We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely secluded place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palm Beach Bungalow Resort
Ranked #3 of 35 Koh Rong B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely secluded place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights with the intention of just relaxing. It didnt disappoint, the bungalows are on a huge stretch of beach by itself other than a fishing village right down one end and a few huts locals live in right down the other end. The view from the huts is beautiful and it's so peaceful and quiet.

There's not anywhere to go for food other than a little shop on the pier if you can call it that, but even then the food an drink was really reasonably priced, the same prices main land. The sandwiches are the best I've had in SE Asia and the BBQ is to die for, if you go it's a must.

There is only electricity between 5:30pm and 11pm which isn't a problem somewhere so quiet and there isn't any wifi.

I'd definetly visit this place again the staff are so friendly and the surrounding were beautiful, the guys have everything you need! Only thing is the sand flies are friendly but get some good repellant and cream and you will be fine.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chelseamontanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    74
    31
    20
    15
See reviews for
28
124
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed 5 days and were absolutely happy with this place and the people running it! Kevin is very caring and friendly. All the staff was very nice and made our stay perfect. The food is excellent, especially the BBQ in the evening. It is not only pork and chicken, but also fish, shrimp, salads and freshly grilled bread. You can also get asian food and a good variety for breakfast! And it was always enough! The beach as well as the bungalows were clean and really beautiful! To make a long story short - definitely a place to recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed in Palm Beach for 4 nights and really enjoyed it. The resort is located on the east side of Koh Rong far away from other resorts. There are only locals living nearby (just a few hats and stilt houses near the pier). That’s why the place is very quiet and relaxing. The bungalows are very simple but big, comfortable and well maintained - in my opinion one of the best on the island. Definitely good value for money!!!
The restaurant is also very nice so is the food. You don’t have to stick to the menu. Just say what you want and they do their best to prepare it specially for you. Prices are reasonable – of course there are higher than on land but comparable or even lower than in other places on the island.
All the staff is very helpful – nothing to complain.
The only thing a little bit disappointing is the beach in front of the resort, especially when compared to the beach on the other side of the island (absolutely amazing: white sand, deep, clear & turquoise water). It is good to admire the view or take a walk but bad to swim (because of the rocks). The good news is, that if you turn left from the restaurant you can find beautiful and peaceful place to swim, especially for little children. It is a big, shallow lagoon with white sand and crystal clear water. It takes 5 minutes to get there but it’s hardly reachable from the shore. Actually there is no beach there but mangrove trees. We used to go there through water (starting from the pier). We loved that place!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bharatpur, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Koh Rong is an absolute gem and Palm Beach is the cherry on top. After the intensity of Siem Reap and Phnom Penn you have to visit Ko Rong and Palm Beach to chill out. Absolutly secluded, good food, friendly staff and very well ran. We really enjoyed our time here and will definitley go back in the future.

Through curiosity we looked at some of the other guesthouses and bungalows and nothing compares. Even though they may have a better location, they was dirty and badly run.

Awesome place a definite highlight from our travels.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonowibs1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We had a delightful four night stay here. Situated on the north east of Koh Rong beside Prek Sway village you are invited into paradise.
Palm Beach is a really professional outfit. We were collected by tuk tuk and taken to the pier to our private boat and given the same service on our return.

On the island the bungalows are large  family sized with two double beds, and a tiled bathroom. The electricity is on from 6-11. No hot water flows apart from when the pipes heat up in the sun though you'll find you rely on the cold water to cool you down. The beach has picture perfect azure waters and clear blue skies with palm trees offering shade under hammocks and sun chairs. Kayaks can be hired for $15 a day and all manner of beach equipment is at your disposal, we made great use of the snorkels, boules and inner tyres tubes for floating over the rocks with a cheeky beer in hand.

There is a 1.5 hour walk you can take over to Sok San beach which is a well recommended day trip to enjoy the fluffy sands over on the west side of Koh Rong. The walk can be a pest in the heat through jungle and open dust roads but you are rewarded with a Beautiful secluded beach and if you're lucky you can spot monkeys on the way.

We had such a wonderful time and would urge anybody wishing to get away from it all to go there. The resort has a superb chilled-out atmosphere and is great place to meet others. For $25 a night plus $20 boat return it's a good deal. All meals are available at the resort, we had the BBQ dinner most evenings for $6.50 it's excellent value and very filling. Drinks are decent prices considering our distance from the mainland, beers are $1.25 and spirit mix is $2.50.

Give Kevin a call and book it! (015485865 or e-mail palmbeachkohrong@gmail.com) You will love it. We've made friends and memories that will remain a highlight on our six month trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank misspickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed here for a week in december, our original plan was to stay just one night but we simply fell in love with the place.
Basic but nice (and extremely clean!) bungalows on a isolated part of the island with beautiful surroundings. Good food and really good hospitality.
Highly recommended if you want to escape the civilization for a couple of days!

Only negative would be that if you stay for a longer period of time the food can get a bit repetetive.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcusOlsson84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Level Contributor
69 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed here for just 2 nights on beautiful Koh Rong island and we're very happy with the experience. Boat left from mainland around mid-day, but all transport to the pier was organized before hand which was great. Also organized our transport for when we got back to the mainland and were really helpful when we called them from Kampot as we had some trouble with a lazy driver! From Sihanoukville, it was about a 3.5 hour boat ride, right up to the dock next to the resort. The beach is lovely, and aside from Song Saa Private Island across the way, you are the only resort on this corner of Koh Rong. Lots of nice beach lounging to be had--big porches on the bungalows, beach hammocks and loungers. They recently discovered a trail leading to the western side of the island and to a gorgeous, practically uninhabited white sand beach with crystal clear water. Made a day out of it with 4 other guests from the resort, as it's an easy, though albeit 1.5 hour walk--but well worth it. Had a really nice day getting to know some other guests. Both the owner, Kevin, and the barman, Rich, were super nice and very helpful. Both nights we had a beach BBQ which was delicious (their breakfasts were really good as well), and drinks were very well priced considering how far they have to transport them. Bungalows were spacious, very clean, cold showers, and our double bed was quite large with an ample mosquito net. All in all great value for what you pay. They had some issues with water buffalos stepping on water lines and cutting off the supply, but worked hard to fix them as quickly as possible. The power was on only from 5:30-11:00 (which is the same everywhere on the island), but I actually found the nights to be very pleasant and didn't need a fan. At the moment, Koh Rong island is a beautiful, relatively undeveloped gem just off the coast, and for as long as it remains so I would highly recommend a few nights stay and would definitely recommend Palm Beach Resort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KrisLizzy03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Rong hotels
5.3 mi away
Coconutbeach Bungalows
Coconutbeach Bungalows
#1 of 35 in Koh Rong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sok San Beach Resort
Sok San Beach Resort
#2 of 35 in Koh Rong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.4 mi away
Song Saa Private Island
Song Saa Private Island
#1 of 2 in Koh Rong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Lonely Beach Koh Rong
Lonely Beach Koh Rong
#1 of 41 in Koh Rong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
5.3 mi away
Pura Vita Resort
Pura Vita Resort
#7 of 35 in Koh Rong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Long Set Resort
Long Set Resort
#2 of 2 in Koh Rong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Beach Bungalow Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Beach Bungalow Resort

Property: Palm Beach Bungalow Resort
Address: Preaek Svay, Koh Rong 18102, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Koh Kong Province > Koh Rong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Rong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palm Beach Bungalow Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best of both worlds, jungle and ocean sounds, quiet, relaxing, clean along with beach bar, good food and music and many activities like pool bar, darts, small boat tours, swimming, snorkeling, hiking, volleyball. Modern bungalows all on the beach with awesome views, a truly relaxing and fun filled experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Palm Beach Bungalow Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing