We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite location so far - booked in for 2 nights and stayed for 6!”
Review of Paradise Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Paradise Bungalows
Reviewed May 25, 2011

We were a little unsure of what to expect when we arrived on Koh Rong Island, but we were not disappointed when we arrived at the Paradise bungalows. We decided to "splurge" and went for the beach front room which was just amazing. There was only 2 of us but the room could sleep 4. We have stayed in some beach bungalows on our travels and these are by far the best with good construction and decent bathrooms (a definite plus!).

Yeah the rooms were basic, but you are on a little developed Island so it is nice not to be staying in a highly developed resort! The beach was right on our door step and we lounged about every day.

The restaurant is beautiful place - Rudy the owner is more than happy for you to hang out there during the day and relax and read your book so it is a nice common space as well as a restaurant. The food is a little more expensive, but great quality and really tasty. Also there are other options on the Island if you wanted to eat elsewhere - it is nice there is no pressure for you to eat here everyday.

We booked in for 2 nights and as soon as we arrived we knew we would stay longer. We will be back to Koh Rong and we will stay at Paradise again.

If you are looking for resort luxury then Koh Rong Island is not for you, if you dont mind a bit of nature then come here - it is truly beautiful and Paradise bungalows are great!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loopooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (517)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 517 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2011

As we pulled up to Koh rong island I saw some beautiful bungalows perched on a hill I turned to my partner and said I hope we are staying there, and we were. We had booked a small bungalow and when we arrived we were upgraded to a large bungalow with the most spectacular view, it even had a lovely seating area on the balcony. Best island bungalow we have had so far! We found the restaurant the coolest place on the island, it's built on a hill without walls so it always gets a great breeze and beautiful view of the ocean. The food was wonderful we were a little surprised at the cost but it was worth it. You gotta try the mango and chicken wrap with home made crisps. YUM! After exploring the island we were glade that we choose paradise bungalows as it really is the best place to stay on the island.
Also if you go make sure you head out for a swim at night we swam with phosphorescence and it was one of the most amazing things we have ever seen!!!

Room Tip: Book in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TripMember08312015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

If you're over 30 and over the notion of smoking spliff from dawn till dusk, Paradise is likely to be anything but. The bungalows are fine, the food not bad at all but it's a place where teens/gap years/post Uni travellers come to get caned first and foremost. It's noisy (music played constantly) and far from being a peaceful idyll. we managed two nights before escaping to the far more tranquil Treetops round the corner, where the service is great, the rooms lovely and the beach secluded.

Room Tip: Go next door to Treetops
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank sallyTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2011

We booked to stay at tree house but after the first night of horrible service and dirty bungalows we went to check out monkey island and paradise. We decided on paradise, being female the bathroom sold us, it was enclosed with a sink which the other two didnt have. The room had two double beds, the deck had two benches with padded cushions overlooking the ocean for $30, the same room at monkey was $25.. But it would of been noisier and more backpackers around. Paradises restaurant was good, service was great and the manager was always on duty willing to help. He was Cambodian as were all he staff I saw. Unlike monkey island they offer table service. I didn't sleep well on the island it was hot and the sounds of nature were loud. A mouse crawled around the room at night. The day is what makes this place worth it. Gorgeous secluded beaches that you will not find on shinaukville. No hecklers only a few ppl on the beach, it was one of the most relaxing days of my life! I ate at monkey island more because of their food specials and their service is great two the western manager was around ensuring customers were happy.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

We stayed in The Paradise Bungalows and loved living the life of Robinson Crusoe for a few days. The bungalows, although very basic were just the job. You were joined by various room mates over night (rodents, bugs, frogs etc!), but that was part of its charm. The island and beach are stunning, enjoy the quiet while you can. Our only complaint was the dreadful service, the owner was rude to us on many occasions, and seemed more interested in getting stoned than helping anyone and unfortunately this attitude fed down through the local staff who looked thoroughly miserable at all times. We gave up and ate at the neighbouring Monkey Republic who were a breath of fresh air, if we were lucky enough to return, we'd stay there.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Diddyblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

Charming bungalows cut into the hillside and made from the trees that were clear-felled from the forest. Very basic with only a light inside, a light in the bathroom and a light on the porch - 2 from 3 of our rooms lights didn't work. The absolute unique, lovely selling point of this place is by sheer accident. The power goes off from the generator in the village at 10pm, which means it is just you and the sound of the sea and the wind in the trees.

The islands of Thailand were overrun with hippies by the early eighties (or so I have been told by older hip friends). The Paradise bungalows on Koh Rong offer the chilled atmosphere of Koh Phanang and Koh Tao before the flash packer brigade arrived in the late nineties. The prices are not super. $25 for a bungalow wedged in behind the main restaurant. Not so nice because you can hear your neighbors everything, about $12 too much. The $30 double + bungalows were better because they stood on the hill away from the main recreation area. But really $30 is a about $7 too much. I have not doubt that this island will be totally overrun by developers in the near future, so get in there and enjoy it while you can. There is only the 3 places set up for foreigners. Kind of cartel like in that Paradise (owned by a Dutchman) , Monkey Republic (maybe also the Dutchman) and The Treehouse Bungalows definitely share control of the accommodation services on the beach. I guess they can set their prices without competition.

One last point; be careful not to do any scuba lessons with a beach entry from the pier. The toilets flush directly into the sea and we saw some unlucky learners swimming with the infamous pooh-fish.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BandBreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, traveled with friends
Thank tsk2602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Rong hotels
0.1 mi away
White Beach Bungalows
White Beach Bungalows
#2 of 46 in Koh Rong
189 reviews
3.4 mi away
Coconutbeach Bungalows
Coconutbeach Bungalows
#1 of 41 in Koh Rong
279 reviews
1.1 mi away
Long Set Resort
Long Set Resort
#2 of 4 in Koh Rong
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Sok San Beach Resort
Sok San Beach Resort
#2 of 41 in Koh Rong
408 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nest Beach Club
Nest Beach Club
#3 of 46 in Koh Rong
62 reviews
6 mi away
Palm Beach Bungalow Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Bungalows

Address: Tui Beach | Sihanoukville, Koh Rong 18000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Koh Kong Province > Koh Rong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Koh Rong
Price Range: $33 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Bungalows, set in the hills of a pristine and quiet island, is western managed with continuous dedication to the perfect holiday getaway. We have a nature-oriented resort of 20 Bungalows amid the lush vegetation of Koh Rong. Local and natural materials are the central features of our venue, making a natural island Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Paradise Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Bungalows Hotel Koh Rong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing