We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect weekend break”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Felin Fach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Felin Fach Griffin
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Felin Fach
Certificate of Excellence
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The perfect weekend break”
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here to celebrate our anniversary and could not have found a better place. Our room was delightful with four poster bed. Everything well thought through down to the Roberts radio, fresh ground coffee. The en-suite was very good with a powerful shower and lots of hot water. The main thing about The Griffin though is the food, which was excellent, although we did need to 'pace ourselves' as we had booked lunch and dinner on the Sunday as part of their 'sleep over' deal. The were professional and friendly, without being over friendly. All perfectly balanced. We will be back!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bodacious_cowboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    98
    36
    13
    5
See reviews for
67
264
9
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I've just written pretty much a sheet of A4 of a glowing review, but i've deleted it. I've deleted it because there's only one thing you need to know - The Griffin is perfect. I've stayed at many hotels in my 32 long, cynical years on this earth, and stayed at a lot of 'wannabes' - places trying to pretend to be like The Griffin, but fail miserably. I won't name them, but they know who they are. Shame on you.

The booking experience was easy (over the phone), confirmation email arrived, warm welcome upon getting there, fantastic clean room (4), brilliant bed and shower, best food i've ever eaten, best beer i've ever drank. Fantastic staff, who, if worked for me, i'd be very pleased with.

If anyone has a bad word to say about The Griffin (food or accommodation) then i recommend that they cease traveling all together, and stay at home. For you have missed the point entirely. Never shall you find what you're looking for. Unless its in some gawdy monstrosity shaped like a hen or something in Dubai.

I'll be back.

Room Tip: Room 4 was small but perfect. Exceptionally clean, very powerful hot shower and bath that fills in m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huw D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Returned here for the umpteenth time for dinner on a short break nearby in Wales over New Year. Great style and a roaring fire, super food. Only criticism was that we were kept waiting for 30 mins before our order was taken and we were shown to our table. Food delicious.
We did prefer it years ago when you could get a really good choice of dark beer and a sandwich, but we still love it.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Enjoyed the Winter Supper menu - 3 courses for £28.50 each. All very tasty and we enjoyed a delicious mushroom soup amuse-bouche. Roaring log fire and pretty lights and candles added to winter atmosphere.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I'm a regular user of the Good Pub Guide, and The Griffin has been awarded the Welsh Dining Pub of the Year for 2012/13, so we expected it would be good. The staff well very welcoming when we arrived and we were shown to our room which had a four poster bed and very well appointed bathroom. TV is not standard in any rooms, but a call to reception resulted in an almost immediate installation. The highlight was the dinner on both nights; it's a short but varied menu which is changed every day. Standards are exceptionally high with dishes served that you might expect to have in MIchelin Star restaurants. We take regular pub weekends away, but The Griffin has set new heights on the gastronomy scale, as well as being exceptionally good value for money. They definitely deserve their Dining Pub award.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We arrived at the Felin Fach Griffin on a cold wet December evening and were made
very welcome by the lovely staff. A large fire was leaping around in the reception/lounge area and squidgy settees were full of people.
Because of a late booking we had to move rooms, but were happy to do that. Room 5 was a four poster, very snug and quiet. Room 3 was larger and brighter. Both rooms were very comfortable though and we enjoyed the stay.
The food is excellent, beautifully cooked and presented.
We were in Wales for a funeral sadly, but couldn't have chosen a better place to stay for this. It was warm welcoming and easy to be there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieG02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

great Sunday lunch at the Griffin.Beautiful roast beef and seasonal veg from their garden i think.Excellent gin and tonic made with Tarquins gin, It was recommended by a very well informed waiter and what a delight it was with a hint of orange.Lovely log fire to welcome you and comfy sofas.It really is an absolute pleasure to dine there.Just wish i lived a bit closer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lancashire56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Felin Fach
4.6 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
590 reviews
4.1 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
456 reviews
4.1 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
12.0 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
5.8 mi away
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Three Cocks
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Felin Fach Griffin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Felin Fach Griffin

Property: The Felin Fach Griffin
Address: Felin Fach, Felin Fach LD3 0UB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Felin Fach
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Felin Fach
Hotel Class:4 star — The Felin Fach Griffin 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Felin Fach Griffin Hotel Felin Fach
Felin Fach Griffin Brecon
Felin Fach Griffin Hotel Brecon
The Felin Fach Griffin Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing