We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Paradise Bungalows
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Long Set Resort(Koh Rong)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Song Saa Private Island(Koh Rong)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Lazy Beach(Koh Rong Samloem)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queenco Hotel & Casino(Sihanoukville)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Villa Zentao(Sihanoukville)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (522)
Filter reviews
522 results
Traveler rating
172
126
108
60
56
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
126
108
60
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstone bungalowrestaurant areaoutdoor bathroombeach frontnice bungalowsbeach bungalowparty arealocal staffbeautiful islandmonkey republiclaid backdouble bedspent nightssmall islandremote islandplace is greatcold water
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
248 - 253 of 522 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Love this place! You must go! The best place to stay on this island. Backpacker paradise with class...not a grungy place ...I loved the staff and food ...I cannot say enough nice things about my first experience in Cambodia here...HUGE KUDOS!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was the most recommended place on the island, and I have to agree that its the best place to stay to experience this nice island of Koh Rong. From the moment you walk up the hill to the property ( note,,this is a place for backpacks...having a suitcase is not a good idea traveling thru southeast asia! boats, buses, lugging your suitcase through the sand, you have been warned! ) the place is beautiful. amazing restaurant is the first thing you will be greeted with. Open air, with lots of comfy hang out boots and lounge mats...great vibe! The music is good too, I think the friendly owner, Rudy picks it out, hes a very nice interesting fellow if you get a chance to chat with him!
The staff is a little hit and miss...not unfriendly, just very busy, and its hard for them to keep up with the busy stream of customers. This place has the best restaurant on the island, and everyone from the other bungalows comes by too. so get there early if you want a spot for dinner!
The food is great, and a great drink and wine selection...but wheres the BBQ? on a island full of great seafood, they should add BBQ fish to their menu! Things shut down early, lights out at 10 pm, so you will have to party somewhere else. So onto our bungalow...well, we definitely got one of the older " rustic" ones. It was farther up the hill, and it was run down, with lots of termites having their feast on the untreated wood, there was a huge termite mound in the corner ceiling. Lots of spaces in the walls for bugs to join you , and kind of a ramshackle style way it was put together. very basic. The water was only a few hours a day, which I get and understand, you just have to time your showers! Now there are some much nicer bungalows down on the beach, but they are pricey...over $60 a night, and a lot for the backpacker crowd, so those were taken by the older cliental, and the families looking for more comfort. Overall this is a cool place, you get what you pay for,,it you want and don't mind basic, then you wont mind the "older" bungalows up the hill like the one we stayed in,..maybe they aren't all the same? there is no hammock on these, and they could use one, the benches are hard on the deck. Definitely go to the restaurant and enjoy a meal or two, say hi to Rudy, and enjoy this special island.

Room Tip: go for one of the beach ones if its in your budget..they looked very nice!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elizacass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We were really pleasantly surprised by the brand-new bungalow for $40 a night (apparently we are the first people to stay in it) - flush toilet and running water in the outdoor shower!

However, the roof doesn't quite cover enough of the parts of the bathroom that need to be covered and you WILL get wet if you try to pee while it's raining. The leaves that come over the roof also make it so that it's difficult for anyone bigger than a child to stand directly in front of the sink. There is also a lack of a side table by the bed which would be helpful for things you want to charge and not step on in the morning. Otherwise it is a very beautiful place to stay if it were sunny :)

Paradise is the last set of housing before you get to the end of the beach, but the beach itself isn't very long at all so it is a convenient walk to the village. It is definitely worth the walk and the beach is much cleaner here too. A water buffalo can also be spotted around from time to time. Generator runs from 6pm to 6am, the food is second best on the island next to the $1 noodle soups in the village and their communal area is designed with introverted wine sippers and book readers in mind.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Esther T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

This is undoubtedly the best place to stay on koh rong.

The staff are really friendly and helpful, especially the owner who always made an effort to make you feel welcome and come over to chat.

Also paradise bungalows in situated in a great location right on the beach.

My favourite aspect of this place however is the chilled and stylish communal area where on can have fantastic food or just chill out and take in the beautiful view

Whilst the rooms here are basic they are the best you will find on koh rong and you just have to embrace the beach bum lifestyle!

Overall: very good.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mushis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We did extensive research to find the perfect place on the island for our honeymoon and this definitely seemed like one of the better places. It's far away from the party zone near the docks, very quiet. We were there in low season and at times had the entire beach to ourselves. There is currently nothing built on one side of the property so it's just a large section of beach that is beautiful and empty.

Swimming is just perfect, clear, clean, bathtub warm water with a view to die for. If you want that kind of postcard, quiet beach experience this is where you want to be.

People have complained about the staff, but we didn't have any problems with them. Overall I find the service in many Cambodian establishments we stayed to be absurdly high and old school, and at Paradise I found the service to be relaxed and casual. Sometimes we waited a while for food, but they cook everything from scratch to order and sometimes it just takes a bit.
The staff seem to be mostly from the village on the other side of the island, so they probably don't have the same kind of hospitality training that you might find elsewhere. I'm not saying that other people don't have legitimate beefs with how they were treated, just that we didn't have any issues with the service.

Make no mistake, Paradise is rustic, though I think YMMV depending on the cabin you get. We had a beach front cabin, it felt insecure with just a padlock on the door but after a day we realized nobody would be breaking in (it just doesn't seem like that kind of island). The outdoor shower seemed like a good idea at the time of booking, but I found it a bit hard to get a good shower, it was more of a quick rinse off.

You will get bugs, specifically ants. There will be lizards of varying sizes in and outside of your room. If this makes you uncomfortable don't stay here. It is also very hot, the fan can run from 6pm-6am when the power gets shut off for the day and it is definitely needed. Both the bugs and the lack of electricity are par for the course with this kind of undeveloped island so it is not a complaint about Paradise Bungalows, just a statement of fact you should know about ahead of time.

The mixed drinks are EXCELLENT, the food is pretty good. Not amazing, but not bad either. We also ate at Treehouse for their wood fired pizzas (pretty good!) and Co Co's for their barbecue (also pretty good).

The property could use a bit of maintenance, in general as another reviewer mentioned the gardening seems a bit like a work in progress. Also, it would be wonderful if they invested in some beach furniture like the big round cushioned chairs at other places, or some nicer beach beds to lie on. Currently there were only 4 wooden beds which weren't terribly comfortable. Unless you are in one of the beach front rooms you don't really have options to lounge around unless you want to lie on the sand.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ElizabethMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews