We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (1,188)
Filter reviews
1,188 results
Traveler rating
774
251
81
45
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
774
251
81
45
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor pool beautiful hotel brecon beacons converted stables the river stable block on arrival christmas decorations wine list wedding venue pen y fan wedding reception my partner the main house lamb large bathroom beautiful room
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 1,188 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2018

Had been looking forward to our most expensive accommodation of the trip. However, we were accommodated in a converted stable which wasn't a problem in itself, but the only window was halfway up a staircase, so no aspect; the bathroom was down below which isn't good for those of us a little bit older; the bedroom was upstairs and so hot we had to ask for a fan which we had to keep going all night. The restaurant had a pleasing ambience and the staff were professional. However, the food, while expensive, was average.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank J-J2030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2018

Myself and my husband stayed here the night after our wedding as a little treat. We were offered a free room upgrade on arrival which we accepted gladly!
We both had a massage which was lovely and relaxing... At dinner we also received complimentary champagne to celebrate which was a nice surprise.
Over all a good stay, and all the staff we came across were helpful and friendly!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Elpow26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 1 night at the end of September. We had dinner at the hotels restaurant and we were so impressed with the quality of the food, all of the staff that we met were extremely friendly and welcoming. However the room we stayed in let the hotel down badly, it was so dirty and hadn't been cleaned "properly" for a long long time. We did mention this to the hotel when we checked out and the matter was resolved over a long discussion.We wouldn't stay here again based upon how dirty the room was.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank richmond63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018 via mobile

The hotel is great! Furnished to high standard with wooden furnitures, great restraunant and great service! Staff were very friendly and helpful. Dinner was quite pricey but well prepared.
Just some improvements: toilet has a quite dark light, and doesn’t seem to have a air vent..
Swimming pool was closed during our visit but spa was open, haven’t tried.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank _Z7672JJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018

An easy to find hotel with fantastic views, superb food and lovely atmosphere. There are superb walks to mountains nearby and lake walks to see wildlife. Canada geese flying past by the lake were amazing.

Room tip: Room with views
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Mrschelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews