We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect escape..” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lonely Beach Koh Rong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lonely Beach Koh Rong
Certificate of Excellence
Stuttgart
1 review
“The perfect escape..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Lonely Beach is the perfect getaway from hectic Cambodian city life. We had a really good and relaxing time there. Bungalows are simple but perfectly fine - you're only in there for sleeping anyways. They are equipped with solar powered electric light and a "semi-outdoor" bathroom with a toilet and Cambodian style shower (a bucket and a basin filled with clean fresh water from a nearby well) .. we got used to it very quickly and thought it was a fun experience. The owners, two French and German guys, are super friendly. Given the small number of bungalows, you have the beach almost to yourself - a nice and clean stretch of white sand with chrystal clear water - just fantastic! They also offer inexpensive snorkeling at a nearby reef which we really enjoyed. Food was delicious and the restaurant was a nice place to hang out and chat in the evening. Definitely recommended!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spaghettibolognese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    40
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
18
109
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed here last year and was one on the highlights of my trip. Great if you want to get away from everyone and have your own slice of paradise. The owners were lovely people and cooked amazing food - Hope I get to go back one day :-)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canvey85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

This place is exactly what it says on the tin - a lonely beach with basic yet clean and comfortable bungalows. It takes approx 3 hours by boat from Sihanoukville, they offer there own collection service (for a charge). If you are after parties and loud music it wont be found here, however if instead you want somewhere stunning to chill out and aren’t bothered about fancy surroundings this is just the place to come to.

The beach itself is probably one of the most stunning I have seen. Clear water and soft white sands - regularly cleared by the team at lonely beach!

Bungalows - yes they are basic, bed, mossie net and a light bulb (ensuite with a toilet / traditional shower i.e. no flushing / and cold water cold!) however perfect place to relax after a day on the beach.

The central bungalow where you can buy food and beers is also a great place to chat with other travellers and the owners Dani and Yogi (who again are very friendly!) - they also allow you to charge up your phones / cameras here if you need them.

If staying here I would recommend the larger bungalow (even if there are only 2 of you) as the small ones are exactly that - small and not much space / shelf areas for bags etc! Also try getting one closer to the beach so you can enjoy some of the breeze from the ocean.

I would highly recommend this place to anyone planning a trip to Koh Rong - it’s a great spot if you want to unwind and just forget about the world this is the place for you. I only hope it is still there if we ever return to this part of Cambodia - I understand the island has been carved up amongst developers and it’s only a matter of time before this relatively inexpensive peace of paradise is turned into another unaffordable resort :(

Room Tip: ask for a room near the ocean and also go for a larger bungalow if there are 2 of you travelling, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellingPocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

I think that most of the reviews have said all there is to say about this place. It takes 3.5 hours to get here. We were delayed leaving Sihanoukville because of a storm and the captain refused to sail until it had passed. There is no jetty on arrival you have to climb into a small boat to get to shore. Others have mentioned that your bags can get wet. I just put plastic around the inside so no problem. You are then in paradise. You are shown to your bungalow which as others have said is very basic but you have come to Lonely beach not the Ritz. Dani is a lovely Frenchman who explains to much about the place. He brings in provisions each time he brings in more guests or goes to the little village not too far away across the island. Food was very good. We had fresh prawns and fish with rice on our first night washed down by beer. You fill in what you eat each day with the prices and it is all added up when you leave. It is an experience that I would not have missed for the world. We gave Dani a lift in our Tuk Tuk to the market because on our way back he realised he had forgotten his motorbike keys. Thanks Dani for a wonderful time.

Room Tip: All rooms are situated in a very similar area with views of the sea but we had the larger bungalow w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula191278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

I and my friend (both 23) spend 5 nights on Lonely Beach after feeling like needing a rest. When we were arriving after a long but scenic boat ride in a typical Cambodian little fisher boat, we were expecting not too much from Koh Rong, after speaking to some other travelers in Sihanoukville earlier. But when we arrived we were simply amazed. While most hostels are on a crowded site of Koh Rong the lonely beach "resort" lies on a very lonely approximately 1.5 mile long beach. The closest place is a village of locals living within a 40min foot walk.
The beach is just beautiful, wide and silent and very clean! Don't expect to meet many people as the resort only has I guess 14, beds. We were staying in the dorm which basically is a place on pillars with a roof and a mosquito net over each bed. It was an amazing experience to sleep right at the border of the jungle with all these animals quaking and chirping and to be woken up by a gecko. The "bathroom" was a simple but clean separated room where you could take a shower from the water bucket. Don't expect western standards. Everything has to be brought to the Island! There is thanks to the lord no WIFI. You can charge your mobile during daytime from solar panels, but should be prepared to read or play chess in the early night, as electricity is needed for light.
Dinnertime always was one of my favorite activities during the day. I don’t see why some people complain about prices, as dinner was always very fresh and delicious. Dishes were ranging from 5-8$ and where simply awesome. If you compare what you get for 8$ in Shianoukville the food was keeping in mind that you are on an island cheap. Tiger Prawns, Kings Crabs, or the red Snapper, they were all caught freshly the same day and cooked deliciously with lots of garlic. Plus, I like restaurants where the staff eats same stuff with you ;) They also had vegetarian food and there was even a family with two little girls (2 years; 6 month!!!), who felt comfortable. During day, you could wander around, try to harvest coconuts from the palms or swim in the turquois blue ocean.
This place is ideal for people, who just want to have a rest, couples and people who don’t need lots of party around them. Bring Books and Sunscreen and you will have a good time. Thanks to our great hosts Alex, Juri and Dany for sharing their piece in paradise with us!
Best regards Robert und Jan
PS: Just to get one thing straight: Whoever said the island is expensive is not right. We were having in average 3 Full meals plus water and some soda a day, sleeping in a dorm and paid around $30 a day. How long would you voluntary work to spend one entire day in paradise? I having an average paid student job was able to trade two hours of working vs. 1 day in Paradise. DEAL!!!!

Room Tip: Dorms are fine! If you need more privacy get a bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Harjumaa, Estonia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

They have their own boat which takes 3h15min to get there. 2 ways boat costs 40$ and bungalow is 20$ for a night. Very remote beach, only 3 or 4 bungalows and when I stayed there there were 4 other guests.

Rooms are very basic, no fan/air-con. You have 2 light bulbs which are solar powered :) You can do snorkling all day, since the bottom on sea is very nice there. Tons of fish.

Restaurant and people good as well.

Overall very good experience on the Lonely Beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaagup T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Complete castaway!
We stopped here for 4 nights in April and it takes 3 hours or so to get to the island and they have their own boat which will take you there.

The beach and surrounding areas are immaculate, no rubbish on the beach or in the sea, they rake the sand daily so that the sand flies can't breed so it's only the mozzies that are a problem and there's not many of them knocking about either!

They have a nice central hut which is where you get your meals, water, beer etc... the girls do a real good job of cooking the food, always good portions and really tasteful.

Because this is exactly as they describe it 'Lonely Beach' you get a real castaway feel and there wasn't many guests when we stayed so we had the place virtually to ourselves! 1km of pure beach and see to ourselves!

Onto the bungalows and lets get this out of the way first, the bungalows are very basic do not be expecting plug sockets, plastered walls and running water...You aren't going to get it! There's nothing wrong with the bungalows they are well built, solid floors and walls, good bed with a mozzie net with no holes in it but that's all you get! The private bathrooms are a western toilet with a traditional Cambodian shower which is basically a well with fresh water which you pour over yourself with a bucket, there is no running water just fresh cold water.

Whilst it was very basic, it was like camping and if you are looking for a isolated please with the most perfect beach and no tourists then this is exactly where you want to go! We are so glad we didn't go to one of the party beaches, whilst they may have more moden bungalows you don't get the 'castaway' experience on the best beach I've been to in my life.

If you like camping, you want to be 'castaway' then there's only one place to go Lonely beach! It was amazing!

Room Tip: Get the larger bungalow if it's available for $30 a night, the $20 bungalow was a little to smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeefOfYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Rong hotels
7.4 mi away
Coconutbeach Bungalows
Coconutbeach Bungalows
#1 of 34 in Koh Rong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
4.4 mi away
Sok San Beach Resort
Sok San Beach Resort
#2 of 34 in Koh Rong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
2.5 mi away
Song Saa Private Island
Song Saa Private Island
#1 of 2 in Koh Rong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Palm Beach Bungalow Resort
7.7 mi away
White Beach Bungalows
White Beach Bungalows
#3 of 42 in Koh Rong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
7.7 mi away
Paradise Bungalows
Paradise Bungalows
#2 of 42 in Koh Rong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lonely Beach Koh Rong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lonely Beach Koh Rong

Property: Lonely Beach Koh Rong
Address: Koh Rong 18000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Koh Kong Province > Koh Rong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Koh Rong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lonely Beach is your unique opportunity to experience true beach life. We're situated in a remote bay in the North of Koh Rong, miles away from the party beach in the South. It is so remote, that you can reach us only by the Lonely Beach boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lonely Beach Koh Rong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing