We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly place for a cyclists bacon buttie”
Review of the Granary Cafe-Bar-Bistro - CLOSED

the Granary Cafe-Bar-Bistro
Price range: $16 - $40
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed April 5, 2014

I visited on a wet Saturday morning half way around a long bike ride. On Saturdays this feels like a cafe, but I can see on Sunday's it is most definitely a Bistro.

There a quite a few cafes on Tadcaster, and the staff here seem to understand that, they were instantly friendly and welcoming despite us being dressed as road cyclists (which can look weird), and we were shown a seat and given a menu very quickly.

The sausage sandwich my partner had was good, as was my bacon sandwich, and the tea was hot and tasty.

Even the "facilities" were pleasant and clean.

All in all, a very good place, and we'll be back again soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mooseman100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard F, Owner at the Granary Cafe-Bar-Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thankyou for your kind review of the Granary and we are glad that you were made to feel very welcome. It is great to see a real cross-section of people visiting during the day and hope to see on a evening some time soon to sample our lovely menu.
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 74 of 175 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014

This small restaurant in Tadcaster is quickly becoming one of our faviourites. The food served in this small restaurant is equal to or even better than most hotels in the area. Our starters were excellent. For the main course, I had sirloin steak which could have been mistaken for fillet as it was so tender with no fat. Deserts excellent. I would highly recommend this to anyone.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank robert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard F, Owner at the Granary Cafe-Bar-Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thankyou for your kind review of the Granary. Our steak is from Sykes House Farm near Wetherby and we are constantly impressed with the quality that they provide - but obviously our chefs have a hand in it as well! Head chef John is a wizard with desserts so it is great to hear that you enjoyed them so much. Hope to see you again soon.
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Visited for first time with my husband last week.Really enjoyed it.Nice cosy little restaurant , friendly staff and great food across all courses.have been recommending to friends :)

Thank Wilson1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard F, Owner at the Granary Cafe-Bar-Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thankyou very much for your positive review. We are very proud of our chefs, our food and our staff and it is great for all the team to hear that is appreciated.
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Just called in for a quick lunch and to meet my cousin. Staff very friendly, food good, definitely will return :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 11Sarah_S11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard F, Owner at the Granary Cafe-Bar-Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Very glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to the Granary and we hope to see you again soon. It is great to get such positive feedback.
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Been to this Bistro 3 times now and have to say friendliness and service 1st class.Got to admit though I so enjoyed there beer battered Fish & Chips that's what I choose to have each time,so a somewhat limited review.But for a restaurant that is not a fish and chip shop they have got it spot on.What I'd say is for price and quality they take some beating...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BettyToole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard F, Owner at the Granary Cafe-Bar-Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thankyou very much for your kind review. We are very proud of our fish and chips and to hear that you enjoy it so much is great to hear. Hope to see you returning for a long time to come!
Regards, Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed the Granary Cafe-Bar-Bistro also viewed

Tadcaster, Selby District
Tadcaster, Selby District
 
Tadcaster, Selby District
Tadcaster, Selby District
 
Tadcaster, Selby District
Tadcaster, Selby District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing