We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute Perfection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Felin Fach Griffin

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Felin Fach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Felin Fach Griffin
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Felin Fach
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolute Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

A great find!
This place does everything right and it really deserves
"The best in in the UK" which it recently obtained from the good pub guide. see for yourself

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-wales-mid-wales-19478896

Very friendly staff
An exceptionally high standard of cuisine
Good selection of drinks including real ale not that easy to find.
Reasonable prices
Lovely environment

What else can I say but to go and visit if you haven't already.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Huw P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    96
    35
    13
    5
See reviews for
64
248
9
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Took advantage of the Felin Fach Griffin's Dinner/B&B rate in August 2012. It's great value. Rooms are small but cosy; bathrooms have very hot water and powerful showers and real tea and coffee is provided. The atmosphere around the bar is very relaxed - we curled up on the sofas and read books for a couple of hours before dinner. Food is very good indeed - unpretentious but full of attention to detail and genuine in its commitment to local produce - the soup was some of the tastiest I've ever eaten. Breakfast also very good. We found the staff at both breakfast and dinner to be very pleasant and helpful (and I could hear the breakfast waitress in particular being asked to accommodate a range of requests from fussier customers!). We have recommended it to family and friends.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

My Wife took me here earlier in the year for my Birthday and I can honestly say that it is one of the best places I have ever stayed, and I have stayed in some very good hotels. Everything from the rooms, the food and the lovely seating area by the fire make this a must. It is also great for walking in the local brecon beacons where the scenery is some of the best in the country.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Faultless stay. Eat, Drink and Sleep is absolutely correct. Every facet thereof was divine. Very attentive service wherever you were in the hotel. So unusual for there to be real tea and coffee in the bedrooms, a welcome change. This shows attention to detail found throughout the hotel which is lost in soleless chain hotels. Our dog Tassie cannot wait to return and be pampered. Look forward to return visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueB296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Had lunch on Monday 20th and the food was lovely but I do agree with a previous reviewer that the waitress was not the friendliest in the world and gave the impression that having just one course was not how people normally behaved, so therefore only 4 out of 5.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank galensmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed one night and it was great. It is good cross between a Pub, a Hotel and a Restaurant. Room wasn’t large but good quality, lovely bathroom with hand-chosen teas/coffees. Downstairs, the lounge area was really comfortable and cosy. Restaurant room was pleasant, and the food was excellent – lots of local, high quality ingredients – each course was notable. Service in the pub was great – very warm, a good atmosphere, very helpful staff. Our only negative was that the pub is just off a busy road – but apart from that, the Griffin is great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sprie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

I had booked as a treat for my husband on his birthday as we had always wanted to try this restaurant. People had told us that it had a pretentious air to it but we prefer to draw our own conclusion. I wish I had listened. We were greated by a very cold front of house young lady who told me that we were early even though I had phoned to check if it would be ok to arrive earlier than plannned! We were shown to our table and offered some delicious bread. The same young lady took our food order and explained in a very snooty manner exactly how my husbands dish would be cooked. The food arrived and was delicious. We then ordered coffee from a 'local' waitress who was totally charming, warm and friendly. This rescued our visit! We will not be visiting again as I prefer to enjoy the 'whole' experience rather than just the food.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aquajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Felin Fach
4.2 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
4.6 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
4.1 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
12.6 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cwmtaf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Felin Fach Griffin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Felin Fach Griffin

Property: The Felin Fach Griffin
Address: Felin Fach, Felin Fach LD3 0UB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Felin Fach
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Felin Fach
Hotel Class:4 star — The Felin Fach Griffin 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Felin Fach Griffin Hotel Felin Fach
Felin Fach Griffin Brecon
Felin Fach Griffin Hotel Brecon
The Felin Fach Griffin Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing