We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Wedding!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Peterstone Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanhamlach
Certificate of Excellence
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Wedding!”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Though we got married Nov '11, it's only now I've started review on Trip Advisor. My first port of call had to be Peterstone Court.

I only had to step through the doors to know that this beautiful Georgian building as 'it'. A place like this could easily be pretentious but you are immediately made to feel welcome. The place is packed full of character and each of the bedrooms are amazing.Their lounge is impossible not to relax in with its cosy sofas and fireplace. I was lucky enough to be the first bride to stay in the newly refurbished bridal suite and it was perfect... especially loved the adjoining doors to the bridesmaids, to provide a massive space for getting ready on day.


The food on the day was ridiculously fantastic... people still comment to date about the beef!!!
The day went so smoothly thanks to the amazing staff. So many little hiccups (not on their part) were averted. Apparently, some one spilled mulled wine on the train of my dress... I only knew about it after the FANTASTIC restaurant manager had removed it!!! But thanks must mainly go to wedding organiser, Chloe! After our wedding planner unfortunately had to take leave, we were handed over to Chloe. We were here first wedding at Peterstone. Well, we were so privileged. She seamlessly stepped in and her approach was much more my style! Friendly, welcoming, smiling, down to earth and nothing was too much bother. I've been there several times since and am always met with a warm welcome from both her and the dress saving restaurant manager.

Perfect! We are forever grateful!! x

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraHowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    205
    64
    37
    31
See reviews for
158
498
16
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
s.e.wales
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

friends,family and I spent a day at Peterstone court for their 1/2 day spa experience which included lunch.We had a delicious lunch in the restaurant with beautiful views of the Brecon Beacons. The restaurant and Bar staff were friendly, attentive and totally professional. The 2 course lunch was delicious, all fresh, locally sourced produce. After our leisurely lunch, with equally good wine, we went to the Spa .We had a choice of treatments and also full use of the leisure facilities- jacuzzi,sauna, gym and outdoor swimming pool. The spa staff were as professional, solicitous and friendly as the hotel staff.The weather was gorgeous and the views from the gardens were breathtaking. I would highly recommend this pamper day to celebrate a special occasion or just to give yourself a treat.

Room Tip: i cannot comment on the rooms as we did not stay at the hotel overnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sueP6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bungay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We were booked in to this hotel for a 4 night stay but had to check out after only one night!
Unfortunately it did not come up to scratch or expectations for the the following reasons.
My suspicions of poor cleanliness were alerted when I moved the TV to a different angle and saw thick dust under the stand.There were stains and marks on the chest of drawers on which the tea tray was placed suggesting it had rarely been wiped clean.Inside the drawers was dust and hair etc ..again suggesting they were not cleaned out after previous guests.We could also see that where hooks had come off walls and door in the bathroom no replacement had been fitted leaving shabby looking holes.The bathroom was not satisfactorily clean with brown stains in the toilet pan, disintegrating grouting and accumulated dust on the floor in and around the toilet and bath.As I was now becoming more uncomfortable in the room I felt that I should investigate under the bed..I found what can only be described as an unhealthy collection of debris which can only have been there for a lengthy period of time...hair,hairpins,fluff,old slipper,A4 paper and a plastic bag containing some unrecognisable objects plus a huge cobweb hanging from the bed canopy.
I called reception and the Assistant Manager came to the room accompanied by a member of staff and a 'Henry" vacuum cleaner.As the problem was too vast for the 'Henry' to solve in a small amount of time we were shown 2 alternative rooms.
After checking the cleanliness of them..although not totally acceptable..dirty glasses,dirty pillowcase we agreed to stay for the night in one of them although not feeling 100% comfortable at this point.
The evening meal was average as was service with the exception of one young girl who was cheerful and polite.
The next morning we had breakfast in the conservatory which again could have benefitted from a thorough clean along the edges and and corners of the floor.The haddock at breakfast was excellent but the coffee was awful...undrinkable!
By this time we had decided to move elsewhere for the remainder of our Brecons break and were fortunate to be able to find availability at Gliffaes just 15 minutes away..a beautiful hotel ..spotlessly clean and hugely welcoming
I have to wonder whether I was in the same hotel as all the other travellers bar 1 on trip advisor!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bluecarmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterstoneCourt, Front Office Manager at Peterstone Court Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
As a 5 star restaurant with rooms, we do have a high standard which we comply too, and I apologise that we didn’t meet your expectations. We achieved this standard in the recent past, and all of the team at Peterstone Court work hard to maintain this excellence. There is no excuse at all for this disappointing level of cleanliness, and I can assure you this problem has been addressed. As our Housekeeping department unfortunately failed on this occasion, we charged nothing for your accommodation for the one night in compensation for your discomfort. We would love to welcome you back in the future and I can confidently say that the inconvenience you experienced will not occur again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
123 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

We have been in Britain traveling on our own for more than two weeks. Thos far th Ptetertone Court Hotel has been our favorite place to stay. We are glad we booked a standard double. It was huge and luxorios. The view of the sheepfolds was so entertaining. We checked in during an outpor but by the time we got to our room there was a rainbow over the fields, All the staff we encountered were efficient, friendly and helpful. Food at dinner and breakfast superb.

Our only suggestion for improvement is for lights near the seating. In all of Britain we have stayed in only one room that had reading light near a chair, There where so many comfortable chairs and couches in our room at Petertonr Court. It would have been so nice to be able to read there.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ShirleyD49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed for two nights on the great escape deal. Beautiful room at front of house on the first floor overlooking the fields. Food was delicious and although not massive portions, we all felt full....quality not quantity. A good variety of breakfast options to suit all tastes. Highly recommend the sausages. The staff were friendly and efficient and we felt able to relax and enjoy the house, food and wine and enjoy our break away. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend to friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Excellent hotel. We stayed in Usk room on second floor. Bedroom was huge, as was bed! Wonderful to overlook fields with sheep and newborn lambs.
The staff were very welcoming and helpful. Bar staff equally pleasant. dinner was not huge but we all found it was more than adequate. All four of us enjoyed every course. breakfast was great, selection of cereals, fresh fruit salad, apricots prunes. Fruit juice, croissants as well as a good choice of cooked breakfast. Restaurant staff and breakfast staff were very efficient and friendly.
We would all go back another time and recommend to our friends.

Room Tip: We both had rooms at the front of the house, which were large and had wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathyswinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Front of house staff charming but suffers from behind scenes bad management. food mediocre, portions inconsistent and not as described. Breakfast particularly awful - have had better on motorway services. Rooms clean but shabby chic type antique furniture does not equal comfort. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pip378964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterstoneCourt, Front Office Manager at Peterstone Court Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Firstly I would like to say thank you for your feedback. Although this review emphasises that your stay was not an enjoyable one, your criticism has been taken in a positive and constructive manner by the staff. I am sorry to hear that you found our quality of food ‘mediocre’. All of our seasonal produce is fresh and of the highest of quality, with a large percentage of meat travelling only 7 miles down the road from our family farm, Glaisfer Farm. We are also extremely proud of our breakfasts and the level of service that is offered, so apologise for the fact that your experience was negative one. As your complaint was not mentioned at the time, we were unaware and therefore unable to correct any problems you may have had. Our rooms are all individually decorated, with both beautiful antique and modern furniture being purchased to keep in context with the House. Items that need attention are then re-upholstered and maintained, as comfort is a priority to guests. We will look into this and amend accordingly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanhamlach
3.1 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
8.6 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crickhowell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
9.4 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
15.8 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peterstone Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peterstone Court Hotel

Property: Peterstone Court Hotel
Address: Llanhamlach, Llanhamlach, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 7YB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon > Llanhamlach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Llanhamlach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Peterstone Court Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Peterstone Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peterstone Court Brecon
Hotel Peterstone Court
Peterstone Court Hotel Llanhamlach, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing