We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect after a great day's walking”

Plough and Harrow Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plough and Harrow Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Felin Fach B&B and Inns
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Perfect after a great day's walking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

I spent a day walking in the Brecon Beacons and then stayed overnight in this delightful "olde worlde" pub situated in a tiny quiet village just 3-4 miles north-east of Brecon. My double room at the front of the building was clean and spacious and tastefully furnished in a country cottage style with pine furniture and a very comfortable bed! Loads of tea and coffee in the room and 2 complimentary bottles of water. The dinner menu was extensive with seemingly something for every taste and diet; the brie for starters and gammon steak for main course were delicious, all freshly cooked and beautifully presented. The pub has a 5 star rating for food hygiene. Breakfast was similarly wonderful with everything from cereals, fruit, full Welsh, toast, etc etc. The bar and lounge area is really comfortable, with a good range of beers/lagers, a great selection of books and sofas to fall asleep in. The location of the pub is incredibly peaceful and relaxing; the only sounds that punctuated my early morning run were the baa baa of sheep and lambs and the cock a doodle doo of the local cockerell. If you are happy to escape from the internet (there is none) and can wait until the pub opens at 6pm for a drink then this place will be perfect for you....a million miles away from chain hotels and from the hustle and bustle of town life. Absolutely superb!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    12
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
21
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Delightful place. Genuinely warm welcome from landlady and locals in the bar. Nobody in the adjoining room so we were invited to use it to watch TV as it had more space. Good solid food, comfortable if simple room, fantastic breakfast. No problems with traffic noise that we noticed, and we live in a quiet village ourselves.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harrydogandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We were on holiday and had several meals here. Sue, the landlady is so friendly and welcoming and JJ the Jack Russell is the same. We have two dogs, one of which is a four month old puppy. They were probably more welcomed than we were! I have never been in a pub which was so laid-back about dogs. Our old collie Ben, took up residence by the sofa and totally chilled out and Sue even took our pup Gibson out for a wee when we were eating so that we didn't have to get up. The food is all cooked to order so is totally fresh, and although the menu is fairly basic, we thoroughly enjoyed every one of our meals. Altogether a lovely place, especially if you have dogs. Thanks for making our evenings so enjoyable Sue! We would go back like a shot!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steambobette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed only one night. (Would have liked to stay longer but our travel plans didn't allow.)
We got a very friendly welcome by the landlady. She gave us a room at the street side of the inn with a nice view of the village of Felin Fach. It is a very quiet place so we had a restful sleep.
We had a lovely dinner at the inn after a short rest because of the journey in from the Oxford area.
Breakfast was very good and tasty; all the trimmings.
The inn is very close to Brecon Beacons Nat. Park. Great place for walks.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica_Henk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yalikavak, Turkey
Level Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

A very pleasant setting,extremely nice hosts and a lovely dog. The bar ,the dining room ,the rooms are absolutely spotless and the whole inn is excellently maintained.The breakfast is freshly cooked and nice fresh ingredients.The inn is ideally situated for walking the surrounding hills and exploring the countryside. I always prefer a suite as I don't like sitting on a bed to read a paper or watch TV and £80 for the suite I thought was excellent value.We shall certainly return in the very near future.

Room Tip: The Inn is closed from November to Easter.Also it doesn't open for lunch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benmogsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

What a nice place to stay and nothing was to much trouble for the landlady Sue
Room was a lovely Suite very clean and comfortable with extra little touches
Food very good also
A great place to stay to tour the beautiful area

Room Tip: The Suite was lovely as we had an extra sitting room plus ensuite bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude60Dorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
209 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights,a nice quiet, friendly place to stay, not too far from the main road, although far enough away not to hear any noise of the traffic.
Excellent tasty food for breakfast all freshly cooked to order, evening meals also available, very nice too.
Rooms kept spotlessly clean as well.
Well worth a visit if your looking for somewhere to stay in the Brecon Beacons.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jinman72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Plough and Harrow Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plough and Harrow Inn

Property: Plough and Harrow Inn
Address: Felin Fach LD3 0UB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Felin Fach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Felin Fach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Plough and Harrow Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plough and Harrow is a friendly family-run country inn situated in the village of Felinfach. It is ideally situated for exploring Mid, South and West Wales. The Brecon Beacons and Black Mountains are within easy reach for energetic or more leisurely walks. The historic Cathedral town of Brecon is four miles to the south where there are a variety of retail outlets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Plough and Harrow Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plough And Harrow Inn Felin Fach, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing