We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely place”

The Sidings Restaurant
Reserve a Table
Bookatable
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Sidings Hotel and Restaurant is situated in York, in North Yorkshire and is based around 5 Pullman-style railway carriages, located by the east coast mainline. The restaurant is unreservedly Italian, offering dishes such as cannelloni, marinated sardines, lamb with rosemary and potatoes, steaks and a selection of pizzas. The wine list focuses on Italian wine and three courses will cost an average of ��30 per person. Don't forget to check out the specials of the day, as well. Tickets, please! Next stop: the Sidings Hotel and Restaurant!
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had Sunday lunch here with friends and what a lovely meal and a quirky place. The restaurant is an old fashioned train carriage facing out on the york line so if you are a train enthusiast it will suit.
The food was gorgeous 5 star - we had the Sunday roast which was beautiful and cooked to taste. The staff were extremely courteous and at one point the chef came through the car to check all was okay.
A really good find for us, we will be back.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Macthistle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (504)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 504 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is now the 3rd Year I have booked the Sidings.and just about to book next Years.

A must for people who love trains.good wine.and good food.

John the Manager cant do enough for you.

The food is perfect.

A must if passing.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Davedee1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Eating in an old train carriage was great fun and the service was good, but the food was not the best and the menu very limited.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank elanchlusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2019 via mobile

My husband and I called in for Sunday lunch yesterday. What a surprise. The deco was so facinating and fun. Our waiter was very friendly and very efficient. We had the two course lunch priced at £16.95. I had the pate my husband had the Portobello mushroom and a basket of warm bread. Both extremely tasty. We both chose pork for our main course, served with Yorkshire pudding, and a shared dish of roast potatoes and fresh vegetables. All piping hot. My husband finished with a dish of ice cream and we both had coffees. A very, very pleasant meal served by pleasant staff, unusual surroundings with trains regualy passing so closely by.
Outside garden with tables and benches was also very pleasant in the sunshine.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Temps10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2019 via mobile

Here again, I like this place being able to eat in a railway dinning cariage and watch the trains go by on the East Coast mainline, is a splendid setting.
I had the stifado from the set price menu whuch was very nice.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank RobinM3160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sidings Restaurant also viewed

 
Shipton-by-Beningbrough, North Yorkshire
Newton on Ouse, Easingwold
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Sidings Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing