Brilliant work Gary.

Again thanks for making us feel like family.

Cheers,

Sherril & Eugene (Toronto)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SherrilL242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Islip, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Do want somewhere to go, where you can lay back, "far from the madding crowd", well Tamarid Great house is the place. My husband, mom , sister-in- law and I stayed there. Gillian, Barry and staff made our stay so stress free. We felt like one of the family. Fresh mountain air, good local food, and good company made our stay worthwhile. I have recommended Tamarid Great house to so many friends. I will return there again.

Room Tip: Just request what you are looking for. Gillian and Barry will accomodate you. All the rooms are grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minnie117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

PROS:-
stunning hilltop location with lovely views
amazing great house newly built on old site
good swimming pool
nearby Sun Valley plantation for a good informative visit
reasonably good meals served on the terrace

CONS:-
very poor potholed road 5 Km road to house
grudging hospitality (no help with carrying cases)
tea and coffee extra cost and only available on request.
no hot water on occaisions. The owners not embarassed or apologetic about it!

Room Tip: upstairs rooms have better views and some have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tuk585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

This was my second stay at Tamarind and I felt compelled to share my positive experience! I must confess that I originally booked the weekend a resort on the beach and the rest of the week at Tamarind. The other place double booked my room. I called Gilliam and Barry at Tamarind at 8 pm and they welcomed me 2 days early with open arms.

The rooms are immaculately clean. The grounds beautiful. You can dip in the pool or go for a walk or run surrounded by lush vegetation. Peaceful, relaxing, homey.. can't say enough.

Only downside is the rough road from the main highway and distance from ocean but also quieter than any lodging near the sea.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jlinse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I travelled to St. Mary with a friend after arriving on a long flight. We were pleased to have received an email from owner Gillian to help with directions from Oracabessa, as the route to Tamarind is not exactly easy - but with the directions, we had no trouble at all to arrive.
The last bit of the route was up a classic tree-lined entrance driveway reminiscent of southern plantations in the US. This brought us to the parking area set in lovely gardens. Gillian was on the porch to meet us, and Barry shortly joined her. We felt immediately welcome. The Doberman was a bit offputting for my friend, but was clearly not a threat, and certainly made for a sense of security once night fell.

After my long journey, I was rather jetlagged and so settled immediately into our comfortable room and bed to get some much needed sleep. We did not have dinner that night as neither of us was hungry, but my friend had a nice cup of tea and chat with Gillian.

The house decor was lovely and most fitting for the site. Lovely open and inviting foyer with rooms ringed around the upstairs. I am fairly sure we were the only guests that night which was wonderful for us as we had G&B's rather undivided attention.

Following what Gillian joked was the longest sleep ever, we arrived for breakfast on the patio in the morning. After further chats over wide variety of subjects, Gillian prepared a lovely breakfast and we had a bit of time to explore the grounds. We both felt we would have loved to spend longer in order to explore some of the great beauty of the surrounding area, but we had a task at hand to perform in nearby (and beautiful) Port Maria which took us away after a lingering breakfast.

I am not a true birder (due to orthopaedic difficulties) but at the same time have enjoyed them on 5 continents. Even from the patio, I could appreciate numerous and diverse species. And the many feeders brought the most spectacular hummingbirds.

We found our stay to be far too short and told the owners we would love to return. We felt a most sincere emotion in the "I hope so" reply. Sadly, we will have to do it soon, as after 21+ years of hosting, G&B have begun to plan retirement. Surely a great loss for the Jamaican tourist scene if and when it happens.

I wouldn't hesitate to return and to recommend to all.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VancouverAmazed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oracabessa
9.2 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 39 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 stars 1,114 reviews
4.4 mi away
Moxons Beach Club
Moxons Beach Club
#2 of 3 in Boscobel
4.5 of 5 stars 93 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hermosa Cove, Villa Resort & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.0 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 17 in Port Antonio
5.0 of 5 stars 410 reviews
91.9 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
39.4 mi away
Moon San Villa
Moon San Villa
#7 of 17 in Port Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Great House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Great House

Property: Tamarind Great House
Address: Crescent Estate | St Mary, Oracabessa, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Mary Parish > Oracabessa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Oracabessa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tamarind Great House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer our guests at Tamarind a unique environmentally-friendly setting providing luxury accommodation at very affordable prices. Secluded waterfalls, plantation tours, James Bond Beach and Noel Coward's Firefly are only a few of the nearby attractions. Ocho Rios is a 30 minute drive, with its varied activities, such as botanical gardens, the famous Dunn's River Falls, Dolphin Cove as well as Mystic Mountain tree top tours. Of course there are lots of restaurants and duty free shopping, as well as a large local craft market. Tamarind Great House is built on the site of an original planters estate, first built in the 18th century. The house has solid wooden floors from locally sourced trees throughout the downstairs, with antiques and locally made furniture to enhance the feel of colonial Jamaica. Our guests enjoy the relaxed atmosphere of Tamarind, with its spacious bedrooms and large balconies. Our 13 acre farm produces fresh organic fruits and vegetables used in our kitchen. The road to Tamarind is a Jamaican country road, and the scenery to the house shows you every side of the real Jamaica. We are an owner run guest house, therefore catering personally to your requests. Away from the main road, a relaxed and safe setting, surrounded by verdant hills, tropical flora and fauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tamarind Great House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Great House Hotel Oracabessa
Tamarind Great House Jamaica/Oracabessa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing