We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather disappointed”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Felin Fach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Felin Fach Griffin
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Felin Fach
Certificate of Excellence
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rather disappointed”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at the Felin Fach for a one night stay and was somewhat disappointed by the whole experience. As part of the Welsh Rarebits Hotels and Inns of Distinction I did expect more than we got for the £122.50 per night paid.

Checking in was in the main bar and felt a bit disorganised and we were shown to our room by one of the bar staff. He made no effort to engage us in conversation and we proceeded to follow him to the room in silence. In the room he gave us the key and that was it - no explanation of what was in the room or where information could be found. There was a telephone in the room but again we were offered no information on how or what it could be used for nor were we given any timings for breakfast.

The room was reasonable with a large bed and good en-suite with powerful shower over the bath. No TV was provided in the room (although this was probably explained in the literature and I hadn't picked up on it) and though I don't go away to watch TV it is good to catch up on the weather forecast etc. No Wi Fi either so cannot keep up to date that way.

Tea and coffee making facilities were adequate however there was no power point near to the kettle and we had to move it to the otherside of the room. Two biscuits were squashed into the tiniest of jars and had to be broken to get them out which was as shame as the crumbs were lovely. Milk had to be asked for at the bar.

The room we stayed in was very noisy from the road and we had to shut the window to block out the noise all through the night - that said after a long drive I was tired and slept reasonably until woken up by the pub coming the life at 5 am. Yes, 5 am. There was noise from the breakfast room below, cars arriving (probably staff), doors slamming and the general cacaphony of people and vehicles moving around. That was it for sleeping as after 5 am it was simply too noisy. Having not got to sleep until around midnight after noise from the bar below I am not so good on only 5 hours sleep.

To get to the breakfast room we had negotiate the cleaner mopping the floors. Breakfast was adequate however the prepared fresh fruit was a bit lacking - a bowl of raspberries. There was also a bowl of prunes which seemed a strange mixture with raspberries. The breakfast buffet table seemed a bit of an afterthought. A choice of 3 cereals was offered but there was no granulated sugar for cornflakes. Small things but they do add up.

When I came to check out, it was only after paying that I was asked if everything was ok. I explained that we had not had a good nights sleep due the very early noise from the inn. I was told that the BBC was staying as the Royal Welsh Show was on and they wanted breakfast at 5 am.

Perhaps if some guests require early breakfast an alternative arrangement could be made (buffet style delivered to the room the night before?) and other guests considered as on this occasion they most certainly were not.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the road (if they have any) and not above the breakfast room unless you are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karend07495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    98
    36
    13
    5
See reviews for
67
264
9
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The title of this review is the most frequent phrase heard from the staff at The Griffin - and you can really believe it! We needed a relaxing break so booked the summer special deal for 4 nights dinner, B&B and can recommend it enthusiastically. The staff are all attentive, warm and welcoming whilst remaining professional and unobtrusive; a difficult thing to achieve. Our bed was very comfortable indeed and the room had a large sofa for reading and listening to the radio when we were not out walking. The food looked great and then tasted as good as it looked and the wine list is impressive and varied. GO!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FairyGrandmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We called in for a light lunch on out way to Hay on Wye. Our choice was just a couple of starters with a bowl of 'triple fried chips'. Our three dogs were given a fresh bowl of water, we had an iced jug of water with bread and butter and something that looked like profiteroles to munch on while we waited. I found the starter more than enough but my husband said he could have done with a little more (he should have chosen the main course). Everything was well presented, the staff were brilliant and very attentive. A thoroughly enjoyable stop. Unfortunate for the 'Plough and Harrow' road sign which took us there. In actual fact we popped along and this pub was closed at 2.30pm? Not ideal this time of year sunshine. STAY OPEN AND MAKE MONEY.....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patriciaannevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

On the way back home we stopped of here early Saturday evening. Quietish when we first arrived it soon warmed up. Log fires and, timber and painted walls all filled with sofas provide a very warm and homely atmosphere. The dining room was a little more restrained but still very nice.
A spiced squash soup, although a little light on the spice for me and a very nice steak while the other one had a Mozzarella on ciabatta and lamb set us up for the journey home.
We left with a heavy heart as we would have loved to stay longer - it is the sort of place you wished you had as local if you haven't got a local like this.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iockusobermo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with our dog (Oscar) for one night 23 June for dinner, bed and breakfast. Friendly welcome, food was fantastic (rib eye steak was the best ever) bed was very comfortable. Perfectly placed for exploring the black mountains / breacon beacons.
All in all a faultless stay.
Would highly recommend

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We went to this restaurant on a personal recommendation & the Sawday app (so invaluable!). The food is excellent and the service first class. We had the beef rump (very tender) with butternut squash puree, sauté potatoes & asparagus along with 'very tender' loin of pork, morels, creamed potato and hazelnut brocoli. It tasted better than it sounds! You get the chef's appetiser with homemade soda bread (always a nice touch) to start. The desserts are a bit more expensive than normal, however the chocolate pave was delicious.
If you are in the area, make sure you go and pay a visit for lunch or evening meal. It's very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDukes17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Griffin for a night at the start of this year's Hay festival and it was excellent! One of the nicest B&Bs I have come across and the food and wine was amazing. Particularly liked the the bar area with sofas and a big open fireplace. The pub was as popular with locals as it was with guests- a good sign!

They use local products, services and suppliers and every detail has been considered. (They even had loose tea in the rooms!)

We'd have stayed an extra night if they weren't fully booked that weekend.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lifesnorkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Felin Fach
4.6 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
590 reviews
4.1 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
456 reviews
4.1 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
12.0 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
5.8 mi away
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Three Cocks
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Felin Fach Griffin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Felin Fach Griffin

Property: The Felin Fach Griffin
Address: Felin Fach, Felin Fach LD3 0UB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Felin Fach
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Felin Fach
Hotel Class:4 star — The Felin Fach Griffin 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Felin Fach Griffin Hotel Felin Fach
Felin Fach Griffin Brecon
Felin Fach Griffin Hotel Brecon
The Felin Fach Griffin Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing