We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slum dog island living” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vagabonds - Koh Rong

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Koh Rong
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vagabonds - Koh Rong
Ranked #10 of 33 Koh Rong B&B and Inns
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Slum dog island living”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in Koh Rong, honestly the most hospitable friendly people iv met yet, always someone about to have a chat with! A lot of sharing is caring with recreational activities...rooms aren't great but if your a duo its livable, its proper island living, best not have any expectations! Cool people though, cheap drinks, nice food!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denise_cahill21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    12
    3
    3
    11
See reviews for
Families
0
10
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phnom penh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

The worst thing about this place is the lack of aircon! i was going to checkout and move to a place with aircon, but then i realised i was in paradise on an untouched island, and the only airconditioning on the island costs $100/night. This hostel provides services that a lot of places dont, for example there is a machette under every pillow and a guard dog by every bed, this is great because safety is important to me.

haha but seriously my only suggestion for Koh Rong is that if you are looking for something really nice, dont stay at the cheapest accomodation on the island in one of the late night bars.. because for a couple of dollars more you can stay in very nice places and then just visit vagabonds for a great time. I loved yoga every morning with the manager of the bar, fire poi with the owner, and singing along to acoustic guitar with one of the bar tenders. Hippie beach shack, if you're not into it dont stress, they'll have a good time with anyone that walks in. Thanks for the highlights of my trip Vagabonds and Koh Rong friends! :)

All personal preferences aside; If you're looking for a nice new quiet accomodation, try Dream Catch Inn. If you're looking for backpacker central, try Island Boys. if youre looking to meet interesting people on wild journeys, stay at Vagabonds.

Room Tip: they were making a new dorms upstairs.. maybe its nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

As my friends and I settled down for our night's 'sleep' at Vagabonds we couldn't help but laugh at this utter shambles of a 'hostel'. The soiled sheets, sandy beds and smell of dog would already be enough to warrant a "terrible" review on Trip Advisor. We then found the MACHETE. It was with initial shock followed by sheer terror that we found this weapon. Quite why it was in our room remained unclear but my exclamation that this room was "The Fourth World", which was overheard by one of the louts 'working' there, was enough to get us to moved to a slightly improved room. This new room was indeed weaponless but remained unbearably hot and in darkness. We fumbled around our room and managed to make it to sleep.
Upon waking up we heard of reports of a dog getting into one of the rooms downstairs. It appeared that the only other people staying in the hostel had experienced Vagabonds dark side too. Nevertheless we ate our free instant noodles and sat in the hostel's entrance watching the torrential rainfall. By afternoon time we were all very ready to leave and informed the hostel staff of our intentions. This rude, stoned lot claimed that we hadn't checked out early enough and would therefore have to pay 50% of a night's rent. There were no signs with a checkout time and clearly nobody else would be checking in. This was the final kick in the teeth from Vagabonds.
We paid up and left for the ferry feeling disappointed with our visit. We had hoped for two nights stay in a simple, clean hostel on the beautiful Koh Rong but had instead been subject to a night in a damp shed on stilts.
By all means visit Koh Rong; it really is a stunning island as yet untouched by the mad party scene of southern Thailand. However, DO NOT consider staying at Vagabonds. It truly is a dump.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Koh Rong hotels

Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

This is hands down the worst place I have ever stayed, and I've stayed in some dives in south east Asia

Problems:

1. The staff - all high as kites all day every day - do absolutely no work - move from one side of the bar to the other. All absolute wasters

2. The room. No sheets. Staff had clearly all been sleeping in there and all their stuff was still in there. Door didnt even shut let alone lock and there was a bowl of green stagnant water in the room. The walls also did not go up to the ceiling so got rained on in the night

3. One of the staffs dogs got into our bed at 4am. Absolutely terrifying, particularly as the electricity in the hostel goes out at midnight so we were in the pitch black trying to get this dog out who was growling at us. Eventually one of the hostel staff came, who was stoned to the high heavens and removed it.

4. We found a masheti under the mattress. Unnerving to say the least

5. No fans, no air con

6. Absolutely disgusting toilets an showers. There were 8 of us and no one showered because we decided we'd come out dirtier than we went in

7. Price - had to pay $5 for the pleasure of this hell hole. Pricey for Cambodia

We really should have realised it was a dive when no one had checked in for 8 days before us but thought we'd give it a chance

NEVER AGAIN

This place should be shut down - it's not fit for rats to live in

Stay at Cocos or island boys !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emelia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Rong hotels
0.0 mi away
Coconutbeach Bungalows
Coconutbeach Bungalows
#1 of 33 in Koh Rong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palm Beach Bungalow Resort
0.0 mi away
Sok San Beach Resort
Sok San Beach Resort
#2 of 33 in Koh Rong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Happy Elephant Guesthouse & Bungalows
0.0 mi away
White Beach Bungalows
White Beach Bungalows
#2 of 42 in Koh Rong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pura Vita Resort
Pura Vita Resort
#8 of 33 in Koh Rong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabonds - Koh Rong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabonds - Koh Rong

Property: Vagabonds - Koh Rong
Address: End of the Seahouse Pier | Koh Touch Village, Koh Rong 18205, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Koh Kong Province > Koh Rong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Rong
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing