We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wood Farm Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed October 6, 2008

Wood Farm is a working farm just outside of York. Claire greeted us when we arrived and was extremely helpful in pointing out the places of interest and how to get in to York. There is a park and ride about 10 minutes drive away where you can pick up a bus into York, which is the way to go if you want to explore York. The cost was 2.30 pounds return, and they are very frequent.

The room we had overlooked the garden with a lovely view, everything you needed was supplied in the room, even a little safe to keep our passports in. The room was clean, spacious and the bathroom was excellent.

Breakfast was cooked by Helen and was of a very high standard, with fresh warm home made rolls and jam, cereals, fruit, yogourt, juice, and of course the full English breakfast.

We stayed here for 5 days and would have no hesitation in recommending this B & B.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Westcoast013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 158 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2008

We live in the country in Canada, and looked forward to a country setting near York to relax prior to tackling London. We stayed for three nights and wish it could have been longer.

Initially we had major misgivings, and seriously considered changing our plans and finding a B&B in York. We had had a long drive from Loughborough, via Leeds, on our way to York. We happened on the Design Outlet with a Park n Ride by accident. We parked the car and took the bus into York for some late afternoon sightseeing and dinner. However, when we were ready to return, we learned that we had missed the last bus and had to take a taxi to retrieve our car. We called Wood Farm to advise that we were on our way, expecting to arrive no later than 8:30. By then it was dark and for whatever reason we kept missing the same turn-off. We retraced our steps three times before finally arriving after 9 pm. It was dark, we were very tired and frustrated. Driving in England was a real challenge throughout our vacation.

But the moment we saw our beautiful and spacious room, everything seemed better. After a wonderful shower and a hot cup of tea, we went to bed and slept soundly. The next morning I woke up and did not have a sore back for the first time in years...the bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in. There were cows grazing in the pasture next to the lovely back garden. The air was clean and fresh. Ahhhh, peace and relaxation.

After a tasty farm fresh breakfast, with homemade bread rolls and jams, Helen told us about the nearby Park n Ride, so we didn't need to take the car into York. Relief spread all over my husband's face.

Unlike other B&Bs on our trip, the breakfast room had one communal table, which led to meeting other guests and some interesting and informative table talk.

At 64 BP/night, Wood Farm was a real find. I have already written to Rick Steves in the hope he will include this wonderful B&B in future editions of his guidebook.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeenThere1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2008

We stayed 4 nights with Helen and Claire, and were totally satisfied. The showers and the breakfasts were especially commendable, and I hope you got the harvest in!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicJBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2008

Great place to stay. This is very much a working farm but Helen looked after us extremely well and gave us lots of good advice on where to go.
The house is very quiet and comfortable with wonderful showers.
Lovely farmhouse breakfasts.
Ate at the Downey Arms - OK, but enjoyed the Blue Bell once we had negotiated the floods to get there.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiddleBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2008

My teenage daughter and I wanted a base from which to explore North Yorkshire and, as we live in Cairo Egypt, we thought a farm stay would be a complete change. It was infact delightful. Our host Helen and her extended family made us feel very welcome. Helen was helpful with planning our sightseeing, from the abbeys and stately homes down to which local pubs to go to for dinner. We even ended up having a long chat with her daughter and family in one pub one night, without knowing until the next day who our new friends were. Yorkshire is that sort of place.

Our bedroom was spacious and elegantly decorated and the bathroom was ultra modern - bliss. The view from our room over the garden and the fields full of cows beyond was the perfect antidote for our tired city eyes. Just leaning on a wooden fence rail watching the cows munch thick green English grass was soothing.

While my daughter and I fell in love with Wood Farm I can't help wishing we had taken the children when they were young. This is a lovely spot for families.

Stayed: August 2008
Thank expatsinEgypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2008

We spent three nights here in beautiful surroundings and had a superb time. Helen and Claire certainly have high standards shown by the cleanliness of the accomodation and great breakfasts offered. Everything has that personal touch. York is easily reached by the local park and ride from here and many other attractions are close by. We shall certainly be booking to stay again. Thank you to Helen and Claire for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank blossomLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2008

Nice welcome, beautiful room with a lovely view over the farm. Claire cooked a lovely breakfast, and even gave my wife a birthday card (because I forgot). We walked around the property, to the woods, and got muddy boots.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BIGTEZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wood Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wood Farm Bed and Breakfast

Address: Wood Farm | Shipton by Beningbrough, Shipton-by-Beningbrough YO30 1BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Shipton-by-Beningbrough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shipton-by-Beningbrough
Price Range: $124 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wood Farm Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome assured all year at Wood Farm (arable and livestock farm). A Victorian house with period features and antique furniture. Hearty Aga cooked breakfast (using local produce including homemade bread and preserves) awaits you after a restful night in large en-suite bedrooms (one with four-poster bed). The farm is ideally situated for visiting the historic city of York, Herriott country, North Yorkshire Moors, Yorkshire Dales and many National Trust Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Wood Farm Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wood Farm Hotel Shipton-By-Beningbrough
Wood Farm b&b
Wood Farm Bed And Breakfast UK/England - Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing