We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic !!!!!!”
Review of The Sidings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Sidings Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic !!!!!!”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

One of the best hotels we have stayed in!! Totally different from the usual "chain hotels" in more ways than one, from arrival to departure Sid, Costa, Nathan and all the staff were extremely friendly, welcoming and attentive. Nothing was too much trouble. If it's the average size hotel room you want - don't bother, The Sidings are restored railway carriages with very comfy beds and en-suite shower rooms. It was lovely to sit by the log fire after wonderful dinners with a couple of drinks, including complimentary ouzo and chat to some of the other guests who were as impressed and happy as we were.

We were celebrating my husband Phil's 60th birthday and we were really made a fuss of.
Overall we had a wonderful time and we were sorry to leave. We will definitely be back. What a great experience.

Also seems to be a very popular restaurant with the locals as they were all piling in to eat.

Cheers Sid and all the staff for everything.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaggyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    265
    82
    57
    59
See reviews for
86
520
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Literally just back from a fantastic 2 night stay here - I booked it as a Christmas present for my train enthusiast husband who absolutely loved it - especially being able to see the trains going past from the bedroom window. The staff were extremely friendly and always willing to help. Sometimes when a hotel says continental breakfast they mean cereals, juice and toast but not so here - this also included a good selection of cold meats and cheese with tomatoes, eggs, olives a good variety of fruit and yoghurt. The room was warm and comfortable and the shower water nice and hot. We ate in the restaurant both nights and had 2 very enjoyable meals accompanied by some very nice and reasonably priced wine. We will go back again and will definitely recommend to others .

Room Tip: we were glad to be at the end nearest the train line to get the best view of the trains - the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tlf7609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Just had a great couple of days at the sidings. Can't thank the staff enough, Sid, Nathan & Costa really looked after us. Food was excellent, I had beef & my wife had the chicken on 1st night in carriage restaurant, both went for carbonara on 2nd night in conservatory, cannot fault either. Good selection of beers & wine & Sids ouzo is good as well. This is the 2nd time we have stayed here and are already looking forward to the next time, great railway themed hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BigAl147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

You really have to alter your mindset when you stay here - really think 50 year old train compartment not hotel room!
There are lots of things about the accommodation that you simply wouldn't accept if it was a hotel room - mould around the windows from condensation, mouldy curtains that don't quite reach the bottom of the window, bathroom doors that just won't shut, a smell of damp in the bathroom and hot water running out halfway through a shower. These are quite a few things that could be put right without much effort and expense to just improve the overall experience.
That said, once you accept the quirkiness, its a great experience!
The carriage was also warmer than I thought it would be - a large radiator in the main bedroom and a small one in the bathroom.
It is also quite a weird feeling at first when the trains rattle by and your carriage vibrates!
The public areas, bar, restaurant and dining car are all lovely - great decor and the conservatory area is only 10 metres from the railway track which was great for railway enthusiasts and a novelty for us other guests!
We couldn't fault the staff, especially Sid the Manager, who was really friendly and helpful.
The continental breakfast was plentiful and a cooked breakfast is available for a small extra cost - you have to order the night before though!
We had the set menu on the first night as it was included as part of our deal - couldn't find fault with it and they were very accommodating with my dairy allergy which I hadn't advised them of in advance. After the meal we sat by the log fire and were given a complimentary shot of Zivania, a cypriot liqueur, which was a nice touch.
On the 2nd night of our stay we chose to eat in the restaurant again as normal paying guests. The menu is quite extensive and has some Greek dishes which made a nice change. The lamb Kleftiko was beautiful!
The prices are normal average restaurant prices and not overly expensive.
One of our party had a birthday and the staff presented a dessert with candles and a rendition of Happy Birthday which completed the meal brilliantly. The complimentary liqueurs were offered around again after the meal.
We had a great time here, and can't fault the value as we were on a KGB deal. If the few niggles in the rooms were put right and a little bit of decoration done, I could give it an Excellent next time.

Room Tip: For a special occasion, an upgrade to the four poster room may be worthwhile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frecklebunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidingshotel, General Manager at The Sidings Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thanks for your review! We really enjoyed welcoming you. The 'niggle's to which you refer are things which we are addressing as the refurbishment continues. We hope to see you again soon when it is completed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We visited The Sidings today and found the experience highly enjoyable, from the setting, to the staff and most importantly the food! We were warmly welcomed and trusted to pick our own seating which allowed for a splendid view of the countryside and passing trains. To reiterate, the food was outstanding, fully flavoursome and just the right portion sizes. There was a Greek night the previous night which we missed but I'm confident would have been a spectacular affair given the enthusiasm of the staff! Will recommend to family and friends and look forward to visiting again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

we stayed at the sidings and the accommodation was an excellent experience . we had a meal , the food was great but unfortunately we had our evening spoiled as the staff were running around like headless chickens not knowing who had ordered what. also my husband ordered crepes for sweet, after 10 mins we were told they had run out. as we were one of the first in the restaurant i cannot believe they could not have this sweet, also how can you run out of crepes, i work in a restaurant and our chefs can rustle up crepes in no time , the ingredients should be at hand unless, and i apologise if this is the case,they put a special ingredient in. my rating of is based on accommodation and food and value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Spent a lovely weekend at the Siddings just outside York. I had originally booked almost 12 months earlier but had to change the date of the booking several times which I was embarrassed about but was no trouble to the gentleman I spoke too (Sid). We arrived later than planned but again it wasn't a problem. Our room was great, compact but then it was in a railway carriage. The beds were really comfy. The railway is really busy but you are staying in an old station right by the side of the East Coast main line. Breakfast was simple. We stayed for dinner, the restaurant was busy but we were able to get a table the food was simple but home-made and really tasty and good value for money. ALL the staff couldn't have been friendlier and more accommodating. I would recommend the Siddings ESPECIALLY if you like trains but was a great base to see the sights of York

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CN6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipton-by-Beningbrough
1.8 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
4.6 mi away
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel
5.3 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Escrick
992 reviews
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
5.9 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sidings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sidings Hotel

Property: The Sidings Hotel
Address: Station Lane, Shipton-by-Beningbrough YO30 1BT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Shipton-by-Beningbrough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shipton-by-Beningbrough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sidings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Sidings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sidings Hotel UK/England - Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing