We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful getaway”
Review of GoldenEye

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
GoldenEye
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oracabessa
Certificate of Excellence
Cornelia, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“beautiful getaway”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed at Goldeneye in June and had a lovely stay. The grounds are beautiful, our villa was fantastic, great food, but above all the service is splendid. We stayed in a beach front villa which literally is in the sand. The villa is lovely, with a kitchenette and outdoor shower. Our shower was not "private" however, as the 2 neighboring villas had views of it from their windows! Luckily, they were both using their a/c & kept their shutters closed. I still chose to use the tub however.
The food was great, but was quite expensive. We enjoy traveling and expect "resort" prices when we do, but still felt that this was a bit more expensive than usual (lunches around $80, dinners $150 with cocktails). We had the barbeque lunch one day on the "island" which was delicious, but set us back $150! As I said though, all very delicious - especially the jerk ribs. Breakfast is included, which was really good as well. Just note, only juice, tea or coffee is included. If you want a Coke, it's an extra charge, which felt a little chintzy to us.
The staff here is phenomenal. Friendly doesn't begin to describe it - they make you feel like old friends. The people are the main reason we keep returning to Jamaica!
We had spa treatments one day which were great. Very relaxing.
There were quite a few families with small children during our stay, which came as a surprise to us. We didn't really expect that. Also, two nights during our four night stay, the music from town was incredibly loud until around 3 in the morning! Not that Goldeneye can do anything about this, but just FYI it is disturbing.
Overall, we had a lovely time at Goldeneye and wished we could've stayed longer. It is a beautiful property with an amazing staff. Tour the Fleming house if you can; very interesting.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peachmom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    32
    15
    6
    2
See reviews for
53
179
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This is a stunningly-situated and lavishly-equipped hotel, as you'd expect for the price. But it also has a great boutique-y, arty feel, with the literary influence of Ian Fleming (who wrote all the James Bond books here) and the music influence of Chris Blackwell, of Island Records fame, whose project this is. Best of all are the people who work here - as meticulous and customer-focused as you'd want, with fantastic attention to detail - but most of all, fun, charming and delightful to have around.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MatthewParker70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

To celebrate our second wedding anniversary, we chose to stay at Goldeneye Resort. For us, in Florida, it was a quick plane trip to Jamaica. We hate big, mega resorts, which Jamaica has a lot of, but we found this gem and could not have been happier. There have been many recent travel magazine articles about this place and I knew we had to check it out. Fortunately, we got a great price on a lagoon suite (highly recommended) during a Jetsetter sale. For 5 days we spent our days paddleboarding, kayaking, swimming, and lounging in the sun. The property is stunning, the rooms are well designed (amazing outdoor shower!). Cool reggae/lounge music softly humming throughout the grounds. Everyone was so nice and inviting. Dane, our "wata" sports extraordinaire, even took us on a biking trip up to Firefly with fantastic views of the island. He also informed us that a local group was planning to release a group of baby sea turtles into the ocean at a nearby beach. He arranged transportation for the guests that were interested...an unbelievable experience! Very romantic place, but in a casual/hip setting!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thenuge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Goldeneye Resort was perfect for our honeymoon. We stayed here six nights and each one of them was magical. The Lagoon Suites are perfect, the rooms are incredibly well designed and your veranda on the lagoon is a great space to spend most of your time. The deep claw foot tub and outdoor showers were great. After looking at some of the beach front suites I would highly recommend that you stay in a lagoon suite. They are just a little more private and unique.

Overall I would highly recommend this resort. Their attention to detail with food, music and service was amazing. They really do a great job of capturing a classic and romantic vibe. I hope that I can get back to Goldeneye sooner rather than later.

Room Tip: Lagoon suites are great, we stayed in room 6, but room 4 seems to have the best veranda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chayler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Just returned from 5 days at GoldenEye. I can't even give a worthy description of how relaxed I feel. The property is gorgeous, the food is delicious, and atmosphere is sexy and seductive. We have traveled to a few other luxury resorts throughout the Caribbean, some of them we felt were extrememly overpriced for what they had to offer. We did not feel that way at GoldenEye. The food was so fresh and delicious. The people working the property were very nice and not too intrusive. The general manager welcomed us warmly. She obviously does a very good job managing the resort. The watersports were a very nice amenity, and taking an outdoor shower during an afternoon rain surrounded by tropical flora was exhiliarating. Afternoon yoga is something that shouldn't be missed. I had the pleasure of having my own personal instructor, as nobody showed up for class that day.

Only a couple negatives ~ we came in on a day that they were hosting a launch party for a fashion line and the party lasted into the wee hours of the morning. We were so tired from traveling that day and were both a bit frustrated that we couldnt sleep well because of the music. This really wasnt the fault of the resort, but had I have known I may have chosen a different day to arrive. Also my husband insisted we pick up beer for the long cab ride from the airport. We had several left and where disappointed to see that the refridgerator was not working in our room. Someone did try to fix it but it never did cool down. We probably could've made a bigger deal of it, but we didnt. My husband also paid a nice price for a 2 hour fishing trip along the coast and he caught nothing. Again, not the fault of the resort itself but he had commented that he wouldn't do that again.

GoldenEye was perfect and either met or exceeded our expectations in every way. We are already discussing a return trip for the two of us next year.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunworshipers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, FL
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Just returned from three nights with 2 other couples at this beautiful spot. We had a lagoon suite and it was really lovely. I loved having the dock at our door for a great kayak or SUP adventure any time of day. The beach was beautiful and private, the food was excellent, service was easy-going and great. Cool tunes are playing all the time. The spa was quiet and peaceful and I had an excellent massage and a lovely facial during my stay. It is fun to kayak over to the spa and be greeted with a peppermint foot bath.
We loved this place, it felt luxurious and exclusive, but also laid-back and cool. (A very famous sports star was there at the same time which added a lot to the cool factor)!
This is our third experience with an Island Outpost hotel in Jamaica and I don't think we will stay with any other outfit there.

Room Tip: Lagoon Suite number 8 had the largest bathroom and felt roomier due to the extra dock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bluehiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Just back from an amazing 4 day (too short) stay at Goldeneye. Having been to Jamaica many times in the past, I must say that this was one of the best experiences I have had there. From the friendly (but unintrusive and respectful) staff, to the gorgeous grounds and natural beauty that surrounds the whole area, it was totally first class. One of the things I was personally fascinated with was the unique history that surrounds this property, and having the opportunity to tour Ian Flemings original villa (which was unoccupied during the first part of our stay) was an added bonus. That, combined with a tour of nearby Firefly was like being briefly taken back into a very glamorous era...so nostalgic!!

The food and drinks were awesome...and if you like water sports, all of the equipment is right there and easy to access.

There is only one thing though...the town center of Orcabessa, although very small, is directly nearby, and the locals do like to get together and party Jamaican style - well into the night. The one thing that I wished might have been different was that if the early am noise level from this would have been a little less.

Other than that - Goldeneye is a special place and should not be missed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LaurenDFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oracabessa
8.7 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,294 reviews
58.9 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,340 reviews
70.1 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
61.8 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
9.0 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 35 in Ocho Rios
2,547 reviews
58.7 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GoldenEye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GoldenEye

Property: GoldenEye
Address: Oracabessa Bay, Oracabessa, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Mary Parish > Oracabessa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oracabessa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — GoldenEye 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GoldenEye Hotel & Resort overlooks the Caribbean Sea in the quiet village of Oracabessa Bay on Jamaica’s north coast. Named after one of Ian Fleming’s World War II missions, Operation GoldenEye, this Island Outpost property is owned by Chris Blackwell, Jamaica-raised founder of Island Records. The stunning 52-acre property is home to secret coves, breathtaking private beaches, tropical forests and a singular lagoon. There are 49 stand-alone Beach Huts, Lagoon Cottages and Beach and Lagoon Villas, as well as Fleming Villa, designed by Fleming, himself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your GoldenEye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldeneye Hotel Oracabessa
Goldeneye Hotel Ocho Rios
Goldeneye Resort Ocho Rios
GoldenEye Jamaica/Oracabessa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing