We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a relaxing time!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tamarind Great House
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Oracabessa
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a relaxing time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

I went to Jamaica to present in an art conference organized by the Edna Manley College of Visual and Performing Arts in Kingston. After a hectic three days, i decided to go up the mountain to gain some relaxation before heading back home to USA. Through an art connection in Chicago, I learned about Tamarind Great House B & B. It was the best choice I could have made! Located at the top of a mountain 3hrs drive from Kingston the house allowes for a extraordinary scenery and tranquility. Gillian and her husband Garry are the owners of this B & B for the past 20years and they really make feel at home! Gillian prepared me a homemade dinner that made me feel like a queen- everything from her garden and the fish from their fish farm! Prior to my trip, I communicated often with Gillian via email- she went the extra mile to help me with my trip plans and even gave me advise and suggestions pertaining to staying in Kingston. The place is up the mountain with no internet access so if you need to be closed to the buzz of a city and need internet access, this is not your place though. For me- I had two days of relaxation of my physical body and enrichment at the spiritual and soul level. I'll be sure to return next time I visit Jamaica!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beatriz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

Its like a small blue paradise in the middle of the Jamaican jungle, the rooms all have there own character, the views cannot be taken in by the eye alone , The food is mostly grown on the land, The fish come from their own river.Our thanks to Barry & Gillian ,their son Gary for all the hard work they do ,To make each individual feel at home.
LadyJacquelyne

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyJacquelyne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

When you are following the winding 6 km. of roads which lead to this idyllic setting nestled in the hills above Oracabessa, you are treated to some spectacular scenery. Granted the ride is rocky, but then in Jamaica, the beauty of the scenery is in direct proportion to the difficulty of the roads. It is well worth the journey. This old-fashioned inn has lovely, spacious rooms, most of which have incredible views of lush vegetation and majestic mountains. Tamarind has the charm of pricey bed and breakfasts with Motel 6 room rates. The British couple, who own the property and prepare the delicious home-cooked meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner, could not be more welcoming. You are truly treated like a very special guest, and will be sorely tempted to forego beach combing back down in town, in favor of chilling at Tamarind, whether it's sunning around the beautifully landscaped pool or having a cocktail on the lovely veranda.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TessCieux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

We have decided to split our first ever Jamaica holiday into two parts, the first an all inclusive hotel at the beach and the second part a something little bit different, which is staying in Tamarind Great House and it turned out to be fantastic! We have booked 3 nights in May 2011. The whole house is beautiful, inside and outside,with lovely antique decorations and a swimming pool. We were staying in a room with a huge terrace with a fantastic view. We were the only guests in the house during our whole stay, which meant that we`ve had the pool for ourselves! Gillian is a fantastic cook, every breakfast and dinner was superb! We really enjoyed our stay and would recommed this hidden gem to anyone who wants to experience Jamaica unspoiled by the mass tourism. Thank you Gillian and Barry

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxy_london_lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

Found our way here on an island tour.We were SO psyched to find this place,as we had found the guest house where we had planned to stay was uninhabitable .Excellent,quality furnishings and decor. I particularly loved the country setting;mostly quiet , but sweetened by birds in the morning and tree frogs at night. Fine food ;some coming fresh.from their farm! Barry and Jill were excellent hosts BTW. Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: ask for upstairs (view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank demus48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2011

One of the objectives that my friend and I wanted to meet during our time in Jamaica was to stay on a plantation: backpacking about Jamaica with only our LONELY PLANET to guide us and up until this point staying in rather rustic accommodations, we were thrilled to discover the review of the Tamarind Great House and decided to make this the final stop, the treat, at the close of our trip. We couldn't have been more thrilled with our choice and still can hardly believe our GREAT fortune in arriving here. In fact, we ended up staying two nights rather than just the one that we'd planned initially because we fell so in love with the setting, and with the warm yet professional hospitality of our hosts, Barry and Gillian. The property is stunning. Period. The lush, manicured lawns, the profusion of flowers dripping over pergolas and bursting out of gorgeous antique pots, the plethora of fruit and vegetables organized into neat beds across the hillside, the sweeping patios, the elegant pool, the stately building itself, and the breathtaking vista from the front porch. Absolutely incredible. The house is rather remote-- but so peaceful as a result, and quite idyllic in its scenery, which includes a river with glorious cascades and pools in which to swim. Furthermore, the area is so removed from the madness of most of the tourist areas in Jamaica that one can real relax and feel safe. The food, all expertly prepared by Gillian in the house kitchen, is nearly all grown on-site-- including the farm-raised talapia from the pond in the back and the chicken as well. It is both artfully presented and deliciously rendered. Barry and Gillian are fascinating, brilliant, generous, and exceptionally welcoming proprietors whose goal it is to give guests the ultimate in comfort and satisfaction; and this is a goal which they meet and exceed! Absolutely DO stay in this fabulous spot if you happen to be in or even around the area...You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Call ahead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GretaGrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2011

My husband discovered Tamarind house around 2006, when we took the long drive from St Elizabeth to St Mary, Ocho Rios. The road was very bad, but I think we were used to it as the road was similar to where we were based. The thing to remember is not to be put off by the road, as it is worth every bump. But once we had arrived at Tamarind House, we were blown away by the beauty and the absolute peacefulness of this place. We were greeted by Gill and Barry, who were so friendly and welcoming. We got on immediately.
The grand entrance is a sight to behold and almost reminds you of the house in 'Gone with the Wind', there are these beautiful stairs that look so spectacular. At Christmas with the lights and Christmas tree, it is simply stunning. The bedrooms are large comfortable very clean and spacious. You are sure to get a good night sleep.
The food was excellent. Gill is a great cook. One of the great features of Tamarind House is that literally everything you eat at Tamarind House is sourced on the premises, i.e. Fruits, vegetables, Tilapia Fish and many more.
The grounds are well maintained and it was just nice to walk around or even sit by the swimming pool.
Tamarind House is a must for us every time we visit Jamaica.

Room Tip: Fruits and Vegetables are grown on the premises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janlin21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oracabessa
4.4 mi away
Moxons Beach Club
Moxons Beach Club
#2 of 3 in Boscobel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
9.2 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
8.9 mi away
Kaz Kreol Beach Lodge
Kaz Kreol Beach Lodge
#10 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
38.0 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
4.0 mi away
GoldenEye
GoldenEye
#1 of 2 in Oracabessa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Great House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Great House

Property: Tamarind Great House
Address: Crescent Estate | St Mary, Oracabessa, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Mary Parish > Oracabessa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Oracabessa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tamarind Great House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer our guests at Tamarind a unique environmentally-friendly setting providing luxury accommodation at very affordable prices. Secluded waterfalls, plantation tours, James Bond Beach and Noel Coward's Firefly are only a few of the nearby attractions. Ocho Rios is a 30 minute drive, with its varied activities, such as botanical gardens, the famous Dunn's River Falls, Dolphin Cove as well as Mystic Mountain tree top tours. Of course there are lots of restaurants and duty free shopping, as well as a large local craft market. Tamarind Great House is built on the site of an original planters estate, first built in the 18th century. The house has solid wooden floors from locally sourced trees throughout the downstairs, with antiques and locally made furniture to enhance the feel of colonial Jamaica. Our guests enjoy the relaxed atmosphere of Tamarind, with its spacious bedrooms and large balconies. Our 13 acre farm produces fresh organic fruits and vegetables used in our kitchen. The road to Tamarind is a Jamaican country road, and the scenery to the house shows you every side of the real Jamaica. We are an owner run guest house, therefore catering personally to your requests. Away from the main road, a relaxed and safe setting, surrounded by verdant hills, tropical flora and fauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Tamarind Great House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Great House Hotel Oracabessa
Tamarind Great House Jamaica/Oracabessa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing