We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rats and no sound isolation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Island Palace Bungalows and Guesthouse
Ranked #19 of 38 Koh Rong B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

It's overpriced (35 dollar) for this very very basic room,u can see into small hols to the other rooms and down, if somebody talk in a room 10m away u hear it and we also had rats in our room,its basically not isolated from the nature at all ether

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank bigdavus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 48 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2014

There seems to be a serious lack of information about what this place and island are like, so, here we go:

First, the island:

This is a party island, at least the east side of it is. I am ‘only’ 34 and I was in the top 3% of the oldest people on the island. The strip of hotels and bars on the east side are a prime backpacker destination, while the west side, though only 2-3 guesthouses, is where the real magic happens beach- and beauty-wise. So, if you’re an “old” lady like me, know that. You can always hike or take a boat to the west side, if you still want some nightlife, though. (I didn’t hike because I wasn’t feeling the jungle full of snakes vibe).

Music on hotel row starts at 8, gets louder at 10, and doesn’t stop til anywhere from 1 to 3 a.m. Ear plugs help.


Now the guesthouse:

* We stayed in a longhouse on the beach on the 2nd floor; there are a total of ten or so rooms in this big building up front (the bungalows are set behind on the hill). The top of the wall/ceilings are totally open and connected, so hope and pray you have courteous neighbors who don’t come home screaming and smoking at 3 a.m.

* Wifi did NOT work the 4 nights we were there, and electricity was sporadic, sometimes going off at 2 a.m., sometimes 11:30 pm. Kind of a bummer when that fan goes off, both for cooling and for white-noise :(

* Despite being relatively open to the elements, bugs were not a big problem in the room at all. We looked, no bed bugs to speak of (and my husband is pretty much a bed bug expert due to his work! I know, what a claim to fame, lol)

* Cold water shower, which was okay, but no sink, which was a little weird. I ended up liking it in the end, though, as there was a chest-high spigot you could easily wash your face in.

* While the staff was pleasant, they weren’t very present. Don’t expect too too much in the way of attention, if that’s something you need.

* We paid around $16 for the room; any more would have been criminal.

* The guesthouse is the VERY first one you encounter when coming off the pier (the slow-boat pier, at least), so that's great for those of us with a lot of luggage! By the way, the slow 2 hour ferry is pleasant, although it’s more pleasant when the waters are calm, lol.


Other suggestions:
*Food at Monkey Island up the beach (north) is absolutely fantastic. Their veggie sausages are some of the best in the world, as are the cute dogs in residence, and the staff is always fantastic. Great happy hour from 6-9, too.

*If you need a boat or a snorkeling or sunset tour, talk to Sun just 20 meters north of Monkey Island, with a stand on the beach under the pine trees. Tell him BJ & Lauren sent you.

*Your behavior: don’t be a dumb drunk, and don’t smoke in your room. 4 buildings just 3 doors down the beach straight up BURNT DOWN because of a dumb tourist on our 2nd morning. Having to pack and evacuate your hotel from a dead sleep at 6:30 a.m. because there is a raging inferno down the way is no fun (neither is losing your entire property and livelihood, I’d imagine).

All that said, Koh Rong is lovely, but know what you’re getting into. Have fun!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank QiDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

I admit I’m a bit older than most of the 18-25 year-olds staying at/around this hotel option. That said, it really is at the very center of the action on the beach and therefore is SUPER loud. It is right at the pier where you come in on the boat, so it’s easy to find when you arrive. The Guesthouse has only partial walls (the ceiling is open to the next room and the next room and the next)--so you can hear EVERY word of your neighbor and your neighbor’s neighbor. You are also only 1.5 meters from the guesthouse next door so you can hear everything going on there as well. The music goes until about 2am. Earplugs make it better, but it’s still loud. The bathroom is terrible--dirty and no sink. The wifi was probably the weakest connection on the island--almost never worked in our guesthouse room.

The staff are nice. I didn’t see the bungalows on the hill, but they might be more acceptable. I suppose for the $16/night in the guesthouse it’s not a terrible value but I’d definitely opt to spend a little more for something better next time.

I definitely recommend that the rooms have fire-extinguishers. There was a fire a few doors down at a different guesthouse and fire-extinguishers would have prevented the fire from spreading and completely burning down four guesthouses. Please buy a few extinguishers and mount them outside the rooms!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BJ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

We booked this place because koh rong has a deficit of nice accommodation at high season- it is also a haunt for very young backpackers and being a bit older the location was pretty dire as it's just behind the short bar and club strip which goes on until very late and plays music I'm surprised these kids even know.
It was massively overpriced at $44 for a twin bedded simple bungalow and the cleanliness was a little dubious as there were various mosquito kill stains on the bed sheets- oh and we didn't get a towel for that price either.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jessieso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

In months of backpacking this was by far my worst experience. Two words - bed bugs. Lots and lots of bed bugs.

This is the first time I have ever looked at a bed and been able to see bugs crawling all over it (not exclusively bed bugs).

I have stayed in many rustic places in Southeast Asia and Europe, but this was unlike anything I had previously seen.

On a positive note the staff was friendly, the rooms were large and the bathrooms were clean.

However, I would steer clear.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank DAW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed in the bungalows here and had a great experience. Great service and beautiful new bungalows... simple but equipped with everything needed. Great construction and right in front of ferry dock. Only minus on location is its not on beach... but the pricing more than makes up for that!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thGrassyKnoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

we stayed here for 3 nights and were very happy with our rooms, the view and the location. For $20 per night we got a gorgeous thatched hut bungalow on the hill with views across the water. There were two beds both with mosquito nets, cold water shower, comfy hammock and friendly staff. The only downside was that the rooms were not cleaned for our 3 day stay which was a bit disappointing. Would definitely recommend for a quiet and romantic spot in Koh Rong.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MelunBamboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Rong hotels
3.7 mi away
Coconutbeach Bungalows
Coconutbeach Bungalows
#1 of 38 in Koh Rong
244 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sok San Beach Resort
Sok San Beach Resort
#2 of 38 in Koh Rong
341 reviews
6.1 mi away
Palm Beach Bungalow Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Song Saa Private Island
Song Saa Private Island
#1 of 3 in Koh Rong
434 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Beach Bungalows
White Beach Bungalows
#2 of 44 in Koh Rong
160 reviews
0.0 mi away
Long Set Resort
Long Set Resort
#2 of 3 in Koh Rong
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Palace Bungalows and Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Palace Bungalows and Guesthouse

Address: Koh Touch Village, Koh Rong 18205, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Koh Kong Province > Koh Rong
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Rong
Price Range: $24 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Island Palace Bungalows and Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Palace Bungalows is a brand new family run guesthouse of the highest standard for Koh Rong, a developing tourist island. Koh Rong is said to be the last gem of the southeast Asian waters, so make sure you stay in luxury for your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Island Palace Bungalows and Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing