We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars from me and 5 woofs from Tan”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Felin Fach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Felin Fach Griffin
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Felin Fach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2013

As a sister hotel to The Gurnards Head this hotel is an equal. On arrival we were shown to our room which was well prepared for both human and dog guests. There was also a towel especially for the dog together with some welcome treats! Set on the edge of the Brecon Beacons the hotel gives easy access to Hay on Wye, Brecon and Abergavenny as well as excellent walking opportunities.

The menu reflects the local produce with venison, beef, pork all locally sourced and cooked to perfection. The fish was excellently cooked with added touches such as Queen Scallops cooked and served in a veloute with raisons and curry. The hotel has a choice of 3 eating rooms including one where the dog is welcome!

Breakfast is served in the Library and again makes excellent use of local produce. Freshly cooked
scrambled eggs with locally smoked salmon was a great way to start the day.

Of course the dog was also well supplied with biscuits and treats.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (471)
There are newer reviews for The Felin Fach Griffin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 471 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

I've had the pleasure of both staying and supping at the FFG a couple of times in the last few years. It's never failed to provide sumptuous food and rooms that are cosy havens, especially for couples.

Last weekend, we met with mates on a return visit; taking in a decent walk in hills surrounding Brecon. Muddy, freezing and tired, beating a retreat to the FFG was the perfect cure. Couple of pints of Mid-Walian real ale proved to be the perfect muscle relaxant before heading upstairs to freshen up for dinner. Amusingly, the hotel's hot water policy suggests that if there's not enough to go around then you should pop down to the bar for a free glass of Prosecco. Disappointingly, there was ample hot water to wallow in, though it did save the bar patrons the sight of me in a towel.

Dinner was thoroughly competently constructed and presented. My scallops were balanced nicely by a cauliflower velouté (although it was very similar in flavour to the celeriac soup amuse bouche). My main of venison was simply perfect, I've not had better. Very nice wines to complement the food, there's been some clever work here behind the scenes.

The main joy of the FFG is the comfort and merciful isolation. Road noise is next to negligible; the beds and duvets envelop you in happy dreams. The lack of TV, often stated to be a down side, is a real plus. Similarly, the dodgy mobile phone reception may enthral or antagonise the guest - it depends on your own needs. The helpful barman did suggest that we could use their phone for free if required.

Dog owners will find this to be an amazingly well catered venue. Dogs may stay in rooms, eat with guests and play with the local mutt. Ask for the walking guidebook as created by the staff - it's an informative and brilliant read - love the local touch.

All in all, it's a home, not a hotel - simply the perfect rest cure.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cangarwbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

we had lunch at the Griffin recently. I had a crab starter which contained minimal crab, I prefer to know (by taste) what I am actually eating, such a small amount of crab detracted from the quality big time. I had a ploughman's and my wife had a beef broth as main courses. The cheese was good on the ploughman's but not exceptional. The beef broth was good and had obviously been slow cooked. The desert which my wife had (a rhubarb dish) was simply awful, the rhubarb was almost raw, i have never heard of al dente being applied to rhubarb before. The beer I ordered on arrival was pulled with all the aplomb of someone who cared more about ease of dispensing than quality of taste for the purchaser, it was flat and tasteless.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank G_EvansWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Have been here a few years ago with friends. Decided to book again with same friends as had an excellent time before. Had a good long walk in the day to build up an appetite for the evening meal. Turned up and had some good Welsh real ale, and then a much needed bath before supper. Brought the dog with us this time and what a dog friendly venue. The doggy store cupboard is a nice touch. Also good that they let you leave them in the room whilst you are in the restaurant but also have a table available if you want to dine with your dog. So many places don't trust you to leave them but our dog much prefers a nice quiet snooze after a long walk than sitting in a bustling restaurant. And now to the food, a lovely amuse bouche to start. Then our group had scallops, pork rillettes and oak roasted salmon. All received good reports. For main three of us couldn't resist the rib eye with one opting for the venison, all perfectly cooked. For pudding, we went for the cheeseboard and creme brulee with the associated recommended drinks.
Took the dog out for a walk before retiring to the bar and the settee's in front of the fire. Only downside is the stay wasn't long enough, would love to come back for longer.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulesR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We arrived for our pre-booked mid week lunch to be greeted by a very friendly young lady who directed us to some comfortable leather sofas near the fire, very much appreciated as it was an extremely cold February day. We were presented with the menus and wine list whilst I went to the small bar to order our pre- lunch drinks.

One guest chose Toasted Walnut Bread with Shropshire Blue, Pear, Gamay & Watercress which she said was very interesting, well presented and full of flavour.

I chose Portland Crab with Pickled Cucumber, Grapes and Creme Fraiche
I had to look quite hard to see the crab which consisted of about a soup spoon sized smear on the plate, the presentation and flavour were both good, but for £8.00 a little lacking in the crabby content.

Isabel and her brother chose Smoked Salmon Fishcake with Lemon Mayonnaise and Cucumber Relish which they pronounced very nice with good flavours.

For me Slow roasted Belly Pork on Celeriac Purée with Lentils
Quite disappointing really; although the meat was well cooked and moist it was a bit lacking in flavour, this can happen, but the meat should perhaps have been marinated first or possibly served with a stronger set of accompaniments or a sauce to balance the blandness. But the biggest disappointment was skin which was served limp, no attempt has been made at all to serve a nice crisp pork crackling.

Both of our guests chose Beef and Venison Stew with Vegetables and both extolled its virtue. One of them after two very nice pints of Butty Bach and a glass of excellent Black Cottage Sauvignon Balnc mentioned that you would need a very refined parrot to distinguish the Beef from the Venison in such a dish. This needless to say caused uproar at the table and it will take forever for him to live that one down.

Isabel chose Roast Halibut Fillet and did not stop telling us all how good it was until we parted from our guests abut 3 hours later.

Only two of us decided to have pudding the others whimped out,

Home made Ice Cream was the choice of one and she was offered any combination of a selection of 3 Ices.

Milk Chocolate Marquise which I always thought was a rich firm buttery chocolate terrine not a light mousse like confection served in a glass, however it was a pleasant if somewhat surprising.

Despite my nitpicking we did enjoy a very pleasing couple of hours at the Griffin, we were well served by a small professional and friendly team of people who seemed to take genuine delight in looking after us.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waterdine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We thought that dinner was was excellent but the breakfast was one of the best ever - cooked with style, presented nicely and served by a lovely bubbly lady - in fact all the staff acted as if they all had shares in the business! The bedroom was really comfortable and what a joy not to have a TV in the room! We'll be back and will certainly seek out the sister hotels in Cornwall.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Excellent service, exceptional dining,wonderful atmosphere in bar/dining rooms and very comfortable rooms. The claims that they make on their website are absolutely true in every respect. A perfect place to enjoy a relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Felin Fach
4.6 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
626 reviews
4.1 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
957 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
4.1 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
478 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Felin Fach Griffin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Felin Fach Griffin

Address: Felin Fach, Felin Fach LD3 0UB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Felin Fach
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Felin Fach
Hotel Class:4 star — The Felin Fach Griffin 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Felin Fach Griffin Hotel Felin Fach
Felin Fach Griffin Brecon
Felin Fach Griffin Hotel Brecon
The Felin Fach Griffin Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing