We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An unforgettable stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palm Beach Bungalow Resort
Ranked #3 of 35 Koh Rong B&B and Inns
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An unforgettable stay!”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed at Palm Beach for 4 nights and had an amazing time. The bungalows are basic but very clean, the food was great and the service was excellent. The owner Kevin was really friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Regarding the beach on the other side, when we went it was filthy and not worth the effort especially considering that the beaches in front of Palm Beach are lovely despite a few rocks! I would definitely recommend a stay here for anyone seeking a relaxing tropical paradise getaway and we very much look forward to going back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alysha_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    76
    31
    20
    15
See reviews for
29
129
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Simple, rustic BUT CLEAN! Woohoo! The staff is kind and helpful. It's quiet, lounge, walk around, swim, whatever you like. They offer gear for kayak, snorkel, volleyball, etc.
The ONLY downside is that the beach is a bit rocky but the water is calm, you can walk past the rocks and do so safely. Yes, there's trash on the other side but the staff keeps this place as clean as possible. You're in a 3rd-world country, deal with it. You have heard of everyone talking about the "other side" of the island and I would strongly advise to take the 2.5 hour trek with sunscreen and tennis shoes and your bathing suit underneath. You will indeed experience something that only your dream are made of.
The food at the bungalows can of course get a little dull since it's repetitive but there is also a little tiny grocery store nearby for snacks, fruits, drink and so on.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HabibiToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We booked this place based on past reviews and were surprised to find it to be pretty average - I think the reviews here speak too highly of it so wanted to provide some balance.

There are two types of bungalows, the older ones at the front and the newer ones built a distance behind (which we were in). What you get is based on luck. Some of the older ones at the front face the ocean, but are still quite far back... If you are used to the beach-front bungalows of thailand then you will be pretty disappointed. Our bungalow at the back had a view of... a green fence.

The bungalows themselves are really basic. Our bathroom had an open window with no way to close or cover it, which made us feel quite exposed. There are no fans in the bungalows, but electricity is available between 6:00pm - 11:00pm to charge your phone or use the lights.

All of the above would be forgivable if the beach itself was nice, but it's also quite average. Directly in front of the bungalow the beach is beautiful white sand, but the water is full of rocks and not really that good for swimming. Be very careful if you do go swimming, there are a few spiky sea urchin's living around the rocks which stung us and one other guy staying there.

Further down the beach from the bungalows is a bit less rocky, but unfortunately covered in rubbish. Up the other way there is only mangroves, but might be a nicer area to swim.

There are hammocks, beach chairs, and plenty of shade under the palm trees though which was nice. They also have kayaks and snorkelling gear you can borrow which was nice.

Another thing to note is that is Palm Beach is on a different side of the island to alot of the other bungalows you may have heard of (Treehouse, Monkey Island, Coco's, etc). This is nice if you want privacy, but can leave you feeling a bit isolated. Palm Beach operate their own boat to and from the mainland, so if you don't like it here your only choice is to return to Sihanoukville.

Because of it's isolation you'll be eating all your meals at their restaurant, which while a little pricy was really delicious. To give you a rough idea: Breakfast - $3.50 to $4, Lunch - $4 to $5, Dinner - $4 to $6.50. The servings were huge though, I think you could easily share almost all of them.

The local staff were really nice, but we found the owner to be quite rude. Never bothered to introduce himself, if you had to ask anything of him it feel like a big intrusion, generally he made us feel really unwelcome. Normally this is no big deal, and you can pack up and go somewhere else, but again - because of it's isolation, you can't.

In conclusion, despite a couple nice points, overall this place is really pretty average and I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank this-is-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is just perfect spot just in front of luxury Sang Saa Island. We went to hiking to another side of the island, the view is just so amazing. The food is just so good. It looks like i'm going there again soon.

The only problem for me as a local, food price is a bit expensive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nearirath s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

After a bit of homework on Koh Rong we booked with the Palm Beach Bungalows after speaking with Kevin, the manager. Super friendly, laid back and helpful. We stayed for 6 nights and it did take a little adjusting to the Koh Rong way of life. The choppy 2.5 hour ferry ride and 'simpler' way of life might be a little hard for those expecting a resort environment. Electricity only in the evening, no internet, no other restaurants other than Palm Beach and no other bungalows or hostels anywhere in sight. At first it was a bit daunting but we settled in very easily.

After hearing stories about partying and filthy beaches on other parts of the island, I was very glad to be staying at Palm Beach. It was very clean and all of the guests were laid back and respectful - not partying frat types.

You do have to prepare yourself for the natural habitat - bring bug repellant and be prepared to TUCK IN YOUR MOSQUITO NET fringes into the mattress at night, or you may be woken by curious insects.

Also, the main beach can be a bit rocky and hard on the feet- venture to the beaches on either side of the bungalows for much more sandy beaches. You will pretty much have the beaches to yourself except for a scatter of locals living there.

You can walk 1.5 hours to another beach which is also beautiful, just ask the staff how to get there, A nice way to spend the day if you are there for more than a couple of days. Also, to the north, tucked in behind the school, is a beautiful little village that is unspoiled by outsiders,

While Koh Rong and Palm Beach bungalows might not be for everyone, it is great if you are looking to experience a true island getaway in a place that has not yet been over developed. After having been to Thailand and Laos, we found exactly what we had been looking for in Koh Rong,

My only criticism would be that the food menu relies too heavily on western dishes - would like to see more Khmer dishes. The prices are not super cheap but not expensive. And the portions were huge. Perhaps two different price points for a small meal and a large meal would be also a good idea. Or if you are traveling with someone you can share some meals, as we did,

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the kitchen (they throw the garbage out back - welcoming flies) and if n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We loved it here. Made some great friends and stayed there double what we intended. The bungalows are basic but nice, some are more basic than others. Ones at the back are new and have flushing toilets but no furniture to put anything and ones at the front have sea views and plenty of shelves and tables to make yourself at home, but not flushing toilets. The beach is very pretty, lots of palm trees, white sand, but like most places it's not paradise due to rubbish that's washed ashore, but an effort is made to keep it clean. And from what I've heard it's much nicer than the beaches at the south of the island. The snorkeling isn't fantastic but there are some small fish to see and the bioluminescence at night is amazing. The owner, Kevin is great and some of the staff are lovely, we even got a hug when we left. They do need to be more explicit on the price of drinks and food. While you're there they keep a tab for your food and drinks. There isn't, or we weren't shown a drinks menu so ordered and just asked how much it was, often you were told a different price to what it actually was. The wine we were drinking for instance cost 2.50 a glass, but we were told 2.00. And, each evening they have a bbq for 6.50. What we weren't told is that if you ask for seconds from the leftovers you're charged 10.00. A drinks menu and clear pricing would really help. It's a relatively new place and so far has been sympathetic to its surroundings, I really hope that it stays that way.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heverlee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is the ideal place to relax and escape the noise or even for a honeymoon ;). Nice bungalows right on the beach and plenty of things to do (hiking, kajaking,..). All the meals are very big and good quality. The best chickenburger that I ever ate. The host, Kevin, is a reasonable, fair and helpful man. Really a great guy!

We loved it here and would recommend to stay at least 2 nights.

Marleen and Bram (Belgium)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WandelendeTak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Rong hotels
5.3 mi away
Coconutbeach Bungalows
Coconutbeach Bungalows
#1 of 35 in Koh Rong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sok San Beach Resort
Sok San Beach Resort
#2 of 35 in Koh Rong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.4 mi away
Song Saa Private Island
Song Saa Private Island
#1 of 2 in Koh Rong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Lonely Beach Koh Rong
Lonely Beach Koh Rong
#1 of 43 in Koh Rong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
5.3 mi away
Pura Vita Resort
Pura Vita Resort
#7 of 35 in Koh Rong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Long Set Resort
Long Set Resort
#2 of 2 in Koh Rong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Beach Bungalow Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Beach Bungalow Resort

Property: Palm Beach Bungalow Resort
Address: Preaek Svay, Koh Rong 18102, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Koh Kong Province > Koh Rong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Rong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palm Beach Bungalow Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best of both worlds, jungle and ocean sounds, quiet, relaxing, clean along with beach bar, good food and music and many activities like pool bar, darts, small boat tours, swimming, snorkeling, hiking, volleyball. Modern bungalows all on the beach with awesome views, a truly relaxing and fun filled experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Palm Beach Bungalow Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing