We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst meal ever!”

The Sidings Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Sidings Hotel and Restaurant is situated in York, in North Yorkshire and is based around 5 Pullman-style railway carriages, located by the east coast mainline. The restaurant is unreservedly Italian, offering dishes such as cannelloni, marinated sardines, lamb with rosemary and potatoes, steaks and a selection of pizzas. The wine list focuses on Italian wine and three courses will cost an average of ��30 per person. Don't forget to check out the specials of the day, as well. Tickets, please! Next stop: the Sidings Hotel and Restaurant!
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Worst meal ever!”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Sunday lunchtime. The restaurant was cold and so was the food. The starters of mushrooms in garlic sauce were tasty but cold. The main courses were also cold, particularly the vegetables. The waiter offered to "heat them up"! Extremely disappointing. Will never go back there.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Linrob2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    113
    37
    40
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“fab food, friendly service”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Booked a meal on a group on voucher..fab food and friendly service... can't wait to sample a mamma Kia night and stay in a railway carriage with a four poster bed... best atmosphere ever in any restaurant I've been to... and good value for money too :)

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lunchtime meal”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We were wanting a surprise meal out for our train mad son, this hotel was recommended to us and it didn't disappoint. We were all made very welcome. The menu was varied although we were trying to avoid alcohol and tomatoes which made our own choices limiting. We all enjoyed the meals we chose. In the two hours we were there we saw approximately 12 trains, the conservatory has large windows and as it is only a short distance from the track our son was delighted to be able to dine and watch the trains go by.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Pre Christmas Dinner”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

A " Groupon " voucher which entitled us to a 2 course dinner with a glass of mulled wine

4 people for £ 29.00

Very good value.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lizatom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Level Contributor
126 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“gorgeous”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

we first visted the Sidings just for a coffee as we were checking the place out for someone but we decided we would come back and dine later. The food and the service was out of this world. I would highly recommend this place

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AngieLancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sidings Restaurant also viewed

Shipton-by-Beningbrough, North Yorkshire
Newton on Ouse, Easingwold
 
York, North Yorkshire
Nun Monkton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Sidings Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing