We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Upana Caves”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Upana Caves

Upana Caves
Attraction details
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Upana Caves”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

If we had not had the chance meeting with a friendly local who acted as a very helpful guide, we would not braved exploring the Main Cave. It appeared very scary. It had a low entrance.But once it was explained by the very nice lady that this low ceiling was only for a very short distance and then the cave opened up again, we were able to enter being led by the lady, herself. The brochure we received from the visitor centre was good of the trail to the caves but needed more explanation of what to expect upon entering

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank April U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    7
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peachland, BC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Upana Caves”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Upana Caves would be a great site to explore if the caves were better marked. We found the site map confusing since distances were hard to judge and the signage was missing on the trails. The caves themselves are relatively small, but interesting - especially if you do not mind scooting on your bottom.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank PicTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold River, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Upana Caves”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

always an awesome trip. 17 km from Gold River on a logging road, but undeveloped, other than the trail down and totally accessible for most family members.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank strevis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

This is by far one of the best non-tourist-y caves I've been in. It is quite a large system with water running through it and many entrances. We found this cave system to be quite fun to traverse and entertaining to be in. Highly recommended for all.

The last time I was here the wooden stairway leading to the main entrance was unsafe and marked off (we ignored it) but that has probably been fixed by now.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerwin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver B.C.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Awsome sidetrip if you are going to gold river, great for kids and kids at heart”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

This was a total hidden gem, i used bicycle helmets and simple flashlights, there was a cool underwater pool and some really neat formations. Loved it.

It was easy going and simple to find and follow. Must do if you are in area, more of a sidetrip than a destination spot.

Visited August 2010
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam_Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Upana Caves also viewed

Gold River, Vancouver Island
 
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
Gold River, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Upana Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing