We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sidings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Sidings Hotel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Firstly hotel is very quirky rooms are old train carriages which are good fun,not very big but good fun. We found the rooms to be a little bit out dated and slightly unclean, the restaurant was excellent the food was absolutely delicious and the staff very helpful.The manager was very helpful and always very polite and attentive, All in all it is a hotel I would recommend and would stay there again if going to visit York again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    250
    72
    55
    59
See reviews for
76
479
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
guisborough
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Just stayed at this hotel in the 4 poster room ( room8) and loved every bit of it. The carriage is right next to the track so expect some noise as the trains come past every 15 minutes, this however just adds to the experience, and unlike other negative comments never woke me once during the night.
We chose to dine in the restaurant and was seated on the dining coach over looking the train track and found this just lovely. The food was perfect the staff very attentative and chatty so all in all we had a great stay.
Will I return?? Most definitely.
Would I recommend?? If you can go with a open mind, appreciate where and what you are actually sleeping in and not expect perfection, then give this hotel a try.
It's quirky, comfortable, and just something a bit different.

Room Tip: Room 8 is the bigger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jules003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as it was suggested to us, based on my husband's love of trains and we weren't disappointed. This is a truly unique hotel experience. We stayed in a converted railway cottage and whilst it was bijou it was still absolutely charming. The staff at the hotel were lovely and the food in the restuarant was superb.

The hotel is right next to the railway line so expect some train noise throughout your stay.

Room Tip: If you would like a room with a view - of the trainline, try and stay in rooms 6, 7 or 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mlu80e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We like a lot of others booked from a voucher. First impression was good very lucky as we got the four poster room that the other reviewers mention and it was lovely. Yes it is by the railway line but the clue is in the name, the trains decrease during the evening and stop at night. Our meal was adequate we were told the next day that t wasn't the usual chef, the 2 girls waiting on we're pleasant enough but very slow and asked if we would like a desert menu before we had had the main course. Seeing James B comment about the beer my husband only had one pint and wasnt over moon about it. A wine list with a difference as a lot of them are Greek. The worst thing was the morning when we went for breakfast but there wasn't any. Other guests had gone searching for food or a person and managed to find a loaf of bread and milk pots from the cleaners cupboard, obviously for the rooms. Eventually a member of staff arrived and said the managers alarm hadn't gone off. It was too late as other guests had checked out, we were staying 2 nights. The manager/owner was very apologetic when we saw him in the evening. I expected some sort of compensation when we checked out but no he charged us full price for our bottle of wine and only when my husband suggested it did he give us a reduction. I would give it the the benefit of the doubt and maybe visit it again because of the quirkiness of the place.

Room Tip: Ask for the four poster room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crickhowell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

What fun, sleeping in a train and dining in a train dining car! The owner Sid and the manager are welcoming and helpful. It's a relaxed atmosphere and the menu is a mix of British and Greek. The Stiffado was superb.
We stayed two nights on a KGB deal and went into York to see everything York has to offer. Superb location for the park and ride system.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alizavra43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

This place is in the middle of nowhere right next to the East Coast Main Line and I recently attended a social function there. It is an old converted train station with old carriages for eating/sleeping. The beer selection is dreadful (gassy dross) and overpriced. The food on offer was particularly poor even by "buffet" standards. I did not sleep overnight but based on a train coming past roughly every 10-15 minutes I cannot imagine getting much sleep at all. The only good thing going for this establishment is the beer garden (ideal for trainspotters I suppose!). I would never recommend The Sidings to anyone. Terrible place. Do not go there. Ever!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crisjansonpiers@googlemail.com
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We read reviews before we booked this hotel and it paid dividends!
Looking for a cheap 1 night stay at York to follow on from a bird of prey experience my partner looked through the listings.
Although this hotel seemed to be quoted as a train spotters paradise, we thought the idea of rooms in railway carriages quiet novel and quaint. The rooms were exactly as we expected, clean, equipped with tea n coffee making facilities, soap and shower gel. The room was not massive but adequate.
There are trains passing, as the hotel is as it says on a railway sidings, however they ceased or were less frequent near bed time. We were not woken by the trains in the morning either.
The double bed is very comfortable (Someone on a review complained it was only accessible from one side, which is correct, but hardly a problem).
The welcome by staff was good, warm and efficient. The evening meal was superb and served at a table for two in one of the other carriages although there is also a large main restaurant. The menu was very varied with plenty of choice. With the owner being A Greek Cypriot there was food from his homeland and it was lovely.
A well stocked bar compliments the surroundings and ambiance.
My partner had the inclusive continental breakfast which was as expected and I had the Full English which was worth every bit of the £5.00 extra.
Just up the road is the Park and Ride which takes you direct into the city centre for £2.60 each with free on site parking.
There was FREE WI-Fi in the main reception area! Bonus!
On leaving the owner spoke to us at length, making sure we were happy with our stay and also explained they have a Greek night once a month. We intend to go back for this with friends.
Forget that this hotel looks like it is just catering for train spotters, this is not so. We loved it.

Room Tip: There is a larger room with a 4 poster and I believe one bridal type suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eliteviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipton-by-Beningbrough
1.9 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn York North West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
5.9 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
4.8 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sidings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sidings Hotel

Property: The Sidings Hotel
Address: Station Lane, Shipton-by-Beningbrough YO30 1BT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Shipton-by-Beningbrough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shipton-by-Beningbrough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sidings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Sidings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sidings Hotel UK/England - Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing