We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never come back again”
Review of Paradise Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paradise Bungalows
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed at this bungalow in the beginning of October. We know it was a peak season but what we experienced made us very disappointed. The restaurant area smelled of dogs, who pee and poo anywhere they want. The staffs and the owner never noticed the mess of the dogs. In the room, the pillows smelled of mould. We had a serious water leaking from the ceiling during the night. One bed was totally wet with rain. They provide useless wool towels not cotton ones. The room was never cleaned during our 4 nights' stay. We had to ask to have washed towels, which were made of wool!
The only good point was that a waiter in the restaurant was very attentive and had a great skill of guest relations. That's all.

Room Tip: Don't expect a lot at this bungalow. Better bring your cotton towels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tsuxagai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 508 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We had a awesome time in rudis bungalows. The rooms, the food and the service were excellent. Especially the restaurant lounge is such a great place to relax, enjoy conversations or eat something delicious. Thanks as well to rudis friend thron, who helped us to organize the further trip through cambodia!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swisschrisontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

My girlfriend and I had a very enjoyable stay at Paradise Bungalows. One caveat - and it's a big one - if you're looking for a five-star "resort" kind of stay, you're not going to get it here. Better off heading to more developed beaches/islands for that sort of experience. But if you're looking for an incredible beach vacation that's quiet, and where your lodgings are rustic and just footsteps from a gorgeous beach, you'll have a fantastic stay.

As others have mentioned, the food is quite good and the menu extensive, catering to those looking for Khmer as well as Western options. The waitstaff are extremely friendly and attentive. (The headwaiter Mr. Sohn and his colleague Vina are real treasures!)

The beach out front of Paradise is, as you can imagine, quite beautiful and perfect for lounging. It's far enough away from the more boisterous areas down the beach, but still within walking distance to Koh Rong's restaurants and bars during the evening. However, be aware that depending on the season, there are sand flies that can leave quite a few bites. We were there in early October for about five days and the cumulative effect of these insects can be irksome to say the least (other reviewers may have attributed these bites to bed bugs, which we certainly didn't have in our bungalow).

Lastly, Rudy is a hands-on and very affable proprietor. He's a great conversationalist and has a very interesting story - happy to see his business doing well and recommend chatting with him during your stay.

All in all, a very good stay at a fantastic location. Again, if you're looking for an established, "resort" feel - then head elsewhere. But if you want to listen to the waves crash while enjoying a glass of wine with sand on your feet while looking up at the moon from your porch - then you'll enjoy it here.

Room Tip: The bungalow we stayed in, "Beach 5," is situated on the beach, about 20 yards from the br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jhel3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed here with my husband. Unfortunately, we paid in advance from the booking office in Sihanoukville without visiting first. With this, would advise to others, particularly in low season when demand isn't too high, to take the boat first, view and haggle properties in person - that way you know what you're getting - there's plenty to choose from that don't yet make an appearance on Trip Advisor.

Price: we walked past many other bungalows en route to Paradise B's, ranging from $5-20pn, so were a bit miffed that we were paying $40pn (for a thatched bungalow with outside shower), but admittedly, they were closer to the busy pier which wasn't such an attractive option for us.

Bungalows/ room: open bamboo/ palm branch structure. In itself, this was fine but not impressive. We would have expected for the price, some form of protection provided against the insects at night (sealed walls, windows, incense, plugs, spray). We only had a mosquito net that didn't touch the floor on either side, so woke up very bitten. Electricity comes on at 6pm, but the huts are too dark to see your way around after 5pm. Would help when power does come on, not to have such red lantern shades as couldn't see a thing and had to use our head torches all night. Bed was comfortable, sheets clean and we had a fan all night powered by a generator. No towels provided unless you request and they're not substantial (small and water resistant) so take your own. Outside bathroom is basic but fine. No toilet paper, no hot water, very poor lighting (can't see your reflection in the mirror, even with 'lighting' after 5pm) lots of bugs. All fine but would have expected more for $40pn.

Staff: Friendly, especially the principle waiter in the restaurant - very helpful and informative.

Location: a 15 minute walk along the shore from the pier. Easy walk; far enough for some serenity away from the busy pier and bars, but close enough you can still frequent them in the evenings, should you wish. Beautiful shoreline and clean beach.

Paradise bungalows restaurant/bar: excellent. Contrary to the shabby, poor quality of the bungalows, the bar itself is really substantial and beautifully decked out. Food is good (breakfast particularly so) and prices are a little higher than average on the island, but reasonable given the location and ambience of the bar. Definitely worth a visit for drink or dinner, if you're not staying here.

Overall, these bungalows were fine, but versus others we've found on the island, are charging over what they provide. Wouldn't have minded the shortcomings, for half the price paid. Definitely recommend the restaurant/ bar but there are far better, more affordable lodgings on the island.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LettsieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

we were the unlucky one to choose to stay there. Very unpleasant stay, my bf got the bites all over his body. the management said they have bed bugs at other bungalow before not the one we are staying so she dint know about it. But get bitten by bed bugs really a disaster for our vacation.

Room Tip: Hillside is better, not crowded but to make the way up to the hillside and going down to the beach i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank myys86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

After looking at many of options to stay on the island we thought we would splash out (in Asia term's) and book with paradise. There prices started at $35 a night. Looking at reviews it looked really good. Initial check in wasn't that welcoming at all, then we check out our room. We have spent the last 6 months backpacking in 3rd world country's and never have we had sheets we couldn't stand to sleep in! They were discussing!! This is a pretty basic and simple thing. The room had a massive hole where some one could reach In and unlock the door while you were sleeping, there was a giant termite nest on the roof above your heads that if it fell would deff cause injury! We had the bungalow right up the back, the night was spent listening to the rumble of the generator, there was no beach sound!!
I don't know how they justify the pricing for a start, then why should you pay the same as some one lower down????
The common area was nice, except at times there was 10 wet dogs hanging around, this is where you eat your food!! Some areas stunk like dog urine.
The food was all and all pretty good.

When it was new, I think it would have pretty good, I think they are just milking it and not putting anything back into it. Massive lack of basic maintenance!

Massive disappointment!!!

Rooms starting from $35 is far too much for this accommodation.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Davie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We spent 5 nights in Paradise Bungalows on Koh Rong and had an amazing and relaxing time on this beautiful island! Beautiful arrangement, awesome beach and very nice and helpful staff!!

Operated in a sustainable manner (water re-filling, no sewage water goes into the sea) Paradise Bungalows is the best place to stay on Koh Rong if you want to help the island to stay clean!

Especially we recommend the tours with Gil who not only showed us the jungle but also explained things going on on Koh Rong! Thank you very much for the really interesting and comfortable trip!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saschaheckmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Rong hotels
0.1 mi away
White Beach Bungalows
White Beach Bungalows
#2 of 44 in Koh Rong
160 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sok San Beach Resort
Sok San Beach Resort
#2 of 38 in Koh Rong
342 reviews
3.4 mi away
Coconutbeach Bungalows
Coconutbeach Bungalows
#1 of 38 in Koh Rong
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Nest Beach Club
Nest Beach Club
#3 of 44 in Koh Rong
54 reviews
7.7 mi away
Lonely Beach Koh Rong
Lonely Beach Koh Rong
#1 of 44 in Koh Rong
247 reviews
1.3 mi away
Coral Resort (By Reef Resort)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Bungalows

Address: Tui Beach | Sihanoukville, Koh Rong 18000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Koh Kong Province > Koh Rong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Koh Rong
Price Range: $28 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Bungalows, set in the hills of a pristine and quiet island, is western managed with continuous dedication to the perfect holiday getaway. We have a nature-oriented resort of 20 Bungalows amid the lush vegetation of Koh Rong. Local and natural materials are the central features of our venue, making a natural island Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Paradise Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Bungalows Hotel Koh Rong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing